We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions not great”
Review of Hotel Beau-Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First impressions not great”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My room looks very, very dated. The carpet needs replacing (there's no way a carpet cleaner can remove these stains) and the walls need re-painting badly. The furniture and fixtures and fittings in the room look very dated. The bathroom looks like it was decorated in the 1960's and I would prefer a bath rather than just a shower cubicle.

Whilst there is free internet access this is via a cable and not wifi. The wire comes from the TV (which is hanging on the wall) and doesn't come out very far. You therefore have to sit on the floor to use the internet as the wire doesn't reach to the bed or the desk. Who's bright idea was that?

The only positive is the mini bar contains wine :-) Actually I'm being a bit unfair. The bed is massive and seems very comfortable. Plus I have a view of the Lake from my room so it's not all bad.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MrsCUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    26
    19
    19
See reviews for
4
14
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It's a nice view!
The hotel was nice too!
Nowadays, its not like this,
there are many things you miss.
Rooms are poor and old they are,
find no drink at hotel bar.
What to do you may ask now,
do not check-in, eat a cow!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nyon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed at the Beau Rivage in Nyon, Switzerland from 1st - 6th December 2013. Upon arrival, the reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. However, when I entered my hotel room, the first thing I noticed was how grimy the light switch was. I was dreading what the rest of my room would be like. The decor was very tired and in need of updating. Thankfully, the rest of my room appeared to be clean and housekeeping would make my bed every day and replace towels. The bed was comfortable and the quilt and pillows were beautiful and soft (so much so, I didn't want to get up in the morning). An espresso making machine was provided and three capsules for the machine. If you wanted more than three drinks, you would have to purchase more capsules at CHF1.50 a shot. The two chocolates that were provided with the espressos were not replaced....very mean. Breakfast was ok - continental style with the option of having an omelette, scrambled eggs, eggs and bacon or veal sausages. I tried the eggs and bacon one morning and thought they were ok. The hotel provided a shuttle bus service to the train station that we used every day, which was very handy. I thought the hotel was very overpriced, but then so is Switzerland as a whole.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is so run down and dilapidated, it defies description. the rooms are old, unclean and stained (check out the bathroom door at #116); the showers are nothing short of horrific, with a feeble trickle of water and poor lighting, you can't even shave. the noise insulation is the worst. this hotel say its heydays probably 50 years ago. It doesn't deserve more than a star.
The only plus side, the breakfast is nice, the dinning room has a nice view of the lake.
As my title says, avoid it as much as possible if you can.

Room Tip: there are a couple tiny rooms on the fourth floor (elevator goes only to 3). the plus side is that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcmlix1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for business, yes the hotel is old, yes it is a bit outdated, but the staff was very nice and helpful to this first time visitor. Enjoyed a couple meals on my balcony overlooking the lake. Nicely located within walking distance of many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Sold and priced as a 4 stars hotel.
This place is a disapointment: dirty, unprofessional staff, a wreck.
This is a disapointment in a country of high standards of quality and service.
Some rooms have a nice lake view but the price to pay is not worth it.
Avoid by all means this disgraceful place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PacificTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Ive stayed several times, and giving this a 4/5 because there is just one major flaw. Here's the bottom line:

Pros: Great location, magnificent view of lake and mountains. Breakfast (included) is adequate with typical European flair. Staff seemed very nice and helpful. Free shuttle to train station. Great location as next to several very good restaurants...must order "filets de perches" (fresh perch filets from lake). Bed and linens are really quite nice and comfy!
Cons: Books up quickly and quite pricey for what you get. The rooms are VERY dated, carpet soiled and definitely need sprucing up! No exercise facility or pool (yes, I'm American, we love our treadmills). Could use a few more US TV stations. Mainly, my biggest issue are around the nature of the rooms which look very "abused" and "used". Its a shame as this location is an absolute gem!! I do hope they will invest to update the rooms as all else is completely acceptable!

Room Tip: Ask to have room with balcony facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyon
0.3 mi away
Base Nyon
Base Nyon
#1 of 8 in Nyon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rive
Hotel Le Rive
#3 of 8 in Nyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 8 in Nyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ange
Hotel de l'Ange
#2 of 8 in Nyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Cecile
Villa Cecile
#2 of 5 in Yvoire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Barcarolle
Hotel La Barcarolle
#1 of 1 in Prangins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage

Property: Hotel Beau-Rivage
Address: rue de Rive 49, Nyon, Nyon District 1260, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Nyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel Nyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing