We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, good staff and improving all the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Beau-Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms, good staff and improving all the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've stayed here quite a few nights over the past year on business. Rooms are large and comfortable and the staff mostly very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent with a range of healthy and not so healthy options depending on your mood. There is not really much of a bar if you want to socialise in the evenings and there a couple of things they could do better - WiFi access a bit of complicated process and on more than one occasion it's taken 5 minutes for the television to 'load'. But these are niggles - it's expensive of course but a pretty decent hotel all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view - they tend to be bigger with balconies but more pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    26
    19
    19
See reviews for
4
14
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

A one night business stay in a central hotel and was given a room with a view over the lake.
Not the most modern room, but comfortable and clean with everything that I needed to work and relax.
I arrived without travel adaptors for Switzerland and had to go back down to reception to ask. Nothing was a problem, and everything I needed was no problem for them.
Breakfast in the morning was a good choice of both hot and cold and good quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view if one is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJohnCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for business for a couple of nights. Can only echo what others have said - a rather tired, sad old place that requires a great leap of imagination to picture its heyday.

WiFi is slow and insanely frustrating with you having to input a new 67 digit username and password each day, and re-inputting it if you happen to close your computer down for any length of time.

Breakfast is only so-so, the careworn room only enlivened by the fantastic view of the lake and the mountains.

And yes, the rooms need some love and attention - comfortable beds but 1970s bathrooms lit in a deathly yellow pallor that made you feel you were looking at them through an instagram filter. Also met with a swirl of dead flies when I opened by balcony doors - a balcony I was ultimately denied accessing by the broken metal blinds which refused to be raised high enough to let me step out.

I don't know if there is much better in Nyon, but you may be better off staying in Geneva and just getting the pleasant train ride in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohnobonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nyon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Gatehouse of Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed here before and always considered it 'run down but old charm and service' However the staff seem to not care about staff - One even said
I don't have time to deal with you, I have other's to sort out - when the wifi didn't work (Avoid rooms on West or north (road) side of Hotel.

Surely porters who feel they are doing you a favour and don't realise you are paying a fortune and expect things to work

Hot water is a bit variable - more like an old Ski hotel in the 80s where you needed to get in first.

Overall the service is surly and they dont seem to realise they are running a luxury hotel... or were....


Avoid

Don't try to contact the GM as he is never there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryInHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Hotel Beau Rivage is siuated beside the lake and has beautiful views of the lake and mountains. It is an impressive building on the outside - it is ridiculously over-priced at 300 CHF per night for a double room. For such a high room rate you have expectations of great service and quality rooms but that is where the hotel lets itself down. The rooms are dated, chips in the wall, stains on furniture and carpets. The restaurant is closed on the weekends as is the bar. Breakfast is very modest. It wouldn't take much to restore this Hotel to its former glory but there seems to be no commitment to do this as I have stayed here over the past 5 years.
On the plus side, the beds are extremely comfortable and the pillows some of the best I've had the pleasure of sleeping on. The location is excellent as you have the views on one side and are in the heart of Nyon on the other. Even though the restaurant is closed on weekends there are many restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: rooms on the lakeside have incredible views but are even more expensive. There are two 2-bedroom uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArohaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I did not think that hotels like this existed anymore, just in movies like Grand Hotel Budapest . This of course once was à fantastic place with a fantastic view, but if you keep carpets and furniture for 50 years it shows. Even reception, where the first dollars are invested, is run down, the lift is smelly and old, the paint on the walls gone. If prices were 2star you would not complain, because the view is amazing and staff friendly but close to 300 fr for a place like this is a pure joke ( each nespresso in the room 1.50 extra).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgeman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My room looks very, very dated. The carpet needs replacing (there's no way a carpet cleaner can remove these stains) and the walls need re-painting badly. The furniture and fixtures and fittings in the room look very dated. The bathroom looks like it was decorated in the 1960's and I would prefer a bath rather than just a shower cubicle.

Whilst there is free internet access this is via a cable and not wifi. The wire comes from the TV (which is hanging on the wall) and doesn't come out very far. You therefore have to sit on the floor to use the internet as the wire doesn't reach to the bed or the desk. Who's bright idea was that?

The only positive is the mini bar contains wine :-) Actually I'm being a bit unfair. The bed is massive and seems very comfortable. Plus I have a view of the Lake from my room so it's not all bad.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MrsCUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyon
0.3 mi away
Base Nyon
Base Nyon
#1 of 8 in Nyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rive
Hotel Le Rive
#3 of 8 in Nyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 8 in Nyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ange
Hotel de l'Ange
#2 of 8 in Nyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Cecile
Villa Cecile
#2 of 5 in Yvoire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Barcarolle
Hotel La Barcarolle
#1 of 1 in Prangins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage

Property: Hotel Beau-Rivage
Address: rue de Rive 49, Nyon, Nyon District 1260, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Nyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel Nyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing