We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Mueller

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mueller
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This is a wonderful boutique hotel located on the main street in Pontresina. The attached restaurant is excellent. Breakfast was excellent, The staff of the hotel is superb, Konrad Mesner, the general manager in particular is heads and shoulders above anyone I have encountered in my travels. Providing a quality experience for his guests is his mission and he delivers admirably. The hotel has a shuttle that will pick up/deliver to the train station. They also shuttled us to the train station for one of our day trips. There is excellent bus service and the train is a short walk from the hotel. The hotel staff gave us excellent dinner suggestions for meals in other establishments, both of which were spot on..Be sure and get the complimentary transportation card from the hotel. It gets you free travel on the buses, trains and lifts in the area. The card alone was worth $200 a person in travel savings during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtahTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
55
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Beautiful, chic hotel in a beautiful town. We stayed in the Ca Rossa apartments across the street from the main hotel and could not have been happier. Every detail in this redo of a 300 year old building was perfect. The sauna off the private lounge was perfect for a chilly evening. We chose just one night in order to break up the Bernina Express but we should have made it a destination spot and stayed longer. The staff was efficient, friendly and discreet. Breakfast was lovely. Loved the choices of tea and local honey. Only one issue, if you're over 5'6" tall you must remember to duck when entering the bedrooms, the headers are low.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My wife, adult daughter and I spent three wonderful nights at the Hotel Mueller in delightful Pontresina and the Engadine Valley -- it was the highlight of a two week trip. The picture on TripAdvisor is not accurate. This is a very stylish boutique hotel on the main street of Pontresina. We stayed in a two bedroom suite (Room 16), which had a separate large living room and terrace. The bedding was excellent and the bathroom a two room affair - separate toilet down the hall, which was odd. The decor was minimalist white walls and native pine floors and furnishings -- all quite restful. The breakfast was also excellent -- nice spread, with the best honeys and muesli I have ever tasted. The staff and owner are delightful. Not cheap (especially with the weak dollar) but worth the splurge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Other reviewers are right - very stylishly decorated and comfortable rooms and public areas. Great sundeck and lounge area. We did half-pension and the dinner was the best on the two-week trip. Delicious mushroom sauce and great salad buffet.

Another bonus was mountain bikes to borrow for free for awesome ride up the valley to the glacier.

Only down side: could not figure out how to get the hot tub warm and it could get a little loud on the street directly outside the rooms.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsonweekends71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

5-stars boutique B&B - Thi:
- located on the main road of Pontresina downtown.
- adequate free parking space behind the hotel
- nice traditional but still contemporary decoration and furniture
- 2 excellent restaurants where advance booking is a must for dinner during high season
- Breakfast is delicious (good quality and vast choice) and you can make your own freshly squeezed orange or apple juice...
- great relaxing room (although ours was a fairly small one - we will ask for a bigger one next time - price is the same)
- great shower and amenities
- great and understanding management: we were suppose to stay for 4 days / 3 nights, but due to the bad weather forecast for the last day, we left Pontresina one day earlier and the manager of the hotel did not even charge us for the last night as he said the hotel is not full and there is no reason for him to charge us. What a great behavior ! We will definitely go back !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_In_Taipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Mountain lodge in the magnificent Engadine.
The hotel is in a modern style and discreet, encouraging the simple lines and environmentally sound.
The rooms are equipped with every comfort, clean, quiet and with equipment Bang & Olufsen TV. Excellent breakfast and restaurant offers Italian, Austrian and Engadine specialties. The property also has a lounge, ideal for cocktails and informal meetings. An oasis of relaxation in the small SPA.
The staff is extremely kind and friendly, ready to satisfy every need.

Ideal for a romantic time and in tune with nature.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigrotto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2006

First of all, ignore the "Hotel Photos" at the top of this page. The hotel looks nothing like this now. Take a look at the hotel's own web site to see what it looks like now.

As stated in the previous review, the hotel has been refurbished recently, apparently in its entirety. All of the walls in the hotel are white, including common areas (with the exception of one of the restaurants). Soft furnishings in the bedrooms are white too and the whole place looks spotless, yet without seeming clinical. The beds are large and comfortable and the bathrooms are of high quality (we had a standard room. I assume the rest are as good or better).
A nice touch was the corridors, which were dimly lit until motion sensors turned the main lights on.
Breakfast was very good, with a generous selection.
There are two restaurants in the hotel, both of which serve the same food. One of the two is decorated in the same style as the rest of the hotel, while the other appears more traditional. Dinner was excellent. The food was mostly Italian, but veered towards game etc. which you would expect in Switzerland, particularly in September. No bad thing.
There is a terrace to the side of the hotel where you can look right up one of the valleys whilst drinking surprisingly reasonably priced drinks.

We only stayed there for a night, but I'd happily stay here for a week or more.

  • Liked — Simple, yet stylish and very comfortable. And the food.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat in the restaurant.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonym0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#6 of 21 in Pontresina
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 21 in Pontresina
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#11 of 21 in Pontresina
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Chesa Mulin
Hotel Garni Chesa Mulin
#9 of 21 in Pontresina
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mueller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mueller

Property: Hotel Mueller
Address: Via Maistra 202, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#9 Family Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mueller 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mueller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muller Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing