We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Hotel Walther

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Walther
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Each summer my husband and I take long trekking vacations, traveling from village to village. We always try to include at least some time at a Relais & Chateaux property as they are always top of the line in every aspect -- service, amenities, food. Hotel Walther is a lovely example and so we were delighted to plan a stay mid-vacation as a treat. Unfortunately, when we arrived after a challenging hike, we discovered that our travel agent had somehow booked us into a different hotel -- a sister property -- still lovely, but fewer stars, not a Relais & Chateaux property and just not the experience that we had been hoping for. Mrs. Walther personally assisted us and arranged for a wonderful room at the Hotel Walther, transferred credit and so forth. We so appreciated the accomodation. Our room was absolutely lovely, with a balcony and huge windows overlooking the Pontresina area.. The pool and whirlpool were wonderful. The restaurant was excellent with a truly delightful staff. It was a wonderful experience all around. We look forward to returning for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FAQsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
78
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suisse
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel is really one of the best I went. First because the place is really nice and full of history. The family who own the place is really dedicated to the pleasure of the guests and you can feel a deep pride and attachment to own this hotel. You can feel it in many details I let you discover. The service dedicated to the guests is discrete, kind and equal to a 5 stars hotel. The room was clean, comfortable with a nice whew on the valley and the village. The room service was just fantastic... actually the restaurant has 15 points on Gault & Millau. With no hesitation I would go back to this hotel. They give a little bag with snacks when you leave. Isn't that a proof of dedication to the guests?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evrard23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

we've stayed here several times for winter ski trips. the bus stop to st moritz is a few steps away and buses run very regularly. the rooms are large for europe and everything works. the restauarant is excellent for both breakfast and dinner. the spa is extremely clean with many treatments. a class hotel in all respects.

Room Tip: if you've got the bucks sask for the the attic room, 7th floor- very cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

very special place to stay, the hotel is fantastic, nice restaurants,great location and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I was going to be in Europe for Christmas and had a definite idea of what I wanted. This fulfilled every wish that I had. On arrival the Walthers greet you and are present at all activities. As I do not speak German the Walthers speak excellent English and everyone went out of their way to find someone who spoke English. They provided the days activities in English and while the dinner menu was in German they sent someone to the table to explain. On Christmas Eve I rode in private horse drawn sled in a light snowfall. This was prearranged by the hotel they provided Christmas Eve activities that were magical with each person provided a torch and with St Nick we went through the forest to sing Christmas songs and have mulled wine or cider. The dinner, as all meals was fabulous. I had half board and had a breakfast, mid afternoon tea and five course dinner. I cannot stress what a wonderful establishment this was for Christmas and while it is primarily German they went out of the way to make the Americans feel included, even singing Jingle Bells in English in the forest.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgal031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Wunderschönes Hotel, tolle Zimmer, super Wellness-Bereich, ausgewogenes Essen, Super-Service. Im Hotel Walther stimmt einfach alles!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulazh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Really loved this hotel. They give you first-class treatment all the way. Whatever you want is delivered immediately to your room. We got a standard double room and it was fantastic. Larger than the usual European standards. We called them when we arrived at the train station, and they had someone there to pick us up within 5 minutes. Enjoyed walking around the town of Pontresina - so lovely and charming. Ate dinner at their restaurant just up the hill - Chesa Veglia - food was great and loved the ambiance. They drove us there free of charge. Had lunch at the little hotel restaurant across the street - forget the name, but has a nice outside terrace. Can't fault the Hotel Walther for anything - it was a totally fabulous experience and would love to go back some day!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhlllyPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 21 in Pontresina
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#12 of 21 in Pontresina
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walther

Property: Hotel Walther
Address: Via Maistra 215, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#3 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#4 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#5 Family Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Walther 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run 4-Star superior Hotel Walther in Pontresina is a member of the exclusive Relais & Chateaux collection. It is one of the most traditional hotels in the holiday region of Engadine St. Moritz. True values At Hotel Walther you do more than just sleep – here you get to dream, because this venue not only offers a beautiful location in which to enjoy your vacation; it also envelops you in a gentle sense of well-being, thanks to our inherent sense of hospitality. In short: true family values. A third-generation family business, we extend a warm welcome to our Pontresina guests. Here, you will be able to experience first-hand the renowned ‘Alpine glow’ and embark on a wealth of wonderful adventures that await right on your doorstep! The perfect location for relaxation and activities in the Engadine Mountains.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Walther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walther Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing