We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your earplugs if you have to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morges
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent a weekend at this hotel because we were with a group and somebody made the booking. I would not stay here again.
Be aware on Saturday morning there is a market in the street in front of the hotel and we were woken at 6.00 am by noise of people setting up their stalls.
Then Saturday night people were screaming in the street (drunks?) and there was a lot of noise. All couples in our group complained the next morning.
At night there is no night concierge in the hotel so nobody to help out if there is a problem. The girl at the front desk told us we should have called the police but that seems strange and not something you do easily in a foreign country.
At breakfast we were in before breakfast closed but the waitress refused to bring us a hot egg or warm milk for the coffee. She felt that breakfast was finished...

On the up side:
The rooms were clean, there was a water cooker so we could make tea which I always like. There were flowers in front of the window.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank happyhallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

We booked the hotel through the tourist office in Morges and we were very disappointed. We asked for a hotel that quite and comfortable and this was neither. The room we were in over looked The Grand Rue so we were woken up frequently - one morning at 5.00am when they started setting up for the market. When we arrrived the first problem was the dirty pair of knickers we found in the wardrobe. In the bathroom the shower head would not stay up and the sink would not empty. Neither the bedside lamp worked or the TV remote. As for being able to access the WiFi this was very hit and miss so in the end we gave up.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room that does not overlook the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KentTrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We hade spiders in the room, not the small kind! No one in the reception during the evening! Ok i guess otherwise. The price is high compared to what you get! Take a look around at other hotels first!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeAndSomeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here for 1 night. The price was reasonable for an expensive area. The hotel is located in the old town, and is in an historic building. It has been tastefully refurbished with lots of red carpeting, and a pleasant panelled breakfast room. Our room was larger than expected, clean and comfortable, with a reasonable ensiute bathroom. There was a kettle provided in room, with tea/coffee. There are many restaurants nearby. Breakfast was an excellent buffet.
Hotel was an easy walk from the rail station, and a five minute walk from the beautiful lakeside.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Madelinethoughtful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Nice hotel, clean and friendly. Well placed in the centre of Morges and close to the railway station. The staff are all very nice and so helpful. I have been here once a month since the end of 2009 and have always been very pleased with the service I received.
The buffet breakfast is good and fresh.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrigitteTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The town of Morges is pretty small, charming, and does not have large modern hotels which is great for the feel of the town. But of course that means there are limited options and limited number of rooms available.

We walked in without a reservation and managed to get a small room which ended up being very acceptable. The hotel is charming, and very quiet. Great beds too. The location is great too - 5 min walk from station and maybe 3 minutes from the lake. There is no lake view as it is on the pedestrian area on Grand Rue so a several streets inland. There are not many hotel options on the lake itself anyway.

So overall, a very acceptable hotel for the town.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This is a basic hotel that is also clean and centrally located. The best thing about the place is the location. It is a short 5 minutes walk from the Morges station and is located in one of the alleys of the Grand Rue (a pedestrian, cobbled shopping street). The lake, tourism office, the castle musuem and the parks are just few steps away. However, there is no view of the lake from this hotel.

The breakfast was good and there is a selecta machine on the 1st floor. Tea/Coffee facilities were in the room. The front desk staff were polite.

The rooms and toilets are clean. The Wifi in the rooms disconnects frequently and is a bit slow sometimes. Perhaps this could be solved,

I will recommend this place for a short stay,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vs_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morges
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Mont-Blanc Au Lac
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie Le Petit Manoir
0.8 mi away
La Fleur du Lac
La Fleur du Lac
#3 of 7 in Morges
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Savoie
Hotel de Savoie
#7 of 7 in Morges
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Longeraie
Hotel La Longeraie
#5 of 7 in Morges
49 reviews
3.4 mi away
Starling Hotel Lausanne
Starling Hotel Lausanne
#1 of 4 in Saint Sulpice
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne

Address: passage de la Couronne 2, Morges 1110, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel de la Couronne)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Morges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morges
Price Range: £80 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the medieval city of Morges, Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne is a listed historic building that has been accommodating travellers since the 16th century. Expanded and renovated throughout its long history, the edifice's latest refurbishment was completed in 2011. Classic furniture and a home-like atmosphere are counterpointed by the modern amenities of a 21st century establishment (namely flat-screen TV sets and free Wi-Fi). The hotel disposes of 44 rooms and suites, the latter including a kitchenette. The both conference rooms have a capacity of 25 to 30 participants. A concierge service is available to our guests, provided their reservation is made at least 2 days before arrival. Finally, check-in is open 24/7, as our reception desk is managed remotely at night by an automated system. Comfortable and classic, Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne will welcome you in a home-like atmosphere, ensuring your stay is a relaxing and easy one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morges Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing