We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again - very disapointing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Food - was the main and big problem of this hotel. The other was that for 2 days we didn't have hot water: the shower started with kind of warm water, and then in the middle got a freezing stream. All the manager did was to apologize with no sincere intention, and brought the cheapest glass of Champaign one can get. Food was below average. Coming to such a hotel with this price you expect something better. We got the impression that they are trying to save money: the Coop was full with all sort of berries, but at the hotel we didn't get them at all. Many dishes were sent back to the kitchen because they were uneatable.

About the wine: a nice selection but far away from being appropriate for this hotel. A sommelier is really missing!!
However - we must admit: the room, spa and service are perfect.

if you want to enjoy good food do not stay at this hotel.

For the rate they are charging you can find much better hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank loli8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KulmHotel, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear loli8888

Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. As we already learnt during your stay and on your departure, we were not able to provide the expected service, in terms of kitchen quality, wine service and with the maintenance. I also learn, that you did not appreciate the complimentary late check-out, the offered Moët & Chandon champagne and my personal apologies.

We have taken note of all your inputs during your stay and tried to implement and improve all our service standards, as high satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. Wishing you all the best and better hotel experiences than you had with us.

Kind regards
Marc Eichenberger
Managing Director
Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Your every wish is catered for in grand old style at the Kronenhof. From horse and carriage rides with a packed picnic lunch to fully attentive staff in the Grand Dining room. The hotel is very child friendly and has a Juniors Club to free up adult time. As this is a quality Hotel make sure you pack a Jacket and tie for dinner as there is a dress code. The spa area is just divine with a water area for everyone. Our only complaint was my daughter had a gold and diamond necklace she had treasured for many years that she left in the bathroom while we went to the spa. When we got back it was gone. House cleaning had come into our room and whilst the hotel staff made every appearance of trying to assist we still left without a necklace and a very despondent child.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank DrakesinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KulmHotel, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear DrakesinItaly

Many thanks for your evaluation on TripAdvisor, but first of all for staying at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof during your trip in Europe. We appreciate your positive and detailed feedback very much.
Regarding the loss of your daughter’s necklace we can inform you and the valued TripAdvisor readers, that after having been informed about the notice of loss, our Housekeeping Manager personally checked the room, but also the SPA-facilities. In addition, we contacted the laundry and made detailed investigations. We also talked to the room cleaner, who has been working for many years at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof. We are very sorry, that after these investigations your daughter’s necklace could not be found. We understand that the loss is very aggrieving, but do hope that the memory of the trip in total is a positive one.

Marc Eichenberger
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having decided to spend four days in Engadin we started looking for a hotel and were impressed by the number of positive reviews on this hotel. And indeed they are well deserved. The hotel location is not perfect, but it is in the center of the village, has a large garage and is well accessible. A lot of rooms have a great view. It is a real "palace": very large lobby, dining-rooms, etc...Check-in was very nice, we did not know the type of room to book so the office manager spontaneously suggested to show us a few...We had a very good impression of all rooms, whatever their size and price. We went for a suite, which was absolutely fabulous. Not inexpensive though...Very large, great view, decorated with taste. And a great smell: the smell of wood...the bathroom is not very large but extremely well designed. A lot of storage room.
The spa is also worth mentioning. Very large, all sorts of saunas / jacuzzis / swimming-pool. Also a great fitness center, with very modern and to some extent sophisticated machines.
Morning breakfast also excellent.

Why put a four rather than a five then? First, service at tea-time was lousy...it took a very long time to put in your order, and even longer to find the waitress again to get the check. We also asked for one large down feather, which they were unable to find...and did not take the trouble to inform us. After asking again we had to satisfy ourselves with two individual (small) ones. And finally, and I may be a bit old-fashioned in that respect, but I find it very disappointing that you can take one of the most expensive suites in a Swiss palace and the hotel owner does not even take the time to say hello or introduce himself. Fortunately, really hoteliers still exist (Baur en Ville Zurich, Palace Lausanne, etc)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zelal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KulmHotel, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Zelal25
Greetings from Pontresina,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof and for your valuable feedback.
I am so sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and that our staff and I were not able to satisfy all your needs. Most of our guests appreciate and value the personal attention they receive and comment that our staff goes above and beyond to provide exceptional service. Our owners are not based at the hotel, however whenever possible, I personally try to welcome each and every one of our guests upon arrival. Unfortunately on your day of arrival, I was occupied in a meeting. I make it a priority to stay in touch with our guests during their stay on different occasion such as meeting them in the lobby area or in the evening at the restaurants. I regret that I missed meeting you on these occasions during your stay. I hope you will visit again and give us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional Kronenhof experience.

My best regards,
Marc Eichenberger
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

There are few Grand Hotels that can seamlessly blend old world charm and modern conveniences as well as the Kronenhof. The property is well worthy of its 5 star rating, however the staff if possible deserve an extra star as this was the best customer service I have come across in a hotel.

Every staff member we encountered seemed truly engaged, exceptionally trained and professional in their duties.

The property is as impressive as surrounding mountains and really is the gem of Pontresina. We cannot wait to return and celebrate. It is fitting that this is my first review, as it is the first time I have felt this strongly about a hospitality experience.

Room Tip: The horse carriage ride is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HubbyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever visited - not cheap, but worth every penny. We were met at the station by car from the hotel and they even took us to the next village when we wanted to travel up the mountain by the funicular railway there - and offered to bring us back if it started to rain, at no charge. They aslo took us back to the station at the end of our visit, and took our cases onto the station and found out the right place to stand to catch our train. Fantastic customer service, and a beautiful hotel and location. If you get the chance it is worth travelling to Switzerland just to stay here.

Room Tip: The only minor comment would be that as our room was at the front of the hotel, the church clock bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 74Awaruku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I chose this hotel on the back of the other reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. After a long drive from Stuttgart we arrived at the hotel to be welcomed like old friends. The phrase "Welcome Home' is used in their literature and is true to form.

The Staff are impeccable and the attention to detail is obvious from the outset. The rooms are beautiful and the junior suite I had booked for our honeymoon was perfect with a view of the glacier. The food was as good as anything I have tasted from Michelin starred establishments in the UK and that was the 'normal' (I use the term loosely) hotel restaurant. The Michelin starred Kronenstubli restaurant was not open on the days we were there (Mon and Tues).

The Spa...well, it is nothing short of superb and takes care of everything. A small but well equipped gym, treatments and the spa area itself (with steam rooms, sauna etc) was a voyage of discovery.

The manager, Mark, has a fantastic team to take care of everything and they are attentive without being intrusive. Perfect.

Two nights were not enough and we look forward to a week long break next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navylynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Having travelled throughout Switzerland with the pricey nature of accommodation for basic 2-3 star properties, this was definitely worth every penny and definitely 5 star luxury. From the minute you walk in or are picked up by the very friendly chauffer service you are treated to exceptional service. The rooms and bathrooms are in good condition and the spa facilities are wonderful. The hotel restaurants are lovely and the staff there too are very friendly and accommodating. This is truly a 5 star hotel in service and accommodation.Very memorable stay.

Room Tip: booked the most basic room and this was fine in my opinion with a good view and ability to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deesh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
666 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Address: Via Maistra 130, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: £267 - £797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Kronenhof is located in the heart of the Swiss mountain village Pontresina and has more than 165 years of history. At 1,800 meters, guests can enjoy 112 elegant rooms and suites, as well as one of the most impressive wellness facilities in the Alps, with a swimming pool with underwater music, a wide range of saunas, steam baths and spa treatments. As the only five-star superior hotel in town, it combines a great location with impressive architecture, breathtaking views and excellent cuisine. Awarded the title GaultMillau Hotel of the Year in 2009, it has three restaurants: Grand Restaurant, Kronenstubli and Pavillon. In 2016, TripAdvisor crowned the hotel as N 1 of the Swiss luxury hotels and one of the top 25 hotels with the best service worldwide. The Swiss economic magazine Bilanz categorized the hotel as a top 12 ranking of the 50 best Swiss holiday hotels. In 2016, the house was also recognized as the best spa resort in the country at the World Luxury Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing