We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel above 1,500 Meters World Wide”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Fantastic classical hotel with a lobby and spa so inviting you can easily loose an entire day without hiking/skiing and not feel guilty. Fantastic friendly staff and the pinnacle of luxury at a great value/price ratio. I plan on making the Kronenhof a regular stop, once in the Summer and again in the Winter.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gruezi_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Kronenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

A hotel to stay and enjoy a good wi^nter vacation. Relaxing atmosphere. Friendly staff. Excellent, big SPA. Room is just perfect. The room is serviced very well.

Room Tip: Make us of the SPA especially if you ski.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Grand Hotel Kronenhof is in the most gorgeous location, surrounded by tranquil woods with the majestic Alps as a backdrop, but also at the heart of the pretty mountain resort of Pontresina and just a few miles from the chic St Moritz. While the hotel itself is super grand, the atmosphere is very relaxed with the excellent (friendly, helpful) staff putting all the guests at ease. The spa is just superb - find time to spend a couple of hours in there, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The hotel location could not be better, with fabulous views in all directions. The service is excellent and very attentive in every detail. My room was very comfortable, I particularly enjoyed the view of the mountains from the bath! The hotel spa complex is fantastic especially after a day in the mountains. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is the best I have experienced anywhere. For the outdoor enthusiast there is plenty to do here all year round. I was here on business. However, I loved it so much I shall be going back for a holiday! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radders14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Have stayed at the Kronenhof three times now. I definitely prefer the more classic style rooms in the main building to the modern ones in the newer part, but both are equally comfortable and elegantly appointed. The staff at the Kronenhof are always welcoming and eager to please. You never wait for a bellman or valet. The bars, restaurants and spa are also excellent. On the downside they are as eager to see you go as they are to greet you. With the precision of a Swiss watch, the phone rang at exactly checkout time with someone asking if we needed help with our bags. A little disconcerting given the price tag of the food and room (our bill was CHF 1,800 for one night and dinner for three.) Given 30 seconds I would have called them to send a porter. Still, definitely the best in the area and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seestheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We spent a few days at the end of last year/beginning of this year at the Kronenhof. Everything was perfect: the grandeur and elegance of the recently renovated Grand hotel, keeping its old charm but retaining highest standards; the warm welcome of the very attentive, professional and friendly front desk team and our very comfortable and spacious (standard) room – and – above all - weather conditions could not have been any better: blue sky and plenty of snow!

One of the highlights of this property is the spa/wellness area: very spacious with great and absolutely stunning views of the Roseg valley and glacier.

The service in the hotel is exceptional. We had an excellent dinner at the fine dining restaurant Kronenstübli: outstanding food and service! Breakfast was buffet style: great choice and very delicious. The only downside was the half-board option that was compulsory at this time. The food again was good but the truly magnificent and lavish Grand Restaurant was too busy with (friendly) waiters moving frantically to and fro. But despite their activity the service was slow.

Overall impression: We had a great stay and will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zurich_traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

This is best hotel in Pontresina. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#5 of 21 in Pontresina
186 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Address: Via Maistra 130, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: £251 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Kronenhof is located in the heart of the Swiss mountain village Pontresina and has more than 165 years of history. At 1,800 meters, guests can enjoy 112 elegant rooms and suites, as well as one of the most impressive wellness facilities in the Alps, with a swimming pool with underwater music, a wide range of saunas, steam baths and spa treatments. As the only five-star superior hotel in town, it combines a great location with impressive architecture, breathtaking views and excellent cuisine. Awarded the title GaultMillau Hotel of the Year in 2009, it has three restaurants: Grand Restaurant, Kronenstubli and Pavillon. In 2016, TripAdvisor crowned the hotel as N 1 of the Swiss luxury hotels and one of the top 25 hotels with the best service worldwide. The Swiss economic magazine Bilanz categorized the hotel as a top 12 ranking of the 50 best Swiss holiday hotels. In 2016, the house was also recognized as the best spa resort in the country at the World Luxury Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing