We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Negociants
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Room N°25
1 - Upon arrival: untrained waitress unaware of any procedure but very nice - she forgot to tell us we had to check out before 11 the next morning so we were "kick out of our room" by cleaning lady.
2 - The room (N°25 on 2nd floor) is small - for the price you shouldn't have to squeeze between the desk and the bed to get to the window or bedside table.
3 - Bad water pressure in shower causing sudden unexpected temperature changes form freezing to burning... not pleasant at all
4 - the breakfast was a joke... it costs CHF 15.- I felt cheated.
5 - I asked for a satisfaction survey form at the desk to write down all of the above because I couldn't find one in our room - they simply could not supply any (???).
6 - we asked the girl to simply debit the card that we used to make the reservation for the room, but again this was so inconvenient that we had to use our debit card.
This was all together way too expensive for such poor service and equipment.
Avoid les Négociants as much as possible - and if you cannot avoid it, be prepared to hate your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ossawipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Les Negociants
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

This hotel is a joke. The photo is misleading. First, although the streets (it sits on a corner) are for people only, garbage and delivery trucks are allowed and the noise starts EARLY. If that noise doesn't wake you, they are "renovating" this place and workers are sawing and banging even on the weekends.
Since you can't drive to the hotel, they charge you 8 Euros for a sticker to park on the street IF you can find a place. Then you get to haul your luggage over uneven streets to the hotel and they do not assist you at any level.
The front desk personnel could care less. The also don't care about their failure to inform people on their website about the parking and the hauling of luggage.
Except for one young man working at the breakfast, the staff is rude and arrogant; especially a blond woman who seems to be there 24/7.
The town is fine. The weekend market is nice. But there are many hotels for a few Euros more that would be a far far better choice.
The rooms are just like a small, small dorm room. There is literally NO PLACE for your luggage. It is spartan beyond belief. The comforter wasn't big enough to cover the bed which itself was shorter than normal and the staff would not bring another blanket.
Truly a horrid place. Avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hlsgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Great location and price and lovely town but the front desk staff are not the politest..it's almost like they are doing you a favour...I guess they chose to be in the hospitality industry and were not forced against their will.Room for the price was fine and had free internet access.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank travelwhizz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

This is a basic, no frills but remodeled hotel right in the heart of Vevey. The staff speaks excellent English, was accomodating of a change of dates and overall, it was very respectable stay. The rooms are small, but remodeled, nothing fancy, but very clean and look out onto one of the inner streets. The building is old but has an elevator and the hallways are dark, but the room we had was bright and cheerful. The restaurant was excellent with unpretentious fare and a very pleasant wait staff who was happy to speak English and provide explanation of the french language menu. The meal was filling, tasty and comparably priced with other places in the area. The location was excellent just 1 block off the lakefront and surrounded by nice boutiques and shops. Very good hotel for the money and would recommend it to anyone who wants to avoid the high prices of other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank european_newbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We showed up at 21h00 here to an impatient and impolite desk clerk asking why we were so late.
The hotel is in a very pretty part of the old town, and the building itself is recently renovated. The rooms are adequate, sparse, and nothing special, and the restaurant downstairs is pretentious and overpriced. The breakfast is minimal, and when the croissants ran out (at 09:30) we asked for more and the server made a big deal of the fact that he had to go down the street to buy more at the local bakery.
Vevey is a very beautiful little city with many attractions and beautiful scenery, but by far the biggest problem is, is that the owners know it. As a result -they seem to have no interest in being friendly , helpful, or even courteous. The other hotels and properties in the area are (of course) much more expensive with many stars, ...and that brings me to the point: The only reason that this hotel seems of any value is because of the price of their competition - rather than the service or value they offer themselves.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here as our friends were getting married in Vevey. The hotel is in a fantastic location, down a pedestrianised street (so no traffic noise) in the Old Town and right off the Place du Marche.

The reception is not always manned, but there is usually someone around in the restaurant who can help you. The staff were friendly, and we were given a large room on the top floor of the hotel, which was accessible by lift. The room was basic but had everything that you would need for a short stay. In the bathroom there was a shower cubicle but no bath, but that was fine for us.

Breakfast was included, it was basic but fine. There were croissants, butter, jams, and either juice, tea or coffee.

While the hotel is only a two star, this is more because of a lack of facilities rather than standards. But with a town centre location, and a minutes walk from the lake front, you won’t be spending too much time at the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sep 09. Good location in the old part of the town beside the lake. Rooms are small and basic but very clean. Staff aren't particularly helpful and there is no parking. However I would recommend for a short stay in Vevay

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank IKipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.2 mi away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Geneve (Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
3.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Negociants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Negociants

Address: 27 Rue du Conseil, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range: £116 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Negociants 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Negociants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Negociants Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing