We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a family stay”
Review of Hotel Albris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albris
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spending four nights in August with children and grandchildren, my wife and I had the greatest time. The hotel is clean, offers great food at reasonable prices, and enriches everything with its unique bakery. The staff had been extremely helpful at all times. We will go back some day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Albris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Our stay at the Albris was excellent value, particularly so in an expensive area in an expensive country. We opted for half board and all the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. A free taxi was provided from and to the station. Most staff spoke good English - very helpful in a Swiss-German speaking region where there seem to be very few UK visitors, at least in summer. Our room was comfortable and overlooked the side terrace was on the first floor and seemed to get rather warm at night , which meant the window had to be wide open which in turn made it a bit noisy early morning due to traffic. No doubt a room at the rear would be quieter. The lounge is quite small but adequate if you plan to be out most of the time. Pontresina is a good base to explore the area will good bus and train links. Free travel cards were provided by the hotel on our stay which included local funiculars.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roamer702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Albris in June this year. We booked one of the 'best' rooms which was at the back of the hotel with a small balcony looking out over the river and toward the mountains. The room facilities were good with small touches like a plate of treats from the onsite bakery on our arrival. The hotel is at the top end of the main street however we found the position perfect. It is very close to the grocery store, the bus to St Moritz leaves from outside the door and if you can master the art of the 'stop on request' on the trains, the station of Surovas is five minutes away. The whole town is small and it is an easy walk from one end to the other especially in the warmer months. The hotel is part of the summer program which offers free trips on all transportation including cable cars and mountain railways, this was a huge bonus.The restaurant is expensive like most in the town but the food was good if not the best we had while we were there. The bakery is lovely with lots of yummy treats you can buy and eat with a coffee on their sundeck. The staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly those in reception. I can highly reccommend a stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the back have a mountain view. The photos don't really show this. For us Austra...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jools315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Hotel Albris in late June using it as a base for a walking holiday. The Alpine flowers were wonderful! The hotel is well placed to access the public transport system-
the bus stop within 50m of the front door. Rooms were comfortable and very clean.The real joy was the food. A Breakfast buffet that had both variety and quantity that would easily pass muster in a higher rated hotel.However it was the half-board dinners that were outstanding. A choice of fish or meat-with a constantly changing menu. The quality of the cooking was excellent. Given the modest incremental cost,half-board at the Albris is one of Switzerland's few remaining bargains.The on-site bakers shop provides high quality treats to have with afternoon coffee.We shall certainly be staying there in future.

Room Tip: The lower floors have balconies overlooking the fiver and mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris47_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Returning after two years the hotel was a joy. Breakfast buffet that you don't find in many 5 star places. Staying in the hotel of the famous Kochendoerfer's bakery is really wonderful. Friendly staff and a lovely restaurant sensibly sized evening meals, a good wine list and really great service. An evening in the a la carte restaurant, open to the public too is a really wonderful food experience. Again excellent service. Cannot say enough for the whole experience. We felt rested from the moment we were met at the railway station. Such a friendly and thoughtful place.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great but if you don't want the roar of the local river request a room on the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcountrypro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in the hotel Albris for 2 nights in a standard room. The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, both at the reception and breakfast/ restaurant area. We were welcomed in the room with a bottle of sparkling water and some delicious cookies made in their bakery. And when we left, we received a fresh baked bread, also from their bakery.

Our room was clean, two single beds put together as a double bed and the bathroom with shower looked new and modern. The small flat screen TV was sufficient for our needs to get updated on news and weather. There is also a small safe in the room.

Breakfast is excellent with a large selection of breads, probably freshly made in their bakery, cheese, ham, different jams and honey. There are also different homemade yoghurts and breakfast cereals to choose from. And there is an appliance where guests can prepare their own fresh pressed orange juice by the push of a button. A nice touch was their "Morning Post" on the breakfast table, a one-pager with information on weather forecast for the next 3 days, things to do, introduction to hotel staff, citation of the day and a Sudoku puzzle.

The hotel also has a Sauna and relaxing area (both indoor and outdoor). We did not use it but someone in our group did and enjoyed it a lot.

Since we were invited, I can not comment on price/value, but it must be better priced than some of the 4-star hotels. And the hotel Albris is in a great location and with the plentiful breakfast I think it's a great deal to stay as a base for some wonderful hiking trips.

Some tips:
- The hotel price includes a pass to use public transport of the area (bus, train, cable cars etc to go up the mountains).
- The hotel has a number of bikes that can be rented for free.
- A nice and quite easy panoramic hike: Take the bus (station just on opposite side of hotel) to Punt Muragl (< 10 min) to go up to Muottas Muragl and hike 2 3/4 hours to Alp Languard. It's a relatively flat hike with views to St. Moritz, the Bernina mountain and other surrounding mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very nice family-owned hotel. The location is very good, near to the bus station and the center of Pontresina. The service provided by the family Kochendorfer and the staff is excellent. We enjoyed the quality of the breakfast (all types of fresh bread from the family-bakery in the hotel) and the dinners (we had half-board). We liked the wellness.

Room Tip: The room with balcony situated on the south side was excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyriE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#8 of 21 in Pontresina
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#5 of 21 in Pontresina
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#6 of 21 in Pontresina
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albris

Address: Via Maistra 228, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Price Range: £161 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Pontresina hospitality in an unspoilt setting: the Hotel Albris is in the heart of the wonderful alpine world of the Upper Engadin. Its non-smoking rooms are all clad with pine and are really cosy. To help guests feel even better after an exciting day, there is a wellness complex for them to use. Excellent cooking and the hotel's own bread and cake shop will make the hearts of true connoisseurs beat faster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Albris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing