We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to return to this favourite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Trois Couronnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great to return to this favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Hadn't been here for about 3 years and it was great to be back! The hotel, which was top historic hotel in Switzerland in 2003 has just celebrated winning its first Michelin star for the restaurant and it is really well deserved. Although I did not eat in the restaurant this time, my ravioli served in the bar on the Saturday night was pretty enough to paint! They gave me an upgrade to a junior suite by way of apology that the swimming pool was closed for repairs. Instead of a room overlooking the garden of the Vevey museum and part of the lake, I had a huge room with lounge area and balcony direct over Lake Geneva with stunning views both east and west.

Yes it is an expensive hotel but it truly is one of the best I've ever stayed in and the whole experience is worth it.

Yet again, everything was wonderful, the staff are worth their weight in gold and it feels so much as if I am a long lost friend every time I go. Can't wait for the next visit with my mother in September!

Room Tip: The rooms with full lake view are more expensive but worth it for the jaw dropping vista, however th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    86
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
64
194
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this elegant Swiss Riviera hotel. The location and the historical building were truly charming, but yet again the the true excellence of the experience came from the way things worked. The fantastic breakfast we had in room, the spa area and the gym, very good service from the concierge, the relaxed but lively lounge bar... Really everything that one could wish for. Amazing attention to detail all around - and a great view over the lake and the Savoy Alps from our comfortable room!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aaltowave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. We were upgraded to a junior suite. The corner apartment had exquisite views. When we closed the electric shutters at night, the room was extremely quiet and dark. With such a comfortable bed, we slept so well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

The usual, although is was very calm with not much hotel guests, service was friendly, professionall and helpful. We appreciated the bottle of champagne, the free drinks in the bar and the nice breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cully, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

This hotel is an exquisite piece of history built in a neo-baroque triple wing style with a courtyard overlooking the lake. From the Aga Khan, JP Morgan, King Gilette (yes, razors), and every king and queen of the past...the Trois Couronnes has welcomed them all.

As a local I did not spend the night here but had the pleasure to have a light lunch here in the bar and enjoyed the calming atmosphere and kind service. The restaurant has just been awarded it's first Michelin star this past month so it's quite an accomplishment.

Compliments to the concierges (Stephane & Jean Paul), as they are very familiar with the history of the region and activities in and around the Riviera, including the Lavaux terraced vineyards.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissWineTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here on many occasions, my father in law lives in Vevey. The views of the lake are marvelous!! The hotel staff are well trained, polite, courteous, excellent service, and speak multiple languages. The bar, is small charming and stocked with everything imaginable, even Canadien whiskey. Food, Michelin one star excellent. Many rooms overlook the lake with mountains. This stay, we had a Jr Suite, in a newly updated room that was most charming, and very comfortable, with lots of room, and unlike most European hotels not enough room for clothing, it had plenty, also the bath facilities were beautiful. The fitness center, featuring Technogym equipment, spa, and lovely indoor pool are as good as you would, find in Europe. The concierge remembered that I liked USA Today, and I had not been a guest for three years. I could not rate this hotel any higher. It is truly a find!!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josmshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

One of nicest hotels in the area in the quiet town of Vevey. The town whilst small is lovely and on Lac Leman with views to the French Alps. The hotel is from the grand Belle Epoque period, and actually on the lakeshore. It must be said it's slightly in need of some TLC, but this may be because I understand only the City side rooms have been fully redecorated. Other people have commented on the slightly old furniture in the rooms and chipped paint. Apparently all bookings should receive an upgrade during November, this didnt happen on my first night ;-( but after some drama in the room adjoining I was moved to another( upgraded) room. We ate in the bar and restaurant nightly, as friends living nearby wanted to try out the hotel. Bar food perfectly adequate and around SF 30 for a salad and drink, and selection of local wines featured. Didn't love the formal restaurant so much again perfectly adequate for a 4 star hotel, but featuring some very strange flavour combinations and served on COLD plates. this around 45 SF (£32) per main course. Again a large selection of very drinkable Swiss wines.

The best part of the visit was the staff - all as efficient as one would expect from a Swiss Leading Hotel of World. I did have a couple of little business disasters which were resolved so efficiently and descretely by Mathieu on Front Desk, I felt like I had my own PA with me. Certainly he could be Front Desk Manager at any of the LHW I have stayed at. (and theres been a few!)

Overall smaller than the other LHW on the Lake, but to the same standard .. rooms are about 400 (?) SF - as always you get what you pay for ;-)

Room Tip: a lake view is always better (more expensive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Mont Pelerin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
0.4 mi away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Trois Couronnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Trois Couronnes

Property: Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Address: rue d' Italie 49, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel des Trois Couronnes 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1842, the Hotel des Trois Couronnes is located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the stunning Swiss Alps. Spacious but intimate, all 68 rooms, Junior Suites and Suites match with today's tastes, combining luxury, refinement and modernity. Epicureans will enjoy "Le Restaurant" with its grand panoramic terrace serving traditional cuisine cooked either in a light or in a gourmet way and offering every season a new menu. A wide range of dishes are without lactose and/or gluten and we propose as well vegetarian's menu.The Puressens Destination Spa is welcoming both hotel guests and day clients looking for personal treatment packages extending over a period of several days around a concept of well-being based on three pillars: "Body, Spirit and Nutrition". The Puressens Destination Spa offers each client a specific treatment package adapted to their needs and expectations. These treatments will be accompanied by delicious menus based on light and balanced nutrition prepared by the head chef in consultation with a dietician. The Puressens Destination Spa works with a collection of doctors and specialists who concentrate on anti-aging, nutrition, sports, and preventive health programs, including smoking cessation, supervised detoxification, stress management, and weight loss. The 1500-square-meter spa provides a broad range of skin-care, beauty, wellness, and sports treatments in the 10 treatment rooms. The spa also features indoor and outdoor relaxation areas,spa cuisine, a sauna, steam room, and separate men's and women's changing areas with showers. The spa's signature treatment is the Joelle Ciocco Discovery Treatment. It includes an analysis of the guest's skin type and identification of external aggressions on the skin and ends with an adaptation of personal skin treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Trois Couronnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Des Trois Couronnes
Des Trois Couronnes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing