We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old rooms at the back are horrible!!”
Review of Hotel Des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Des Alpes
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old rooms at the back are horrible!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel several times on business. Every time I have been given a back room and every time I have had to get it changed. Last room I was in the floor was soaking wet (puddle). I have even had a room with dangerous electrics.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMUR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    21
    10
    10
See reviews for
4
6
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CambridgeUK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Basic room at back - whilst it had lots of facilitites (to ensure * rating), they were all pretty shabby. Though it was quiet and near the train station.

Breakfast was poor.

There are better choices by the lake i think.

Also, the photo associated with this hotel, isnt the right one!

Room Tip: try to get one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HadP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nyon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Welcomed with the precision swiss staff that is the norm for the area. Requested to move rooms and was accommodated (with a small upcharge - original room overlooked alley - upgrade had large windows that looked out over the alps and lake.) Ok breakfast - expensive internet - great location to trains and wonderful restaurants. Fell in love with this city!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Perhaps the most depressing hotel I've stayed in - staff are miserable and unhelpful (waiting for 10 minutes at reception just to collect your key whilst the staff chat without acknowledging your presence). Breakfast is poor - how hard is it to serve decent coffee and a croissant in Switzerland? Rooms have not been modernised since the 1970s - I've been forced to stay a number of times now and have always recieved a tiny single room facing the lift / fire escape with an uncomfortable bed and the constant rumble of boilers / heating. On top they will charge you a fortune for poorly connecting internet. Due to the lack of choice in Nyon the place amazingly seems often to be full - although no one hangs around for a drink / meal there in the evenings - avoid!

Room Tip: There are no best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We made Nyon our first stop on a holiday/business trip between Geneva and Montreux. It's a convenient place to stay away from the crowds of the larger cities. An easy, 5 minute walk from the train station, the hotel sits a few streets above lake level. We were given room 302, which faced the lake. The room had large windows to open and enjoy the view, but others had balconies, if you're interested. There is a large parking lot directly across the street, if you need it, otherwise just look over it to the beauty beyond---Lake Geneva. Easy walking to all restaurants and shops, with the waterfront about 2-3 blocks downhill. A nice European breakfast buffet came with the price....about 200 Euros a night. I would return to Hotel des Alpes for business or pleasure travel without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilli-girl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashhad, Iran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

It is not a new hotel but clean and quiet, near to train station (3 min. walk) and located in downtown of Nyon.
You can enjoy the view of Geneva lake from the roof of Nyon if you have the chance for reserving a lake view room. The staffs are lovely and polite, I have been in this hotel for three times and I will choose it again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirooz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

I am a regular business traveller to Hotel Des Alpes. It's my hotel of choice when in Nyon. Great location (middle of town and near train station), pleasant feeling, and rooms are sometimes on the small side, but comfortable and have everything you need. The breakfast is great, and the hotel is decent (although really that doesn't matter, as there is a good selection of excellent restaurants nearby). The staff will treat you as you treat them - invest some politneness and friendliness and you will get the same back. Be rude and offhand, and you will get paid back in spades! I would recommend it - good price for what you get, and nice rooms and overall comfort.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Rive
Hotel Le Rive
#3 of 8 in Nyon
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Base Nyon
Base Nyon
#1 of 8 in Nyon
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Ange
Hotel de l'Ange
#2 of 8 in Nyon
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 8 in Nyon
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Barcarolle
Hotel La Barcarolle
#1 of 1 in Prangins
120 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Reserve Geneve Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Alpes

Property: Hotel Des Alpes
Address: avenue Viollier 1, Nyon, Nyon District 1260, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Des Alpes)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Nyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nyon
Nyon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing