We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite in Pontresina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is very luxury and the rooms are ncreible. The service is good but the best is the food. The view of the rooms are very nice. The white water river beside is something you have to see.
I spent one week there with my partner and we had a real good time. I would like to come back one day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diego O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel truly is a jewel in the valley of Engadin! What looks already great from the outside can even be topped when inside enjoying the fantastic cuisine with its attentive staff, nice and cozy rooms with great view towards Corviglia, and last but not least one of the best SPAs I've ever visited. Can only be recommended and comes at fair prices when considering what is being offered.

Room Tip: Garden view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisB_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The Grand Hotel Kronenhof is a true gem of the Engadin valley. The hotel is situated in a peaceful and charming town of Pontresina overlooking a majestic view of the Swiss alps. Upon check-in we were greeted warmly which made us feel very welcomed. The room was very nicely decorated with magnificent view and the balcony overlooking the mountain. The bathroom was very nice with heated floor and it's perfectly clean. The hotel public area is very luxury, elegant and gorgeous. The breakfast was really grand and sumptuous. The service was professional, warm, attentive, and courteous. Overall our stay at The Grand Hotel Kronenhof was truly splendid.

Except there were some glitches we felt we could have plan better which are that we didn't think that the hotel will be this great, therefore we arrived too late for check-in and didn't plan to have dinner here, so we didn't bring dress / dinner jacket with us. And of course it's our fault, and not the hotel's, so for the next trip, we will make sure we won't arrive late and we will definitely make arrangement to try the dinner at the hotel, in both restaurants (the Grand restaurant and the Kronenstübli). Please note that the in the Grand restaurant, a dress for lady and a dinner jacket with tie for gentlemen is preferred. Also please note that the Kronenstübli closes on Sunday and Monday. We were there on Monday so we couldn't eat at the Kronenstübli anyway.

Despite our stay was a short one, for only 1 night, but we had a great and rememberable experience. We look forward to come back to stay here again in the future, and of course with a longer duration.

Grand Hotel Kronenhof will definitely be number one on the top of the list of hotel choice when we have an opportunity to visit the region next time.

Room Tip: Room with view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Since we got engaged here we thought we would visit again and also get some snow as our last visit was in september!
As soon as we pulled up at the impressive and glam entrance in the cobbley courtyard wedged in a mountain- I was in Heaven!!!
Here is an attempt of a nutshell of what I loved: warm,personal and professional staff, generous and thoughtful food at all times (even the olives served with drinks are of a plump and organic variety!) super comfy beds and plush bathrooms stocked with lovely products, St Moritz and Pontresena are located in a wide and picturesque valley with well organsied skiing opportunities and a chic Italien twist.
Highlights of my visit were: The spa- I love the hot and cold for post ski knee swelling- I also loved the bubble grill and crazy ceilings relax grotto were I got into a meditative trance!
I must mention the stubeley style award winning restaurant were I sampled multicoloured salts from Hawaii, the himalayas plus interesting foams and gourmet lollies!
I also have to say I really admired the pride and passion of the managers towards ensuring that we and the other guests had an amazing time.
Im so happy there exisits a place like Grand Hotel Kronenhof Pontresena!

Room Tip: naturally the mountain view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The Kronenhof is full of regular visitors, usually a good sign. The staff know your name from arrival, keen to demonstrate professional service in a discrete way. From being picked up at the station to a very attentive reception team, they made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Despite a largely German speaking clientele, the quality of the staff English is high. For skiers the concierge staff (Verner, Daniel and Maximillian) will look after your transport, ski equipment and even in our case drive us to a small shop to get the sun cream we had forgotten.
The food was excellent with subtle service.
My wife tells me the spa is the best she has seen!
This is a top end hotel with style.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof in March 2013. The hotel was refurbished in 2008 at a cost of 33m Swiss Francs. This included the addition of a new pool, spa and fitness room, all of which are excellent. Spa treatments were included in our package, although additional treatments were on the expensive side.

The most striking aspect of the hotel is the service from the staff and the positive demeanour. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are all unfailingly polite and cheerful. Even on our last day, the concierge insisted on taking our cases onto the platform at Samedan station and making sure that we were on the right train and in the right carriage. The Director and his wife were also present on a number of occasions and were every friendly to all the guests.

We booked on a half board package which I would recommend because the food in the main restaurant is excellent; a different choice of gourmet dishes each night, with four courses and cheese too if desired. Also, there are not many restaurants in Pontresina as an alternative. There is a cheaper pizzeria by the station, but not much else save for other hotels. The Kronenhof does have another Michelin star restaurant next door, but the prices were just ridiculous.

The wine in the hotel restaurant is very expensive, but I think this is true of Switzerland generally and they do offer some good wines by the glass.

The bar and lounge are very comfortable and again the service could not be faulted. After a couple of nights, my coffee was served as soon as we came out of the restaurant and without even being ordered.

The only downside was the ubiquitous pianist from whom there was just no escape.

We had a junior suite which was smart and well fitted. The beds were comfortable and the shower - always important to me - was top notch. The rooms were cleaned and tidied twice a day.

Pontresina itself is a small village with a few shops, but little else. There may have been the odd club but if you want nightlife, St Moritz is only 15 mins away by train, bus or taxi. The main activity in the town, at least in the season, is cross country skiing and the hotel offers a package which includes daily lessons at the school by the station. If this is not for you, (it wasn't for us) there are miles of beautiful walking routes through the woods and along the river valleys. The local bus service is also good. We took a bus trip up to Corvatsch for lunch at one of the highest points in the region.

Generally, the weather was a bit on the grey side, with only two days of sun which was a bit disappointing and did spoil the view from the top of Corvatsch, but temperatures were comfortable for those long walks.

A few words on travel. The recommended route is to fly to Zurich and then take the train, changing at Zurich HB and Chur. This works well, but it is a long train journey, although the last section from Chur to Samedan is stunning. It is worth reserving seats in a panorama car for this section. The hotel will collect and deliver at Samedan.

We were told that Swiss Air will deliver your luggage from London to St Moritz for a small additional fee and the hotel will collect it for you.

Finally, just to make the journey home more tedious, Zurich Airport is the most sprawling, badly planned, inefficient and overpriced airport I have been in. Make sure you leave plenty of time to get through it on the way home.

I did think afterwards that it might be easier to fly to Milan and hire a car.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Robinh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I just stayed for one week at the Kronenhof, we love this hotel, it was our 6th stay and we both felt some things had improved :
- overall service has always been excellent, professional and very friendly, but the addition of some younger staff in the dining room has brought a much needed breath of fresh air to the atmosphere !
- the food...always been outstanding at the Kronenstubli, is now great as well in the main dining room, also there's quite a bit of flexibility when you'd like to eat something different, or just want a large salad for starter.
- the breakfast buffet...wonderful, they've vastly enlarged their offer, it's one of the best I've seen.
The spa is gorgeous, the rooms are splendid in the newer part of the hotel ; we've never stayed in the older part but I hear it's beautiful as well. Nice to relax and have a drink by the fire place. Great direction, attentive and present.
The gym has all you need to get a good work out and the view is a real bonus ! Pontresina is so "real" and lovely as opposed to glitzy Saint Moritz, to which you can easily go for a few hours and get your fill of people watching or shopping !
I would recommend this hotel with my eyes closed.

Room Tip: All rooms facing south, the view and the mountains ! Corner suites have a west view as well ! Upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgailloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
665 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Address: Via Maistra 130, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: £268 - £822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Kronenhof is located in the heart of the Swiss mountain village Pontresina and has more than 165 years of history. At 1,800 meters, guests can enjoy 112 elegant rooms and suites, as well as one of the most impressive wellness facilities in the Alps, with a swimming pool with underwater music, a wide range of saunas, steam baths and spa treatments. As the only five-star superior hotel in town, it combines a great location with impressive architecture, breathtaking views and excellent cuisine. Awarded the title GaultMillau Hotel of the Year in 2009, it has three restaurants: Grand Restaurant, Kronenstubli and Pavillon. In 2016, TripAdvisor crowned the hotel as N 1 of the Swiss luxury hotels and one of the top 25 hotels with the best service worldwide. The Swiss economic magazine Bilanz categorized the hotel as a top 12 ranking of the 50 best Swiss holiday hotels. In 2016, the house was also recognized as the best spa resort in the country at the World Luxury Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing