We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying very hard, but....”
Review of Hotel Beau-Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I spend four nights with a group of friends in this hotel, though I live 10Km down the lake. I know Nyon pretty well and was sure that this would be the best hotel in town. Maybe it is...but then I am disappointed.
Let's start positive; the location is great! The entrance side of the hotel is on a nice street filled with restaurants, bars and cute shops and only a short stroll (uphill) away from the Chateau. The lake side in on the boulevard and gives great view towards the Alps and the lake.
The staff is very polite and helpful. The bar only opens at 16:30, but if you want to start drinking earlier, there are plenty of public bars around.
Great breakfast!! We didn't have dinner, but the menu looked good.
But then....the building itself. Should have been renovated years ago! I like a classical style (though prefer modern), but this was just outdated, dusty (not litterally!) and not cozy. I had a very nice spacious room (suite) overlooking the lake and the bed slept wonderful, but the whole feel to it....old!
A problem I did not face persoanlly; my room was located on the first floor, which is a smoking floor. My room was fine and I smelled nothing, but some of my friends got offered rooms on the same floor that smelled like you entered a ashtray! They did get move to other rooms on a different floor though!

Room Tip: Be sure to get lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

My parents had once stayed at the hotel and I remembered it as being a genteel, slightly frayed but trying hard, nicely located small hotel. Not so. It is dirty, the service is rude, the food at breakfast dull (although not awful, to be fair), and it is depressing beyond expectation. It being Switzerland and close to Geneva, needless to say it is not cheap. There have to be other options in and around Nyon. Any suggestions?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcinrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This must have been a swish place 20 years ago. But the expression 'seen better days' might have been invented for this hotel. Staff friendly and efficient. Bed fine. Bathroom and furniture from another age. Time to renovate, guys.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank DazfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

I was very unhappy when I stayed here 2 years ago - tiles missing from the bathroom floor, unfriendly staff, I was given the remote control for the heating upon check-in and when I asked for hairdryer because the one in my room wasn't working, they wanted to charge a refundable deposit in case I did not return it. I wasn't too thrilled when my company booked me there again but it has improved.
The room I had on the 4th floor had been renovated and although it wasn't large, it was very comfortable. The mattress, pillows and duvet were comfortable and the bed linen clean and crisp. There was free wireless internet. For some reason, the iPhone internet vouchers expired after 24 hours, so I had to pick up a new one every evening but the voucher for the laptop was valid through my stay. Free Nespresso coffee in the room gave a welcoming touch.
Unfortunately the lift only went as high as the 3rd floor, so I had to lug my bags up the stairs. Having said that, I asked for help on my departure and the gentleman at the reception carried my large suitcase down for me. The walls were rather thin; I could hear people talking on either side of the room - that was the only thing that really bothered me.
The staff were friendly and helpful, which was a big contrast to my last visit and it seemed to be a company policy.
Good breakfast and location.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonInSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed for two nights in november 2012. The hotel is situated very nicely by the lake Leman (Geneva lake), just with the main road between the lake and the hotel. Room was okay, we had a little balcony from where we could see the lake, but the decoration and interior of the hotel was pretty old and worn out. The staff at the front desk was helpful and so was the waitors at the breakfast room, breakfast not that great but ok. Bathroom old fashioned but it worked.
So all in all for a short business trip the hotel works out well.
If you have a couple of hours to spend while staying in Nyon, take the ferry across the lake to the very charming village Yvoir on the French side of the lake, the boat leaves from the pier two minutes from the hotel, ferry schedule you can get at the front desk. The hotel gave us a complimentary ride with the hotel car to the railway station, very good service - and the train is very convenient, when you are flying in to Nyon by the Geneva airport. Train leaves from the airport and takes you to Nyon in 30 minutes. Hotel is about 10 minutes of walk from the Nyon train station.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake, wonderful view of the lake and the french alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Have stayed here several times on business and have never been disappointed. The staff is always friendly and welcoming and will do anything they can to make your stay great. Breakfast is great especially considering it is included in the price. Location is wonderful (a nice plus for business travelers). Have stayed for both short and longer term visits and will come back again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank Danielle1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed one night at Beau Rivage whilst on business. It's a lovely old building in a great location in a lovely town. The position on the shores of Lac Leman is fantastic.

Good points:
- the people were lovely. Accommodating when we arrived late and friendly.
- the breakfast was excellent and included in the price rather than an extra CHF 30, as some Geneva hotels charge.
- the aircon in the room was epic on a very warm night. The day either side was in excess of 30 deg C.
- A minibus that gave me a lift to the office. Excellent.
- Toiletries - loads in the room free of charge.

Could do better:
- No iron available or trouser press in the room. Not acceptable for a business traveller.
- The lighting in the room was harsh. All of the bulbs were halogen spotlights, even he reading light next to the bed which kicked out a lot of heat.
- the room decor was pale and neither traditional or modern. The lighting didn't help.
- Price. The same as an equivalent hotel in central Geneva.

This is basically a good hotel with some details that would be easy to fix, especially as the staff are very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rive
Hotel Le Rive
#3 of 8 in Nyon
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Nyon
Base Nyon
#1 of 8 in Nyon
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ange
Hotel de l'Ange
#2 of 8 in Nyon
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 8 in Nyon
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Alpes
Hotel Des Alpes
#6 of 8 in Nyon
64 reviews
1.9 mi away
Auberge de l'Etoile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage

Address: rue de Rive 49, Nyon, Nyon District 1260, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Nyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
Price Range: £94 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to major renovations. Its reopening is tentatively scheduled for the end of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel Nyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing