We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel in amazing location -- still, room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A beautiful grand classic, with a terrace that looks out on the lake and the mountains; a prime example of what top notch Swiss hotels look like. The five star facilities, comfort and convenience naturally come at a price, but compared to the high cost of hotels in Geneva, this is not unreasonable.

What are my nitpicks? First, service is old fashioned Swiss, i.e. everything taught in good hotel schools, but more polite than attentive or responsive to a guest's needs. It's not one big thing but many little things that make for a correct rather than a warm welcome. Next, the Michelin starred restaurant was disappointing. Simply put, neither the quality of the food nor the service was fully up to par. All in all, glad I visited (I kept some pictures) , but I am not eager to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123RMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

a stay at Hotel des trois couronnes will certainly be comfortable, nutritious and expensive.
the room price is justified if you have one nice, newly refurbished bedroom , with view on the lake , it is expensive if you stay in a traditional room with view ( and a little bit of noise) on the street .
the breakfast is excellent , many options, everything fresh, interesting fruit juices , worth the try.
the gym is rather small, but not usually overcrowded , as the age average of hosts prevent them from excessive activity.
the restaurant food is great , and weather permitting, a dinner on the terrace is a romantic opportunity .
the personel is most efficient and helpful even the french employees .

Room Tip: ask for view to the lake and in the refurbished part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LePapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Hadn't been here for about 3 years and it was great to be back! The hotel, which was top historic hotel in Switzerland in 2003 has just celebrated winning its first Michelin star for the restaurant and it is really well deserved. Although I did not eat in the restaurant this time, my ravioli served in the bar on the Saturday night was pretty enough to paint! They gave me an upgrade to a junior suite by way of apology that the swimming pool was closed for repairs. Instead of a room overlooking the garden of the Vevey museum and part of the lake, I had a huge room with lounge area and balcony direct over Lake Geneva with stunning views both east and west.

Yes it is an expensive hotel but it truly is one of the best I've ever stayed in and the whole experience is worth it.

Yet again, everything was wonderful, the staff are worth their weight in gold and it feels so much as if I am a long lost friend every time I go. Can't wait for the next visit with my mother in September!

Room Tip: The rooms with full lake view are more expensive but worth it for the jaw dropping vista, however th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this elegant Swiss Riviera hotel. The location and the historical building were truly charming, but yet again the the true excellence of the experience came from the way things worked. The fantastic breakfast we had in room, the spa area and the gym, very good service from the concierge, the relaxed but lively lounge bar... Really everything that one could wish for. Amazing attention to detail all around - and a great view over the lake and the Savoy Alps from our comfortable room!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aaltowave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. We were upgraded to a junior suite. The corner apartment had exquisite views. When we closed the electric shutters at night, the room was extremely quiet and dark. With such a comfortable bed, we slept so well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The usual, although is was very calm with not much hotel guests, service was friendly, professionall and helpful. We appreciated the bottle of champagne, the free drinks in the bar and the nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This hotel is an exquisite piece of history built in a neo-baroque triple wing style with a courtyard overlooking the lake. From the Aga Khan, JP Morgan, King Gilette (yes, razors), and every king and queen of the past...the Trois Couronnes has welcomed them all.

As a local I did not spend the night here but had the pleasure to have a light lunch here in the bar and enjoyed the calming atmosphere and kind service. The restaurant has just been awarded it's first Michelin star this past month so it's quite an accomplishment.

Compliments to the concierges (Stephane & Jean Paul), as they are very familiar with the history of the region and activities in and around the Riviera, including the Lavaux terraced vineyards.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissWineTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
518 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Mont Pelerin
669 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
217 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
805 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Trois Couronnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Trois Couronnes

Address: rue d' Italie 49, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range: £234 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel des Trois Couronnes 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1842, the Hotel des Trois Couronnes is located on the shores of Lake Geneva, facing the stunning Swiss Alps. Spacious but intimate, all 68 rooms, Junior Suites and Suites match with today's tastes, combining luxury, refinement and modernity. Epicureans will enjoy "Le Restaurant" with its grand panoramic terrace serving traditional cuisine cooked either in a light or in a gourmet way and offering every season a new menu. A wide range of dishes are without lactose and/or gluten and we propose as well vegetarian's menu.The Puressens Destination Spa is welcoming both hotel guests and day clients looking for personal treatment packages extending over a period of several days around a concept of well-being based on three pillars: "Body, Spirit and Nutrition". The Puressens Destination Spa offers each client a specific treatment package adapted to their needs and expectations. These treatments will be accompanied by delicious menus based on light and balanced nutrition prepared by the head chef in consultation with a dietician. The Puressens Destination Spa works with a collection of doctors and specialists who concentrate on anti-aging, nutrition, sports, and preventive health programs, including smoking cessation, supervised detoxification, stress management, and weight loss. The 1500-square-meter spa provides a broad range of skin-care, beauty, wellness, and sports treatments in the 10 treatment rooms. The spa also features indoor and outdoor relaxation areas,spa cuisine, a sauna, steam room, and separate men's and women's changing areas with showers. The spa's signature treatment is the Joelle Ciocco Discovery Treatment. It includes an analysis of the guest's skin type and identification of external aggressions on the skin and ends with an adaptation of personal skin treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Trois Couronnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Des Trois Couronnes
Des Trois Couronnes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing