We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vecchia Napoli

Vecchia Napoli
Ranked #34 of 102 Restaurants in Vevey
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The food is very good and typical italian. The place is very small and crowded but it's part of the experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emilie982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    69
    29
    19
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service, below average pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Went there on the evening of the 18 Nov 2013, when we walked through the door, we were greeted by a scowl from the old trout that owns it...he was sitting at a back table, and refused to let us sit anywhere within his line of view, and he angrily shouted and gestured wildly to demonstrate he did not want us anywhere near him (we are two business people, respectably dressed). We were forced to squeeze into a little table and then had menus shoved in front of us by an angry looking waitress. To be honest, we were treated with such hostility and resentment that we almost walked, but thought that 9pm might now be a little late to find somewhere else to eat...so we ordered. The pizza was ok, nothing special, a bit bland, I had the 4 Saisons pizza.
Anyway, after this experience and the hostility we encountered, we would never go back. We cannot believe he treats customers like this. AVOID this place, unless you don't mind some abuse.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Heathrowbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Problem with the service : take away your pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Yes the owner can be an *******, even if I don t mind as it is part of the tradition there.
Yes it is crowded, you better book, if the owner let you: I ve been sent away a couple of times
Yes you could be definitely be packed in a weird atmosphere, but again this is part of the tradition

But yes, the pizzas are just awsome, better than most place I went in Italy or US.

My advise if you can handle the owner and the place: take away your pizza, don t even need to enter the restaurant as you have access to the kitchen from outside. They do not accept take away orders over the phone nor take take away orders from the main restaurant so head straight for the kitchen, avoid the owner and his awful service and enjoy your pizza

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank representeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, the rest is ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Very good pizza, a bit salty because of the salt they sprinkle directly on the dish. Filled with italian stereotypes, the service is not the best ever but the food is worth the visit. Don't take the "Cassata", it's only an ice cream, far far far away from real Cassata.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Most obnoxious service EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The crew was so impolite and aggressive. They didn't even accept to give us pitcher of water though we ordered many other drinks. They literally threw the plates on the table.
The food may be good but their behavior was just unacceptable. Did I mention the waitress did NOT accept to take a picture though we were celebrating a birthday? If you really want to taste their pizzas, opt for the takeaway option !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Clyde G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchia Napoli also viewed

 
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
 
La Tour-de-Peilz, Canton of Vaud
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Vecchia Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing