We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience in the Engadin.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
minneapolis, mn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Experience in the Engadin.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Heaven on earth meets a high luxury and quality hotel experience. I came here with my Swiss family as a little girl and returned 40 years later with my new husband. What a dream it was to see the 'kings crown' on the top of the hotel again. From the personalized attention and care, to superior spa, to exquisite food and drinks in the grand dining room. The history matches the care you will experience here. Undoubtedly my husband will never forget the personalized farewell at our car by the General Manger when we left to return back to Zurich. Honestly, this was worth every moment. A dream to remember forever! Thank you Grand Kronenhof for your staff and care.

Room Tip: The junior suite offered a room with a view beyond belief. The balcony looked out to the Val Roseg a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Blattner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    33
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
213
399
52
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were busy while there. Be sure and go up to Muottas Muragl while there for some of the best views in Switzerland. The food and service are excellent here and the lobby, bar and reading room, etc were always empty and all yours to enjoy. There is even a pool table room, pool, ping pong and a bowling alley though the person who took us to our room seemed new and did not tell us much about the hotel. Stunning dining room and great wine list too though none of it is cheap, it is Swizerland after all. This is THE place to stay in the area if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Views vary significantly so ask about that if you care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I feel I have to add to the other glorious appraisals of this wonderful hotel,in this ever fast flowing world we live in it is truly wonderful to step off the tread mill and appreciate the ambiance of this hotel and it's staff who help you all the way with professional eticate from the time when you book to the time you depart,your expectations are met and beyond.We came with our daughter and son- in- law and dog Barney who was made very welcome as were the other dogs there and he was looked after by Janine whilst we had dinner a real bonus.
To put it simply it is just perfection,and we will be back(what better recommendation).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
253 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We recently returned from a hiking tour through Switzerland and the Grand Hotel Kronenhof is in our top 3 hotel experiences in all of our travels! The service was incredible, our room was large, beautiful and functionally perfect-the best hotel room I have ever experienced. The restaurant was gorgeous with impeccable service, true professionals. The breakfast buffet was a feast for the eyes with everything from shrimp, smoked salmon, beautiful bread selection, eggs cooked to order to cereal to delicious fruits, including an entire honey comb for tea. The spa is luxurious, the pool area stunning and make certain to check out the billiards and ping pong room, and don't forget to check out the bowling alley, yes, a bowling alley! The hotel is rich in history, beautiful flower arrangements sprinkled throughout the artifacts. Staff highly professional. Pontresina is now on my radar and I cannot wait to go back and enjoy this incredible gem in a quaint and lovely city.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room in the renovated wing, but see if you can get a renovated room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetohike1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have just returned from the Kronenhof, following our third stay in as many years. This hotel is by far one of the very best in the world: from the service (whether it be in the hotel, the outstanding spa or the excellent restaurant), to the atmosphere, the whole experience is 5 star. The building and gardens are stunning, and have been renovated sympathetically, the original decor complemented by the (discreet) addition of modern conviniences. The 'Wellness' Spa delivers just that, and the facilities are outstanding. The rooms are pristine, and everything one can think of is provided. Breakfast and dinner in the grand restaurant are divine, and all the staff are just fantasic. The surrounding area (the Val Bernina and the Engadin) is a playground for walkers of all abilities, with the climate and unique landscape home to a wide variety of flora and fauna. And that's not to mention the idyllic Unesco World Heritage train ride up to Pontresina ... breathtaking! Our advice, go (your only regret will be having to leave at the end of your stay)!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HC2009London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed at in the world. The atmosphere and ambience. The beautiful views. The fantastic facilities. The beautiful grand restaurant and the food it serves. Also which I have to mention is the outstanding staff and service.

I was not booked in for dinner that evening at the restaurant Kronenstübli, which was my fault as I had not told the staff. When I asked them quite late in the evening they had called and told me it was booked out.

The staff had offered me a jacket and no extra charge to eat at the grand restaurant from my half board inclusion. This restaurant was an amazing experience and that evening there was an unbelievable good dessert buffet on offer.

Also I have to mention is the outstanding Pool / Sauna / Relaxation Area. It had given me a recharge after a long drive in to Pontresina through the amazing Mountain passes nearby from Zurich.

I am not surprised that the hotel won the award for the best hotel in the world on TripAdvisor for 2014.

I will definitely be back again soon.

Thanks for the pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KBMush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cademario, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Being a young couple who likes to enjoy fine, tasty and cozy style of life, this was definitely the perfect way of relaxing To start with an amazing view, elegant rooms and neverending storical building. A wellness area full of surprises and perfect decorated, it was worth a trip back to the Engadin. I can only reccomend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
2.9 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#5 of 21 in Pontresina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Property: Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Address: Via Maistra 130 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture, modern light-flooded rooms and suites, one of the best spas in the world and the prime location in the heart of the Swiss Alps - this unique mix exuding of the magic of a bygone era, modern comforts and stunning nature makes the Grand Hotel Kronenhof an unrivalled landmark. The Neo-Baroque building is one of the most architectonically important 19th century hotels in the Alps. After an extensive renovation in 2007 the listed historic building is celebrated as one of the best luxury and spa hotels in the world. The ambience of the rooms and suites is exclusive and comfortable where technical comfort and attention to detail leaves nothing to be desired. The views from the rooms and from the over 2000 m2 sprawling Spa provides majestical views over the glaciers of the Bernina, the charming Val Roseg as well as the surrounding pine and larch forests. In the magnificent Grand Restaurant from the year 1872, the cozy and timelessly elegant gourmet restaurant Kronenstübli or in the historic wooden pavilion offering fantastic views, the Kronenhof presents culinary variety between the classic French, traditional Italian and regional cuisine. As our guest, you can benefit from the 5 additional restaurants at the sister hotel Kulm Hotel St. Moritz and up to 8 mountain restaurants on the skiing areas of Piz Nair and Corvatsch within the Gourmet / Dine Around half board arrangement, offering the largest dining option in the Engadine. For our younger guests we offer a childrens' own restaurant, the Krönchen Kids' Club and the special V.I.K. (Very Important Kids) program, providing an exciting and versatile kids offer and many benefits for families all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing