We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines at Belle Epoque” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Saratz

Hotel Restaurant Saratz
Ranked #21 of 33 Restaurants in Pontresina
Cuisines: European, Italian, Swiss, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Zürich
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Valentines at Belle Epoque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

My original plan was not for Valentines Day dinner but to dine there with my brother who was staying with us for the week during his school holidays. But after much back and forth, where I had to email the hotel 4 times to amend my booking, there was not one single flaw in their service.
So in the end, my brother, hubby and I went there for Valentines Day dinner.
It was lovely, the tables are large and well spaced to provide each dining party sufficient privacy. We were seated at a secluded corner table by the window, the view would have been really pretty but the window was reflecting the light from the inside.
Nevertheless, the staff even took the effort to put some red roses and scatter red rose petals on every table.

The food was very delicious and extremely flavoured. Very creative dishes and set up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foreignasigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
418 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have had the pleasure of dining in the La Belle Epoque restaurant in the Saratz hotel again in October. We had made an online reservation through the website, however no confirmation. I called the hotel to make a new reservation. Upon arrival, our initial reservation was received. Would recommend the hotel to send a confirmation email when an online booking is made.
That being said, it was another great experience. The dining room is very elegant, tables are set lovely. Service is personal (we were recognized from a visit in January) and excellent. Food is presented beautifully and is very tasty. I recommend this restaurant highly.
A recommendation to the hotel: lighting in the hotel garden would make the view even better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stalex24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Moritz
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sit on the deck for drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We enjoy coming here on summer afternoons to sit on the lovely sunny deck adjacent to the restaurant. It has absolutely magnificent viewsof the Rosegg valley, forests and mountains. The service is very friendly and the menu and food are great. The coffee is excellent and the Balnot ice cream is really something delicious to try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dining in style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Large dining room full of character. Tables a little close together was not good. Loved the veal. Children are welcome.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary34108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
418 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Fine dining in superb dining room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We were at this excellent restaurant to celebrate a 60th birthday. We survived the ride through the snow blizzard to the quiet restaurant. Although we are longtime and enthusiastic St. Moritz fans, we had never been to the Saratz. We were warmly welcomed at the recption and taken to the restaurant. The champagne suggestion was delicious, the greet from the kitchen, too. The menu may be considered compact, but the choice is excellent and therefor difficult. Wine suggestions by the maître d' were excellent. The Swiss sauvignon blanc was one of the best ever! Service was friendly, meals were delicious. The friandises with the coffee were presented in a lovely way. La Belle Epoque has certainly deserved its high ranking on our 'All time favorites'.
A polite suggestion to the hotel: a screen between the restaurant and staircase will improve the restaurants atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Stalex24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Saratz also viewed

Pontresina, Engadin St. Moritz
Pontresina, Engadin St. Moritz
 
Pontresina, Engadin St. Moritz
Pontresina, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Saratz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing