We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place with traditional Swiss atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Walther

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Walther
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with traditional Swiss atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent a long weekend at teh Walther and were delighted by teh excellent service, the traditionell Swiss atmosphere and the wonderful spa. The hotel isn't posh, it let you experience the genuine feeling of Swiss hospitality, led since three generations by the Walther family!

Room Tip: Well ... choose a room with a view overlooking the valley and the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glencheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
78
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This property has it all, but mostly an incredibly charming and helpful staff. The hotel is up to the standards of the area, but is still warm and friendly. Classy and clean, with an incredible restaurant. Family owned and operated and you can feel it. The owner even visited with our group during the fabulous dinners we enjoyed on site whilst there. Location was great to a classical music concert in the forest, to town, to hiking. Ahhh, would love to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeBuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel it is perfect! I do not have anything to say , except Perfect !
We have travel around the world and always choose luxury hotel for our holiday , but this one was realy incredible. Highly recomendly to try " La Stuva" restaurant...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioana-Lara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We chose Hotel Walther based on great reviews on this site, and we were not disappointed with our stay (4 nights in Feb 2014). Engadin, and particularly St Moritz, is known for its high-class, traditional, and monolithic hotels, which come with an exorbitant price tag, and more often than not with traditionalist, stuck-up staff to boot. While the Walther may also be monolithic and pricey, all the staff could not have been kinder and more accommodating, which genuinely made a difference. On this basis alone, the hotel deserves all the praise it gets.

Pontresina was just a main street lined with hotels, restaurants, and a handful of shops. As we were there to ski in Celerina, this suited us just fine. The local bus stop (Post Office) is just outside the hotel. The local bus pass is included when you stay at least 2 nights, and it was our preferred way of getting to the slopes. Bus no. 2 leaves every half an hour, and it only takes 10 minutes (or less) to get to the bottom of the Celerina-Marguns cable car (Celerina Cresta Palace bus stop, or follow other skiers). In the meantime, our car was safe from the elements in the underground car park shared by the Walther and the Steinbock. The hotel has a ski shuttle, but it is not free, and the first one leaves at 10 am on most days of the week, which for us was about 2 hours too late.

We never quite got round to trying the hotel's restaurant(s), but we've heard very positive reviews from the locals. We did try the Engadinerhof just down the road, which was very busy (so booking is necessary) but once you get a table, the service and the food are great.

If you're considering whether to travel by train or by car (or by the Vereina car train), expect that changeable weather conditions may cause restrictions on some roads (particularly the mountain passes), such as 4-wheel-drive only, or snow-chains only. There is a very useful website to check road status before you travel: http://www.strassen.gr.ch/sites/strassenzustand/karte.html

The skiing itself was brilliant. The area has a great infrastructure, frequently great snow, and a choice of slopes that seem to go on for miles (with Corvatsch and Diavolezza nearby and also accessible by bus, if you crave variety).

We had an enjoyable, and relaxing stay at the Walther, which combines excellent facilities with even better service. I recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on 3. floor at the back, which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent 4 days in Walther Hotel and we felt like home. Everyone is so welcome, friendly, polite. The Walther family made its best for us to have a wonderful Christmas holiday. The hotel is very beautiful, although a bit old. The food is just amazing and the service exceptional. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessAndri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent two wondeful days in October at the Hotel Walther: very friendly staff, excellent food, nice room with big bathroom.... Everything you would wish for a relaxing weekend!
We booked a package including a dineer at MUOTTAS MURAGL restaurant at 2,456 metres (http://www.muottasmuragl.ch/en/) which was really nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vp65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We drove up from Lake Como for a day trip to St Moritz, but the weather was so good we decided to stay overnight. After a few hours at the Hotel Walther, we decided to make that two nights.
Reception offered to show us rooms that were available and we took the first one they showed us. The room, #66, was excellent; large, light and airy. It may have been one of the best rooms in the hotel as it was in one of the rounded turrets at the corner of the building and had stunning views of the surrounding mountains. The rate per night including half-board was 573 Swiss francs (around $US600).
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Mrs Walther (the owner?) greeted us and also farewelled us when we were leaving. During dinner, the manager came around to all the tables to ask if everything was ok. The waiters in the restaurant were a bit reserved and formal, but not overly so. Overall, the service was very good.
The hotel was spotless and in very good condition. Parking was included and was in a large secure underground car park accessible using an electronic card. Unlike a lot of car parks in Europe, this one has a wide entrance and wide access lanes. The hotel also had an indoor heated pool and spa as well as sauna and steam room, all of a high standard.
The two course dinner on the first night was good, but not outstanding. The dinner on the second night was a six course degustation menu which was excellent. A good afternoon tea is included in the half-board.
Because we stayed two nights, we received a pass that provided free travel for both of us on the local buses, trains, chair lifts and cable cars. The cost of the cable car to Corvatsch was 50 euro per person, so this was worth having.
And when we were leaving, we were giving a pack of provisions (water bottles, fruit, biscuits, chocolate) for the journey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TC3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#9 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albris
Hotel Albris
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#13 of 21 in Pontresina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walther

Property: Hotel Walther
Address: Via Maistra 215, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#5 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#5 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Walther 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run 4-Star superior Hotel Walther in Pontresina is a member of the exclusive Relais & Chateaux collection. It is one of the most traditional hotels in the holiday region of Engadine St. Moritz. True values At Hotel Walther you do more than just sleep – here you get to dream, because this venue not only offers a beautiful location in which to enjoy your vacation; it also envelops you in a gentle sense of well-being, thanks to our inherent sense of hospitality. In short: true family values. A third-generation family business, we extend a warm welcome to our Pontresina guests. Here, you will be able to experience first-hand the renowned ‘Alpine glow’ and embark on a wealth of wonderful adventures that await right on your doorstep! The perfect location for relaxation and activities in the Engadine Mountains.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Walther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walther Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing