We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Astra Hotel Vevey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astra Hotel Vevey
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is close to the railway station and the old part of town. We spent to comfortable nights in the hotel in a quiet room. The rooms were perfectly clean and comfortable but in need of some modernising. The hotel has a car elevator which was a definite experience. Reception staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear client,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated your stay and our car parking with elevator.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    100
    38
    14
    0
See reviews for
16
52
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel several times. It offers only very basic facilities, but rooms are clean and location is very convenient (next to railroad station with a frequent connection to Geneve).
Going to stay there next time too.

Tip: Not sure if breakfast is worth the money ($18) - I prefer getting one in the neighborhood's restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed at the Astra at least 6 times over the past 2 years. Agree with other reviews relative to location and IF you on a business trip and someone else is paying. The sauna room has a great view however the work out room is primitive at best. Funny thing the clock on the wall which is based on a Hubet watch has had the incorrect time both of the last two times I have stayed. Very unSwiss. Believe a better value is the Swiss Majestic in Montreux.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

The fitness bike, runner and rowing are new since April 2014

You are right that the "Hublot" watches on the wall have problems to work properly and we will contact the provider of those publicity articles.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is very convenient for the railway station and central for attractions in the area. Nice hotel clean rooms and very friendly staff, food in the hotel is pricey but so is Switzerland generally. No tea and coffee facilities in the rooms which is disappointing but having Starbucks across the road is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated your stay.

Regarding the tea and coffee making facilities, they are not automatically in each room, but we have some on request.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

In the middle of Vevey opposite of the Railway station.
A good and clean Hotel needs a upgrade to modern standards but still good place to stay a night or two.
The staff is friendly and help full, Checkin quick and a good breakfast. For Switzerland good priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated our services.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boskoop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

It's not your super-de-luxe, modern, shiny hotel, but it's good enough and there is something charming to its old-fashioned feel.
Location is very convenient: just step out of the train station and there it is, facing you. No stress about searching for the address in an unknown town.
The room was clean and well kept but I was very much missing a water-cooker to make my own tea, I am quite used to that in four star hotels.
It was quiet, no disturbances. Breakfast was OK and certainly the floor manager took good care of breakfast guests. Something for every taste was to be found.
If you like walking by the lake (who doesn't in Vevey?), it's a five minute walk. The views are splendid.
A shopping centre, supermarkets and restaurants are very close, just cross the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated centrally located situation and our services.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

stayed from sunday 4th to wed 7th may 2014. nice hotel with friendly staff. a little bit dated but very clean and everything you need to be comfortable. very expensive breakfast but i guess thats average for switzerland. Ultra handy or the train station so if you are on foot then its perfect. My room over looked the entrance to the train station which actually proved very noisy with delivery wagons at 6am two mornings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vimto6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie de Geneve
1.1 mi away
Modern Times Hotel
Modern Times Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint-Legier-La Chiesaz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel Vevey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel Vevey

Property: Astra Hotel Vevey
Address: Place de la Gare 4, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Hotel Vevey 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The family-owned Astra Hotel in the picturesque town of Vevey, Lake Geneva Region, Switzerland, stands for tradition, style and warm hospitality. Accommodation 100 modern guestrooms and suites with the 4*sup comfort. All rooms have air-condition, and some are non smoking. Dining and entertainment Historic Brasserie La Coupole (1912), Le Pavillon non smoking restaurant, Elegant Restaurant Quatre Saisons, Caveau le Guillon Swiss cheese specialities, Orient Express Bar. Relaxing and well-being At the beginning of 2009 an oasis of relaxation came into being above the roofs of Vevey. The new City Panoramic Spa offers you generous space for health, lifestyle and recuperation. Here you can lean back, regenerate and fill up with energy, while at the same time enjoying a fascinating view over the "Riviera of Western Switzerland" and over the Lavaux region. Relax body and spirit after a long day. The renovated and expanded wet area persuades with warm colors, with a quiet zone in the winter garden and with a remarkable view. Besides the Finnish sauna, the "Caldarium" and the "Salionarium" you will be enjoying quiet and relaxation in the new winter garden. The high point of the City Panoramic Spa is the new outside area on the roof terrace with its whirlpool bath and sundeck. Meeting and conference facilities Conference & Event center as well as large dining facilities for 10 to 250 persons. Public Wireless LAN in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astra Hotel Vevey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vevey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing