We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Realy a fine hotel also caring for veggies”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saratz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saratz
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
347 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Realy a fine hotel also caring for veggies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

After a year we are back now in Pontresia’s hotel Saratz ****, a spotless, fine hotel with a very friendly staff. Large wellness area with a hamam like Saracen bath, inside and outside swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and what have you. Spacious rooms great shower and bathroom, toilet with Japanese style cleaning facility. Great breakfast, good dinenrs in all the three hotel restaurants, great surroundings, hotel shuttle within the village, bus stops in the vicinity, free wifi in all rooms, free card for bus, train and funiculars. And the prices are really affordable. I wopuld recomamnd a MAP, Modifies American Plan with breakfast and dinner. The hotel is freindly for veggies, just talk to the staff or make your choice from the menu, having veggie options.

Room Tip: I prfer the Ela Tuff part of the hotel with a view on the Roseg glacier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review!

We are very pleased to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you have also enjoyed the region with its wonderful alpine spring.

Our staff thanks you for sending such wonderfull comments, they really appreciate it.

We hope to welcome you soon again, and remain with best regards.

Thierry Geiger, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    132
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
167
245
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

we stayed for 5 nights at the Hotel Saratz with 2 older relatives at the end of June to see the wonderful Alpine meadows. We arrived quite late and the main restaurant was full so we went to the Bar restaurant, which was still excellent. After a couple of nights, we had to arrange an earlier meal for one of our relatives as she couldn't cope with staying awake until after 19.30. The Hotel staff were very accommodating and made special food early, just to her liking.
The hotel itself has excellent facilities - 4 separate public seating areas (1 with TV viewing) plus a spacious outdoor balcony seating area with a fantastic views of the mountains. We could always find somewhere private for a pre-dinner Prosecco! The swimming pool indoors is great (12 metres) and comfortably warm. The outdoor pool was excellent in sunny weather especially to cool down after using their tennis court (racquets and balls provided).
The food was all excellent and the breakfast is superb, with a huge choice and all very good quality. - a buffet style selection of cereals, fruit, seeds & nuts, with a choice of bread, croissants, pastries, eggs and two different hot dishes daily (sausages/tomatoes/bacon Etc) together with 4-6 different salamis, smoked salmon & mackerel, plates of hard & soft cheese, fruit juices, teas and good coffee. Omlettes were available on request -again very good quality. The staff were very attentive and all spoke a good range of languages.
All the staff in the hotel were very accessible and attentive throughout the day - nothing was too much trouble, from sending the minibus to Pontresina Station to collect us when we arrived (at a different time to that expected due to train delays), to delivering us to the train up the mountain further down the valley, to providing train & bus timetables Etc.
There was a problem with the WiFi while we were there, but this was available free of charge at the Tourist Information office across the street (opens before 10.00)
If you are allergic to feather pillows, you need to request non-feather varieties for pillows and duvets from reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hexhamambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments!

We are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay here at the Saratz.
Our staff is always enchanted to hear that our guests are satified with the service they provide. A big thank you for motivating them.

We hope to see you soon again, meanwhile we remain with best regards.

Thierry Geiger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for one night in the Saratz hotel with two small kids and had an excellent time. The hotel is a beautiful combination of an old style mountain hotel with a modern and young feel. Family room is very spacious with a separate room for the kids and two entrances. Breakfast is excellent with a very divers selection of foods. Lunch we had on the the terrace enjoying the beautiful view. And the diner was very nice too.
For kids the garden of the hotels is great with a slide, trampoline and in summer an outdoor pool. You can also make a small "hike" to the river and enjoy some spectacular views.

Staff is very helpful and friendly, for sure we will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hookipa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Hookipa,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Saratz, and are already looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Best Regards

Thierry Geiger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We only stayed 1 night with 2 small children but all of us loved it. The hotel park was great, with the spacious playground as well as a nice small hike. We loved the swimming pool, the food, the bar, the view, the spacious room and very friendly staff. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Esther,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are very happy to hear, that you have liked our Hotel so much.

We hope to welcome you soon again at the Saratz!

Best Regards

Thierry Geiger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod HaSharon, Israel
Level Contributor
229 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We returned to the Saratz after our great vacation last year. We were upgraded to a south-facing corner room, which made our vacation even more enjoyable. The Saratz is definitely an amazing hotel - the rooms, the service, and the views from the south-facing rooms. Breakfast was very good, and when we had to leave before breakfast was served they prepared a special breakfast for us. Being just ten minutes by car from the Corviglia skiing area (at Celerina), the Saratz is highly recommended for skiing in the St. Moritz area.

Room Tip: The south-facing rooms have amazing views (especially the south-facing corner rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avipiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review!
We are very glad to hear, that you have enjoyed your holiday here at the Saratz.
Thank you also for posting the pictures, which are very nice.
We hope to welcome you soon again at the Saratz.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

It's been a long time since my last visit at the Saratz in Pontresina. Lately we decided to spend the weekend there, as we heard there was a lot of snow. And in fact we found the real winter wonderland...as you see it always in postcards! We had again a wonderful room in the new wing of the hotel, and we enjoyed very much to see, that some of the staff was still there. The breakfast is still as good as the previous time. The food in the restaurant is even better, I think they changed the chef. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. We liked also the fact that they had life music at the hotelbar, that makes the ambiance of the hall much cosier. They also have a shuttle bus to the ski resort in St. Moritz now, which is also something new I guess.
We will be back very soon, we love this place and the wonderful view. Check out our picture we made.

Room Tip: Take a room in the old part of the hotel, it is charming...with view to the glacier of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_Moritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review!
We appreciate very much your comments, and are very happy to hear, that you had such a good time at the Saratz.
Our staff is always delighted to read good comments, that is the reward for the hard working.
We hope to see you soon again at the Saratz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kfar saba
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Saratz for 3 days in August with 2 kids and it was really amazing experience for all of us.
Stayed in room 321 which has separated living room and bed room. Very large and cosy. Breakfast buffet was very rich with wide selection. Dinner was very nice as well. The pool and fitness room are well maintained and fun. But the most impressive thing in hotel Saratz in my opinion is the hotel park... It is a very big property surrounded by flowers and trees that goes along the river. It has many nice corners for children including the outdoor pool and a nice trampoline. Above all it has great view to Diavolezza glacier... The hotel staff is very professional and helpful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank liran777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Saratz. All of you team is very thankful for your comments and hoping to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards from Pontresina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#13 of 21 in Pontresina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#6 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saratz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratz

Property: Hotel Saratz
Address: Via da la Staziun 2 | 7504, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pontresina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#2 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#2 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saratz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Pontresina and at the heart of the holiday region Engadine St. Moritz, Hotel Saratz is elegant yet cosy, contemporary yet charming - and its blend of old and new exudes one thing above all: atmosphere. The modern way of living merges with the Engadine hotel tradition, grandeur with design and nature with architecture. True values for a holiday adventure in a magnificent setting. According to the latest rating of the "SonntagsZeitung" of 31 May 2015, Hotel Saratz has been ranked the 7th best family hotel in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saratz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratz Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing