We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking trip - great location”
Review of Hotel Bernina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bernina
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Reviewed 10 February 2008

I was 1 of 3 ladies that flew overnight across the atlantic to Zurich. We hoped on the train to Pontresina and the hotel met our train and drove is the 5 mins (totally up hill though) to the hotel.

We chose to take 3 single rooms that each had an ensuite bathroom with breakfast included. Huge selection of food for breakfast that I would say is typical for Switzerland (rolls, breads, cereals, cheeses, fruit, crackers, cold meats, porriage, coffee & juice).

The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and roomy for one person. Nice view with and there weren't any noise issues.

What I think that stands out is the service that we experienced. It was exceptional and was warmly received since we were tired from the travel over.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank worldview08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2007

John and I stayed at this hotel in Pontresina the nights of June 23 and June 24. We are happy that we did. The hotel offered exactly what we looked for. The room, the internet service (free) and breakfast are perfect. We really appreciate the pick up and drop off at the train station. It is a up-hill 20 minutes walk from the station and would be okay if we did not have our 22 days. The hotel is only 30 minutes from St. Moritz and connected by bus/train. It is also a stop for the Bernina Express train. We bought the tickets through the hotel and there was no sur-charge.

The hotel team went extra miles in terms of service. We would like to especially thank Gianni. He was friendly and very pleasant. We took his advice to check out the Jodlerfest in St. Moritz. We had a fantastic time enjoying the Swiss musicians and food, and amazed by the costumes.

We would have not enjoyed Switzerland as much if we did not take a hike in the Swiss Alps. The hotel manager, Mr, Schmit recommend us for a 2 hours trail walk which ended at Alps Languard. The hike gave us a true Swiss experience - we totally immersed in the beauty of Switzerland and enjoyed every minute of the trail. Cow bells and church bells have never sounded so good anywhere else. The imaginery of Sounds of Music was so vivid.

We will for sure use this hotel again and will not hesitate in recommendating your hotel to our friends and family.

Caroline and John Bernacki

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mandy104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2006

This was an excellent choice for us and the nicest room we had in our two weeks in Switzerland. The hotel is also associated with a group of some of the really fine hotels in Europe. Our room had a stunning view, was quiet and centrally located. The restaurant was excellent for dinner and the breakfast selection outstanding. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel van took us to the train station when we were departing.
Overall, this was a fine experience and an excellent value!

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank WHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sirio774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gianfranco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soistdasleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: モルテラッチ方面の山が見える3階以上の部屋
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank のだちん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#12 of 21 in Pontresina
157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#8 of 21 in Pontresina
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bernina 1865
Hotel Bernina 1865
#2 of 5 in Samedan
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sporthotel Pontresina
Sporthotel Pontresina
#16 of 21 in Pontresina
121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Chesa Mulin
Hotel Garni Chesa Mulin
#9 of 21 in Pontresina
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina

Address: Via Maistra, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: £137 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bernina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernina Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing