We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel in remote nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roseg Gletscher
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned from a great stay at this place.
This hotel is located in a natural paradise, called Roseg valley. The only way to come there is by walk from Pontresina (about 2 hours) or with a horse pullet coach. The hotel also have a pick-up service with their small van, but the walk or horse alternative is definitely a better experiance. As you can see, this valley is free of any car and motor bikes. The hotel is the only one in the valley and gives an impressive view on the glacier mountains.
Rooms are traditionally decorated with good smelling wood furnitures and beds including soft pillows. During day time the hotel has a self service restaurant, but also the sunny terrace where friendly waitresses and waiters take care on you. At night the dinner includes great local specialities of high quality.
The location of this hotel invites you to have great hicking options into the mountains with large glaciers and unique sourroundings.
Overall, the hotel is a bid expensive, but knowing this unique location it compensates finally and makes the prices understandable.
A real unique place in the Swiss mountains where nature is in its origin condition.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_HongKong_xpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Does anyone work here? Where were they during my stay? The reception is empty, and the service was focused on day trade hikers and bikers. Dinner was tasty but overpriced by even Engadin standards. Staff (Polish? Czech?) were again absent for long periods...

The dessert bar is among the best I've had anywhere, but NO SELF SERVICE signs are posted everywhere. Why are guests required to point like a child for the waiter to spoon contents onto a plate? That felt very silly. Several guests I chatted with also found this bizarre...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulBBoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

There are places in the world one must go and this is it: Roseg Gletcher, just outside Pontresina, Switzerland. One of the best hotels in Switzerland is there: the food is superb, the deserts are famous, the people are wonderful and the cross country skiing is the best I know. The sparking clean accomodations are on the simple side. But one is not there for the rooms: one is there for the hiking and for the cross country skiing, the glacier viewing and the peace of mind of no cars. You can walk to it for lunch (either snow walk or just plain hiking in the summer); or you can walk from the hotel to the glacier, to the refuges up there( summer). Or you can just sit in the resturant, look out the window and dream about climbing. I was there by myself for 4 days in Feb 2013 , and the place never stoped to amaze me. I will be back in the summer with my friends to hike the area.How wonderful this place exists!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbsilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Unforgettable experience. Very nice place, excellent food and superb service. We arrived saturday afternoon and stayed one night in the dormitory. Dinner and breakfast were both very good. The owners are there taking care of your needs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Very nice in the snow, restaurant had good service, and a desert buffet to die for, you could certainly add a few kilos here been here in the summer, but the snow adds a bit of magic well worth the walk, 2 hours but a sleigh ride back

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubaboy-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We - 2 couples - spent 2 nights at the Hotel Roseg Gletscher in Mid-December 2012. The location is beautiful and quiet - far up the valley, away from the tourist masses. You reach the hotel by horse-drawn cart, or sled in winter, which takes about 30 minutes. The route takes you from Pontresina up the Roseg valley, along a mountain river and through a pristine forest.

The staff were friendly and eager to help, and made us feel very welcome. The restaurant is decorated in a hunting theme, which might not be to everyone's taste, but it fits, because they specialise in fine venison dishes. The food was excellent - a good selection and delicious. The restaurant offers direct views of the winter feeding station, which brings the roe and red deer down in the evenings, as well as attracting large numbers of birds.

The rooms are pretty basic, in a slightly dated alpine style, but they were very clean and comfortable enough. I can see where the critisism of bad soundproofing comes from, but we didn't have a problem with it, so I'm not deducting a point. The isolated location means there is absolutely no traffic or other noise from outside at night, which redresses the balance.

Our stay was by no means cheap, but in my opinion the location and the quality of the service and food justify the price. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The setting for this hotel is magnificent. Staying there shortens the distance to wonderful hiking without the need of a funicular. The restaurant is quite good as well--an exception to the rule, the better the view, the worse the food. (Only concern: light bulbs could be a bit brighter.)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 102Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
5 mi away
Berghaus Diavolezza
Berghaus Diavolezza
#14 of 21 in Pontresina
120 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#10 of 21 in Pontresina
134 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#15 of 21 in Pontresina
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
247 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
4.2 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roseg Gletscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roseg Gletscher

Address: Val Roseg | 7504, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pontresina
#2 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#6 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: £72 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Roseg Gletscher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roseggletscher Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing