We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Modern Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Allegra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Allegra
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very Modern Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in one of the larger sized double rooms for four days. It has huge scenic windows looking over the Alp Langard. Very modern rooms, comfortably and stylishly decorated. Front desk was very helpful and provided heaps of information about summer hiking. Breakfasts were great. Hotel Allegra is ideally based to visit all the attractions in the Bernina and Engadin Valleys. It is also centrally located in Pontresina near a reasonable range of restaurants. Pontresina is a very pleasant alternative to St Moritz. Part of the hotel package included free use of all public transport in the area, which included most of the stunning cable car trips. Swiss hotels and restaurants are pretty pricey compared with similar in Italy, so we made the most of the Engadin Card and enjoyed the stunning mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DG_Sydney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    24
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
104
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights in June. Everything was perfect - a warm welcome, large comfortable room with lovely views, superb breakfast with fresh scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, good choice of tea and good coffee. Everything done with a smile. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 207 had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comments-JBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's sad that we only spent a night at the hotel because we didn't want to leave! Regina, the GM of the hotel, and her staff are all very friendly and welcoming. We had a corner room with gorgeous view of the town and mountain, absolutely pretty! The breakfast was good, didn't have a chance to visit the spa though. Thanks Regina for her restaurant recommendation, we had one of the best meals in our trip! The Swiss restaurant is near the Post office, within 2 min walk from the hotel. If I ever visit Switz again, I'll definitely come back to this beautiful town and hotel!

Room Tip: Go for the corner room, view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby11f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here. The room was clean and somewhat quiet - we had a street side room which had some car and pedestrian noise. Bathroom is nice once you figure out how to handle the shower so it does not spray all over the floor (bathroom floor is warmed - this is a nice feature). Front desk was sometimes helpful and sometimes not - depending on the person. There is a card for the train/gondola in the area that was good but you have to put down a 20 fr deposit - wireless was 1 fr for 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We loved the people, the location, the views from our windows, the room, the sparkling clean bathroom of white and great tub, the spa next door, the breakfast, all their amenities, but most of all we loved the people that work there and take such good care of you and your every need. Hotel Allegra should be a 5 star listing. Truly one of our absolute best experiences in a hotel ever. And we've stayed at a lot of hotels in our travels. The Manager there, Regina, greeted us when we first arrived and was there everyday with her warm smile and helped us with every request or question we had. I wish I could have brought her home with me, truly a wonderful lady. Thank you Hotel Allegra - I hope we will be back someday soon. Such a treat at such a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night 2 years ago and had such a good experience that we decided to come back for a full week. We were not disappointed! This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are new (I think this hotel was only recently built within the last few years), quiet, clean, and have great views. The breakfast buffet is excellent with a large variety of foods--breads, meats, eggs, cheeses, cereals, fruits, etc.

The hotel is centrally located within the town--close to many fine restaurants and close to two train stations (use the Pontresina station when you first arrive, but consider using the Surovas station thereafter). There is a wealth of hiking paths that are easily accessible from the hotel as well. For us, the local hiking was the main draw for going to the Oberengadin and despite spending 5-8 hrs per day hiking, we came no where close to seeing everything.

Finally, we would add that the hotel staff is very kind and helpful. We thank them all for all of their time and hospitality!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBunny02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Location: 7 or 8 minutes from the small, cozy train station. A driver picked me up later than expected due to busyness, which was not exactly a disappointment though.

Staff: A gentleman named Jan Melchior is truly friendly and informative. He recommended a few activities for me to choose from (the next day I tried the Bob Run which was absolutely unforgettable: 11 minutes of paragliding in the air and landing at the surface of Lake St. Moritz. Snowboarders and skiers were all below your feet, leaving a wonderful visual impression in your mind for long). I got many valuable points of information from Jan, and this enriched my subsequent travel a lot. Thanks a bunch, Jan!!!

Room: Very clean and well-maintained. The bathroom is in a decent size, with a plastic chair in the middle for you to put clothes on while bathing. A soft touch. The faucet in the wash basin is the VERY BEST design I ever tried so far. Cannot explain why. When you wash hands under that faucet, you just feel everything is right with the design of it. Love that faucet!!!

Sleep quality: I am a rather sensitive sleeper. Thus required a corner room on the top floor. Turned out to be the RIGHT choice. Very quiet in the night. A GREAT view through big window panes in the walls on two sides of the room.

Breakfast: What a blessing it is to have breakfast in this beautiful canteen!!! Every morning at 7:00 am or so, your eyes savor a dream-like picture of sunlight when you walk into the canteen. A very soul-inspiring mixture of timber and upholstery. I just love the visual presentation of this small but pretty canteen. The breakfast itself is just convincingly good, with a rich variety of foodstuffs on offer.

If I re-visit Pontresina, I will definitely stay again here.

Room Tip: Corner room on the top floor. Great VIEW!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#13 of 21 in Pontresina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#6 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albris
Hotel Albris
#5 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#8 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegra

Property: Hotel Allegra
Address: Via Maistra 171 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#3 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allegra 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das unkomplizierte & herzliche 3***Hotel ALLEGRA wurde im Juli 2000 eroffnet und liegt zentral in Pontresina. 54 Grosszugige und moderne Doppelzimmer mit 24m2 zum Rosegtal, Zimmer mit 21m2 + 30m2 zur Bergseite Languard, Familienzimmer und Familieneinheiten. Eingerichtet mit Sitzecke, Sat-TV mit Radio/Wecker, Wlan-Zugang, Safe, Badezimmer mit Wanne/Duschmoglichkeit, Fohn. 4 Zimmer sind speziell fur Gaste mit Gehbehinderungen und Rollstuhlfahrer. Ein grosszugiges Fruhstucksbuffet mit regionaler Produktevielfalt ladt ein zum Genuss nach Herzenslust, ganztagig geoffnete Hotelbar & Lounge, ein direkter Bademantel-Zugang zur Pontresiner Badelandschaft & Spa Bellavita sowie Skiraum, Schuhraum, Shuttle-Service, Parkplatze, Garage runden das attraktive Angebot ab. Specials: Ab 2 Ubernachtungen: im Sommer OV (Zug & Bus im Oberengadin) sowie freie Benutzung aller Bergbahnen inbegriffen, im Winter OV inklusive und Skipass CHF 35.00 Pro Tag. Fragen Sie nach Pauschalangeboten ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Allegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing