We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

another amazing hotel.hubby really splashed the boat out this time. a former palace with history lovingly converted into hotel close to ski school.nothing better than being from piest to pool in a few short steps.Staff are amazing food spot on such a lovely place roll on next year

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    33
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
216
405
52
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Amazing hotel.Former palace expertly refurbished to make a stunning hotel. Rooms are decorated beautifully & the bathrooms are superb. Location is perfect!! The best hotel we've stayed in and will recommend it highly to friends and our travel agent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ketan99988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Great location. Quality service. Spacious comfortable suites with ... a WALK-IN WARDROBE)))
Spa and pool are wordlessly beautiful and bringing you all the spoils.
Perfect for the family holiday - the ski school is a few steps away, also there's a nice kids club, they have weekly culinary classes at the real kitchen.
Concierge service is truly one of the best ones we ever received. concierge Werner totally arranged our leisure time both times we spent our new year holiday there.
And the skating rink with its sunny terrace - one of the main reasons we keep coming back)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank IrynaKostyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel itself has been renovated and is in top shape and everyone wanting to see how top hotels in Switzerland looked in the 19th and early 20st century will be delighted.

The food provided by the hotel restaurants is outright terrible and is being sold at absolutely insane prices and comes at quantities that do not even allow tasting because they are microscopic.

I give you an example:
Mozzarella de buflonne - tiede et froide (warm and cold buffalo mozzarella), Tomato, Olives, Basil

The singular of Tomato was really taken to be serious, but it was actually only one (!) cherry tomato. This was coming along with obviously one Bocconcini (small ball of mozzarella, 30 g weight) that was cut in half, one half was warmed up, the other one was left cold. This was placed on a plate where the cook left a tiny splash of tomato sauce, as if somebody accidentally left a drop of sauce falling onto the plate. It looked very ugly and tasted like nothing. For a price of CHF 29.00 this is absolutely unacceptable.

First I thought that was some kind of greeting from the kitchen but it was the starter.

The main course did also not come up to anything near "food" with

Patate douce (deer)
Sweet Potatoes, Winter Vegetables, Glazed Chestnut, Sauce "grand veneur"

Not only where the promised ingredients missing - or not visible and taste-able because of microscopic sizes. The deer had white skins inside and a bone attached to the tiny little piece of meat. This came at a shocking price of CHF 62.

Avoid all food provided in this hotel.
Go to "Nostra Pizzeria" at Engadiner Hof if you want good food atadequate prices with fast and professional service.

I had guests invited to this dinner and this was the only reason I did not leave the table in protest after being confronted with the starter.
Regarding guests:
The restaurant is so inflexible that because of the fact that I had more than 7 guests the menu had to be pre-ordered in advance. Maybe the cook needs time to cut the Bocconcini in two half’s and keep one half cold and warm up the other one.

Breakfast was also very poor. Orange juice was re-filled without washing the containers. There was no food map available and only by looking at what other guests ordered could one understand what was available from the kitchen. Even a capuccino took more than 10 minutes and it arrived half-cold. Bündner-meat was molded. The waiters had dirty clothes. Three waiters asked the same question one after the other but nothing was coming from the kitchen for 15 minutes although the breakfast room was only occupied by 30% of full capacity.

Air condition was unacceptable. The air was "used" and we had to leave the windows open at all times (at -15 degrees centigrade at night).

All windows allows had outdoor shutters with engine, except the large bathroom window with glass shower. In order to close the curtains one had to step into the slippery bathtub.

I cannot understand how this hotel has recently being chosen as "Best Hotel of the World" at tripadvisor recently. Maybe the people who are disappointed do not like to waste more time to write reviews anymore.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Infloribus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KulmHotel, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Infloribus

We would like to thank you for having stayed at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof on the occasion of your recent business trip in the area. We are very sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations.

We are however surprised that we did not receive any hint of your dissatisfaction while you were staying with us, neither through direct contact with our staff nor via the guest comment card, handed to you prior your departure.

We have taken your comments about your experience at the Restaurant Kronenstübli, at breakfast and about the room into consideration. Feedback, either directly in the hotel or finally on an online-evaluation platform, is helpful and gives us the chance to improve our services and standards.

In light of our relentless efforts to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations, we would be pleased to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof and are convinced to be able to offer you the best possible service and product quality.


Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director, Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellerup, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Back for the second time and Kronenhof is still our favorite hotel. The rooms are very nice decorated, well equiped and very comfortable, the staff excellent and so friendly, the dinning absolutely outstanding, the spa so wonderful and luxurious and the location with beautiful view to the mountains outstanding. Once again we enjoyed everything that this hotel offers and are absolutely satisfied - we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view to the mountains (Rosseg and/or St. Moritz) and pay the price - it is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

First of all, our overall experience in the Grand Hotel Kronenhof was excellent.
We were lucky that the hotel was not full at all, which gave us the feeling of having the hotel for ourselves.
After some years in top hotels in Austria, we tried the highly appraised Kronenhof could keep up with the quality of the rooms, the food (great breakfast) and the superb spa.
The personnel though need to improve still a bit - compared to Austria. For Swiss standards, they do their job impeccable, but they sometimes lack the natural friendliness and their natural helpfulness. They do their job, are very nice, but still everything is very stiff.
The kidsclub is one of the best we have ever seen.
Keep in mind, that you need to transfer to ski.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaKe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Wonderful and charming 5 star hotel. We did stay in autumn for a long weekend.
Family super friendly and close to St Moritz but far away from its decadent jet set.
For those who love the charme of the good old grand hotels.
Wonderful staff, excellent wellness and pool and fantastic food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmbassyDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
562 reviews
3.9 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Property: Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Address: Via Maistra 130 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture, modern light-flooded rooms and suites, one of the best spas in the world and the prime location in the heart of the Swiss Alps - this unique mix exuding of the magic of a bygone era, modern comforts and stunning nature makes the Grand Hotel Kronenhof an unrivalled landmark. The Neo-Baroque building is one of the most architectonically important 19th century hotels in the Alps. After an extensive renovation in 2007 the listed historic building is celebrated as one of the best luxury and spa hotels in the world. The ambience of the rooms and suites is exclusive and comfortable where technical comfort and attention to detail leaves nothing to be desired. The views from the rooms and from the over 2000 m2 sprawling Spa provides majestical views over the glaciers of the Bernina, the charming Val Roseg as well as the surrounding pine and larch forests. In the magnificent Grand Restaurant from the year 1872, the cozy and timelessly elegant gourmet restaurant Kronenstübli or in the historic wooden pavilion offering fantastic views, the Kronenhof presents culinary variety between the classic French, traditional Italian and regional cuisine. As our guest, you can benefit from the 5 additional restaurants at the sister hotel Kulm Hotel St. Moritz and up to 8 mountain restaurants on the skiing areas of Piz Nair and Corvatsch within the Gourmet / Dine Around half board arrangement, offering the largest dining option in the Engadine. For our younger guests we offer a childrens' own restaurant, the Krönchen Kids' Club and the special V.I.K. (Very Important Kids) program, providing an exciting and versatile kids offer and many benefits for families all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing