We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain retreat”
Review of Pensiun Chesa Pool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensiun Chesa Pool
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Visited Chesa Pool in March for the Engadin Ski Marathon. It is situated in a mountain valley, a steep climb from Sils Maria, the closest village. The hotel itself is nothing special, a simple relatively new house. The rooms are quite dark because of the roof, but views to the end of the valley are great. When I was there, we had over 2 m snow, so the terrace was completely snowed in (but protected from the wind!). The hotel has excellent breakfasts (fresh fruits, cheese, meat, fantastic bread, Swiss muesli of various sorts, many choices of tea etc) and great dinners (three courses, takes about two hours). The service is excellent and very friendly. You feel yourself really welcome. Arrangements for the ski marathon (early breakfast and transport) were made without needing to ask. I spent there four days mainly skiing leisurely before taking part in the Marathon. It is possible to ski to the village (or walk) but coming up is not so easy. The Fex valley is car free, so the only transport is the hotel van (or expensive horse cart).Transportation is three times a day (otherwise a charge). If you come by car, there is a parking garage where you can leave it (take the long term card, then you can drive in and out, the fee is about 12 e/day) The main language is German but they speak good English, and Italian (the staff is Swiss-Italian). If you want action, this is not the place, but if you want calm and pure nature and physical activities (walking, skiing), then it is for you! And the price is reasonable, about 150/day with full pension. I will definitely come back in the summer for mountain hiking!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jippu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I spent two sunny days in Fextal. Chesa Pool was recommended to me. I generally liked it, but the rooms under the roof are generally very dark. I think I would not want to be there in winter. The staff appeared directionless and borderline overwhelmed which led to defensiveness. Food was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kstaerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel located in Fextal above Sils Maria is a wonderful place to stay if you enjoy to be in a quite environment (valley is traffic free) from which to make hikes and to enjoy an excellent meal in the evening.
We stayed here for the 2nd time and our stay was again perfect. A warm welcome, helpful staff, nice rooms and a dinner that each time was a delight.

Room Tip: The rooms with view on Fextal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDG1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

the location is wonderful, car free.pure nature.
but unfortunately the management is not up to malke you feel welcomed.
there where several "misunderstandings",some of them just over the top.
I think it is a no-no to treat guests that way.implying things and the not really apologicing.
also there was a lot of tention in the air, something disconforting.
I did not feel that I was taken seriosly as a guest.the price is high.
the berakfast buffet great with lots of local produces.
the single rooms small, dark and somehow a bit claustriophobic.I did find it over rated.
I would not stay there again, despite the great location.

Room Tip: the single rooms are small and not nice, the price for them too high. doubles in the anex are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mafaldaanahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

While on a bike tour through the Engadin I stopped at the Pension Chesa Pool for just one night. I would have loved to stay longer.

The Chesa Pool is in Fex-Platta at the beginning of the beautiful Fextal (Fex Valley). The Fextal is closed to traffic, so you need to know how to get there if you're going to hike or bike as I did. Of course, they will pick you up from Sils-Maria. St Moritz is 12km away, but it's a world away from the rugged beauty of the Fextal.

Once you are at the Chesa Pool, you are under the care of Christina and Santiago. They really look after their guests. The rooms are simple but cosy. The dining room, however, is elegant and warm. The valley views are splendid.

Christina and Santiago have invested money and passion in making a stay at the Chesa Pool as memorable experience for each of their guests, and it shows. If you are looking for peaceful mountain air combined with a delightful culinary experience, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Great location in the mountains, Christina, Santiago and their team made us feel at home the moment we entered Chesa Pool.
The food was excellent and fresh - absolutely delicious! Definitely my favorite spot in the Engadin!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steivan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sils im Engadin hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 1 in Sils-Segl Maria
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#1 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
279 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Cristallina
Hotel Cristallina
#4 of 6 in Sils im Engadin
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cervo Sils
Hotel Cervo Sils
#7 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Seraina
Hotel Seraina
#9 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maria
Hotel Maria
#11 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensiun Chesa Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiun Chesa Pool

Address: Via da Platta 5 | 7514 Fex, Sils im Engadin 7514, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Sils im Engadin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sils im Engadin
Price Range: £127 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensiun Chesa Pool 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pensiun Chesa Pool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing