We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is not only a hotel, it is a whole story.
Amazing beautiful views and surroundings, very elegant and refined decoration,splendid spa area, delicious, really tasty food..... but the true masterpiece of the story is the personnel , the staff is doing such a great job you could hardly expect these days in services area. They are restless in making you feel so welcome and important , no matter what is the issue.
All in all if you want a memorable escape/ski trip/vacation , you will find here the perfect place.
They really are one of the best I have seen .
Special thanks and best regards to Violetta and Davide, they made our stay more sweet and warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view over the Engadine valley, east side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rusticromania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    33
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
216
405
52
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heusden, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Kronenhof where I joined my grandfather for one week of holidays. Coming from Zurich Airport the access is very easy by train (to Chur and then to Samedan where the hotel transfer can pick you up). I absolutely enjoyed every moment of our stay.

Coming here since I am little I enjoyed much the total renovation of the Spa which is incredible now. The swimming pool with underwater music, the different hamams (normal and salt hamam), the relaxation bath, the different saunas (normal and bio sauna) were all great!

Breakfast is delicious (fresh fruit, figs, different breads, lots of cheeses, yoghurts, porridge, different kind of teas). At night we enjoyed the delicious dinners in the Grand Restaurant with the beautiful music from the pianist (we could even ask our favorite songs) and also had dinner twice at the Kronenstübli where they serve on wednesday the Tafelspitz which I would absolutely recommend. The staff in both restaurants is so kind and helpful.

The rooms are very clean and quiet. During the day I enjoyed the sun at the terrace of the Pavilion with a beautiful view on the mountains.

As a fourth generation coming to the Kronenhof, I would absolutely recommend this hotel. Food, service, ambiance, interior, spa, you will have an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 59emiliej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

As a young, same-sex couple who would not normally have the resources for such luxury, we were delighted to find that we were made to feel entirely welcome by each member of the team.

We were staying at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof for numerous special occasions: the flights to Zurich were a birthday present to my partner, our stay at the hotel was a Christmas present to him, our visit was planned to coincide with my own birthday – and I had secret plans to propose to him! We shall never forget the great experience we had, the ways in which the team worked hard to ensure perfection.

The fact that we could not speak German or Italian was not a problem; everyone spoke English very well and we were treated with courtesy, grace and good humour. In particular the Concierge went to extreme lengths for us, managing to organise the hand delivery of an engagement ring to me without giving away the secret. They drove to Pontresina station to collect a person who had flown from London with the ring, and provided him with a place to hide in the Salon Bleu while we were on our way back from skiing. They also liaised with the ski rental shop and ski school in advance of our stay, ensuring we had good equipment and an excellent instructor, Alberto, who was patient, encouraging and spoke English fluently.

The facilities were first-rate. I belong to Virgin Active Health Clubs in London, which is a desirable and well-regarded brand of fitness centres, and they use exactly the same brand of gym equipment, both weights and machines. The difference was that I had the gym area to myself each morning, and a breathtaking view of the mountains. We also had full access to the spa, which consisted of several different rooms beyond the main swimming pool (with music playing underwater!) and hot tub. There was a silent room with waterbeds and pine scent where we would always meditate after our time in the spa, enjoying the view and feeling blessed.

Dining was exquisite. The policy of formal dress for dinner in the Grand Restaurant was fitting, as the full effect of the elegant setting and discipline of service would not have been felt without that level of participation from the guests. My partner works in fashion, so he was keen to dress up (our hanging bag broke en route because we had over-packed it), but we never felt overdressed. We were offered four courses each night, in addition to a cheese selection, coffees and petits fours, and we were pleased that they catered to my "pescatarian" diet and permitted selections from the low-fat menu as part of the main meal.

Finally, we felt flattered to have the Hotel Manager welcome us on arrival and speak with us each evening, as well as on departure. The Pianist played a particular piece at dinner that we had not heard before and came to love. He played it for us on request in the main room immediately after we returned from lunch (we were still dressed in partial ski-wear!) as a newly-engaged couple.

If you ever have the opportunity to visit Pontresina from Zurich, we strongly recommend the train from Chur. Not only is it the safest way of travelling up the mountains, but the views from either side of the carriage justify the UNESCO World Heritage status. To avert the hassle of our changing trains at Samedan, the team drove us to and from Samedan station rather than Pontresina station, helped us with our luggage and provided us with bottled water.

Even though I am not used to treating us to five-star hotels, I believe the level of service we received actually made the visit excellent value. Sleep Quality has been marked "Very Good" because the room was slightly too hot on the first night – but as soon as we mentioned it, as we could not find a thermostat, they changed it for us and we slept extremely well thereafter. Besides that tiny, momentary confusion, I don't know how the holiday could have been any better!

Room Tip: Our Junior Suite Comfort was on the south side, with plenty of floorspace, stunning views of the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Moritz
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A visit to the Spa, followed by dinner at the Kronenstübli was a real treat ! The moon shine Spa experience is just unbelievable with an unique alpine scenery you will not find anywhere else. Food - homard à la presse, service and ambiance was fabulous. For sure we will be back soon !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 944RobertK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

There is not a common definition of luxury but visiting this hotel we had a pretty close idea. Excellent service and location. The spa is one of the best we ever had for an after sky recovery. There will REALLY be a 'before and after ' in terms of our personal hotel and spa rating. The hotel had an increadible expertise in the high services standards. It is one of the best deluxe hotels can exist if you are looking to a relaxing and luxury stay without the "noise" of Saint Moritz; because privacy and discretion is the essence of luxury you should try this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonh_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

another amazing hotel.hubby really splashed the boat out this time. a former palace with history lovingly converted into hotel close to ski school.nothing better than being from piest to pool in a few short steps.Staff are amazing food spot on such a lovely place roll on next year

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Amazing hotel.Former palace expertly refurbished to make a stunning hotel. Rooms are decorated beautifully & the bathrooms are superb. Location is perfect!! The best hotel we've stayed in and will recommend it highly to friends and our travel agent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ketan99988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
562 reviews
3.9 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Property: Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Address: Via Maistra 130 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture, modern light-flooded rooms and suites, one of the best spas in the world and the prime location in the heart of the Swiss Alps - this unique mix exuding of the magic of a bygone era, modern comforts and stunning nature makes the Grand Hotel Kronenhof an unrivalled landmark. The Neo-Baroque building is one of the most architectonically important 19th century hotels in the Alps. After an extensive renovation in 2007 the listed historic building is celebrated as one of the best luxury and spa hotels in the world. The ambience of the rooms and suites is exclusive and comfortable where technical comfort and attention to detail leaves nothing to be desired. The views from the rooms and from the over 2000 m2 sprawling Spa provides majestical views over the glaciers of the Bernina, the charming Val Roseg as well as the surrounding pine and larch forests. In the magnificent Grand Restaurant from the year 1872, the cozy and timelessly elegant gourmet restaurant Kronenstübli or in the historic wooden pavilion offering fantastic views, the Kronenhof presents culinary variety between the classic French, traditional Italian and regional cuisine. As our guest, you can benefit from the 5 additional restaurants at the sister hotel Kulm Hotel St. Moritz and up to 8 mountain restaurants on the skiing areas of Piz Nair and Corvatsch within the Gourmet / Dine Around half board arrangement, offering the largest dining option in the Engadine. For our younger guests we offer a childrens' own restaurant, the Krönchen Kids' Club and the special V.I.K. (Very Important Kids) program, providing an exciting and versatile kids offer and many benefits for families all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing