We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morges
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A nice town centre hotel close to the lake, and not far from Lausanne. Morges is a pretty town and the centrally placed hotel means you can step out onto the high street. Very clean simple accomodation although I do have a thing about shower curtains........

Room Tip: all rooms are pretty much the same as have now stayed in most!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chappo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelsetpatrimoine, Directeur général at Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for having taken the time to post your positive comments on Internet.
We mostly appreciate it.

Your appreciation of your stay will be forwarded to our team, who gives its best to make your stay a comfortable and easy one.

We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again in hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne.

Yours sincerely

Eric Decombas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    58
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
13
33
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for one night as Morges is quite close to Geneva Airport and we had an early flight, and this hotel is much cheaper than the airport hotels. It was very well located for this purpose and staying in a nice smal town was much better then an airport hotel.

The hotel is clean and comfortable, and the room we had was quite large.

The only problem we had was that our room faced onto the main street and the windows did not shut the noise out very well. Although everything in Morges seemed to close early, there were people using the street until around 1am and the noise kept us awake (it was a Saturday night). A room on the back of the hotel would be better.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back of the hotel on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelsetpatrimoine, Directeur général at Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for having taken the time to post your comment on Internet. We mostly appreciate it.
Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne’s historic bulding is located in the center of the medieval city of Morges. A dozen of our rooms look onto the main pedestrian street of the city.

To get a particularly quiet room for your next reservation, I suggest you contact me directly or our reception desk.

We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again in hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne.

With my best regards.

Roseline Dieffenbronn
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The small hotel is very well located, the room is small but adequate, good windows shuts off the noise from street, breakfast is good, and the staff varied. The city is charming (though everything closes really early) and one can easily access the nearby charming towns by train (renting a car is worthy especially to explore the small towns around the lake). Considering the prices in Switzerland it may be a good enough option for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location of the hotel is extremely good.
Cleaning is okay, no complain.
Breakfast is very nice.

What I just regreat is the size of the bedroom and having a shower no bath. After a long day, relaxing in a bath can help!

Personel is very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MhLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Excellent situation in centre of town. Room to the side and a very quiet comfortable room. Had to go through dining room but no problem. Comfortable for one night but as no lounge a bit lonely for longer.
Breakfast as much as one could eat but no plain cornflakes. Staff said they used to have but no uptake.

Room Tip: For a good nights sleep to the side or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Having emailed the hotel to say we would be arriving after 9.30 p.m when we reached the hotel the door was locked,we rang the bell and the door was opened automatically. We gained entry and then had to decide which of the 2 'phones to use to contact someone. Ultimately we received a code to open the key box to obtain our room key. The room was very hot and stuffy, the carpet was filthy,and the paint was peeling from the pipes. There was an old tower fan in the room that cut out ofter ten minutes. There was a plastic tray with 2 horrible little plastic cups for the tea. There were no fire instructions and we had to go into the corridor to find the fire exit. There are a lot of corridors in this hotel and I would hate to have to find my way out if there was a fire. The room was very noisy and my bed actually shook when the person in the next room walked about. The shower room was very small and the shower flooded on the floor due to the inadequate plastic curtain. There was a notice telling us not to put paper down the toilet. Is it possible in a four star? hotel to have to put toilet paper in a bin?
The hotel's public areas were very, very shabby. Needless to say we did not have breakfast in the hotel but had lovely coffee and croissants in a cafe round the corner.
Morges is a most delightful little town and deserves better than this hotel. In its favour the staff were all charming and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 124michele123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morges hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Good location for short stay.
Very noisy not necessarily because it's in the centre of he town but because of the staff movement inside. Lots of banging and clanging and staff who appear to wear wooden (?) shoes on wooden floorboards.
Resist the 'upgrade' offer of the room nearest the dining / breakfast area. You'll be sorry because from around 5am /5.30am you might as well be in there with the kitchen staff setting up the tables!

Good sized rooms though and very convenient location. Pricing is reasonable as far as Switzerland goes but all in all it could do with some pep-up all round with regards to the decor and general ambience.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morges
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Mont-Blanc Au Lac
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie Le Petit Manoir
0.8 mi away
La Fleur du Lac
La Fleur du Lac
#3 of 7 in Morges
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Starling Hotel Lausanne
Starling Hotel Lausanne
#1 of 4 in Saint Sulpice
256 reviews
4.1 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
413 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#11 of 46 in Lausanne
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne

Property: Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne
Address: passage de la Couronne 2, Morges 1110, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel de la Couronne)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Morges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the medieval city of Morges, Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne is a listed historic building that has been accommodating travellers since the 16th century. Expanded and renovated throughout its long history, the edifice's latest refurbishment was completed in 2011. Classic furniture and a home-like atmosphere are counterpointed by the modern amenities of a 21st century establishment (namely flat-screen TV sets and free Wi-Fi). The hotel disposes of 44 rooms and suites, the latter including a kitchenette. The both conference rooms have a capacity of 25 to 30 participants. A concierge service is available to our guests, provided their reservation is made at least 2 days before arrival. Finally, check-in is open 24/7, as our reception desk is managed remotely at night by an automated system. Comfortable and classic, Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne will welcome you in a home-like atmosphere, ensuring your stay is a relaxing and easy one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morges Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing