We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charlatan” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Negociants

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Les Negociants
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A charlatan”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding in vevey. The first time I did not read the comments here before I book something. And I wish I had done it. I am not the first to complain. This place is in a great location in town. Close to the marche and beach and ....

apart from that there is nothing good about it. One guy runs the whole show: check in, serving, cooking,....and he is a charlatan. He seemed to be the owner. They had emailed us a confirmation for the room price per night for 2 people including breakfast. When we got in to check in he told us the price was for 1 person. If I had not saved the confirmation on my iPhone, we wold be rubbed. I showed him the document and he said he wold have to investigate! He told us later that as it was their mistake to give us the wrong price, he would honor it but without the breakfast. That is, he rubbed us of $60 for two ppl breakfast over two days. This is despie the fact that the conformation said clearly "including breakfast".

The room sucked too:

No AC,
no shampoo/soap,
No help when we needed a cab,
Clean buy the most basic room ever. This had nothing. This is a one star hotel. Avoid if you can.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank seanYsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    22
    25
    27
    10
See reviews for
13
42
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Location has to do it. The hotel is very basic, modern and has nothing special, no cozy atmosphere or nice decorations. Just use it as a place to spend the night at a great location (right in the centre of Vevey, very close to Lake Geneva, only 15 min walk from the trainstation). If you are looking for more luxury, more conveniance; spend more money and look for a better hotel.

The room was small and basic, but it was clean and had free wifi.
The most stupid thing I've ever seen in a double room: the bed had a duvet for a single bed; it was way too small for two people!

There's a very small elevator. The restaurant had excellent food. We did not buy the expensive (CHF 15 pp) breakfast. Hotel staff is very unfriendly and arrogant. Several things in our room were broken (shower faucet, towel rack, lamp). There is no air extraction in the bathroom, so if you take a shower, you will set off the fire alarm.

Mind that you are right in the middle of a town centre; there will be a lot of noise.
If we have to stay in Vevey again, we would think of this hotel again, because it's a place to sleep and nothing else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vevey hotels

Zurich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We chose this hotel as it was centrally located and cheaper than other hotels around. However, the 2 nights spent at this hotel were very tiring, with only few hours of sleep per night, in a terrible heat. The room was ok, nothing outstanding, quite basic, but fine for a 3-star hotel. Avoid going there in mid-summer as there is no air conditioning and if you keep the windows open to get a bit of air you will not be able to sleep much. The hotel is on one of the central streets in old town, with plenty of shops and restaurants just accross the street. This means that there will be noise until around 1am and the noise will start again at 6am together with the machine cleaning the street, trucks delivering vegetables to the small shops, restaurants opening for breakfast and arranging (dragging) the chairs and tables on the sidewalk early in the morning.
The staff at the reception is not really friendly, but somehow I wasn't even expecting this at all.
Would strongly recommend to avoid this hotel as much as possible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller44Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Vevey, as a town, occupies a quiet stretch of the coast of Lac Leman (Lake Geneva) between the larger places of Lausanne and Montreux. Vevey is worth staying at, but be careful where you choose your hotel. We chose Les Negociants because it was in the center of the village. We made a mistake. Although the hotel is decent, rooms are basic, the place suffers from two problems. One which can be fixed, the other, impossible to fix.

The first issue is that the breakfast is expensive and miniscule. It is normal in France, and in french speaking parts of Switzerland to never have a large breakfast. However, for the price they charge, they ought to offer more than just bad coffee and some nearly stale croissants. There is a bakery just down the street which would be a better choice for breakfast.

The second, and more impossible issue, is the level of noise on the streets around the hotel. The hotel seems to sit at an acoustic junction of all the pedestrian streets on two sides (the hotel is on a corner). There are cafes and restaurants nearby and the noise seems to amplify and echo on all the stone buildings. Even the noise of a few people sounds like a party of dozens. During hot weather, you'd want to open the window, but if you want to sleep, you'll have to close them and deal with the heat. Even after the cafes close, there were roaming groups of happily drunk people wandering around and making noise until about 3-4 in the morning. This might not be so bad, but around 6AM, the bakeries start receiving deliveries, moving inventory around, and trash being picked up, which creates a whole new noise. To be fair, it is not that they are trying to be loud, but the acoustics there are just to focused that it makes the most of any noise. Again, this is not the fault of the hotel and there is nothing much they can do, but I describe it here as a caution to anyone who is a light sleeper or averse to noise.

There is a restaurant on the ground floor, but we did not eat there, simply because we did not have the time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Netrobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

The front desk staff act like they are doing you a favor. They told us that they DO NOT need international tourist, because they have enough with local tourist. They act like they don't speak English, but when we paid they do speak English. Lovely town but the front desk staff are not the politest.... Really bad experience....I do not recommended this hotel. Really noise place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liliana069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Room N°25
1 - Upon arrival: untrained waitress unaware of any procedure but very nice - she forgot to tell us we had to check out before 11 the next morning so we were "kick out of our room" by cleaning lady.
2 - The room (N°25 on 2nd floor) is small - for the price you shouldn't have to squeeze between the desk and the bed to get to the window or bedside table.
3 - Bad water pressure in shower causing sudden unexpected temperature changes form freezing to burning... not pleasant at all
4 - the breakfast was a joke... it costs CHF 15.- I felt cheated.
5 - I asked for a satisfaction survey form at the desk to write down all of the above because I couldn't find one in our room - they simply could not supply any (???).
6 - we asked the girl to simply debit the card that we used to make the reservation for the room, but again this was so inconvenient that we had to use our debit card.
This was all together way too expensive for such poor service and equipment.
Avoid les Négociants as much as possible - and if you cannot avoid it, be prepared to hate your stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ossawipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

This hotel is a joke. The photo is misleading. First, although the streets (it sits on a corner) are for people only, garbage and delivery trucks are allowed and the noise starts EARLY. If that noise doesn't wake you, they are "renovating" this place and workers are sawing and banging even on the weekends.
Since you can't drive to the hotel, they charge you 8 Euros for a sticker to park on the street IF you can find a place. Then you get to haul your luggage over uneven streets to the hotel and they do not assist you at any level.
The front desk personnel could care less. The also don't care about their failure to inform people on their website about the parking and the hauling of luggage.
Except for one young man working at the breakfast, the staff is rude and arrogant; especially a blond woman who seems to be there 24/7.
The town is fine. The weekend market is nice. But there are many hotels for a few Euros more that would be a far far better choice.
The rooms are just like a small, small dorm room. There is literally NO PLACE for your luggage. It is spartan beyond belief. The comforter wasn't big enough to cover the bed which itself was shorter than normal and the staff would not bring another blanket.
Truly a horrid place. Avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlsgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.2 mi away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Geneve
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
#1 of 2 in La Tour-de-Peilz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Negociants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Negociants

Property: Hotel Les Negociants
Address: 27 Rue du Conseil, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Negociants 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Les Negociants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Negociants Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing