We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-owned grand hotel - luxurious enough, yet unpretentious and full of history”
Review of Hotel Waldhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Waldhaus
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sils im Engadin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My family (my husband and my teenage son) have stayed at this wonderfully located hotel (majestically situated on a wooded hill above the place Sils and the Lake Sils) many times and it’s always a special experience to be there. The Waldhaus is not a hotel you would find anywhere else, it’s quite extraordinary, be it due to its history, its considerate management (family owned and managed for five generations) or its unique atmosphere. On the one hand it’s luxurious enough to satisfy also spoiled guests, on the other hand it’s unpretentious and relaxed. The house underwent various renovations, but all very thoughtfully done in order not to neglect its exceptional character. The hotel is ideally located in winter for cross-country skiing and walks in the beautiful surroundings (there is a shuttle to a nearby mountain railway for downhill skiers) and in summer for hiking. As we are three persons, we usually go for a junior suite from which you can choose a modern, classic or nostalgic one. Best view in my opinion is towards Lake Sils but this has to be paid extra. The rooms – we normally have modern ones – are appropriately furnished, they are luxurious enough but not so that you wallow in luxury. The facilities are up to date maybe with the exception of the spa and the fitness room. If you put emphasis on these two things this hotel may not be your first choice. Nevertheless, the hotel offers things which you wouldn’t find in another house, and that is a splendid hotel foyer with an atmosphere beyond comparison where you can have your tea or your drinks in a wonderful setting or there is a wonderfully old-fashioned library where you feel like being in days long gone by. As far as eating is concerned, there is a sumptuous breakfast buffet with a wide choice and with the best Swiss Bircher Muesli ever. In the evening, an exquisitely prepared dinner in several courses is served and this almost always to our entire satisfaction; and you can be sure that one member of the owner family comes to your table and talks to you for a moment, a nice touch. In conclusion, a very nice house for a stay in the area of St. Moritz with all the comfort you may need but without the pretentiousness you will often find there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Waldhaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

Great hotel and staff,that make you feel at home,really up to date room with modern design,we even got an upgrade to a bigger room for free.
we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingforbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We had booked for three nights and left after one.The furniture in our room was cheap and bashed, the beds had uncomfortable, mismatched mattresses. Construction noise prevented us from opening the window during the day. We were assigned the possibly worst table in the dining room: cramped into the darkest corner furthest away from any window. The hotel literature was somewhat deceptive: nowhere did it state that the "Halbpension" dinner option was a buffet-style meal. Employees were mostly sullen and unfriendly (except the room service waiter whose most favorite word was "Entschuldigung"). On realizing we were leaving the next morning a co-owner cornered us and accused us of 'not giving the hotel not enough time'.This was followed up the next morning with a hand-written polemic good-bye note at breakfast. All this for 500 Euros plus. Waldhaus Sils: a great hotel no more.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
10  Thank Cordingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

What a treat. Breath-taking views, beautiful grounds, exceptional service. The staff made us feel welcome, at home and special. Some day we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ela524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Truely one of the places to dream. Three nights in this hotel made us feel relaxed as a week elsewhere. Especially the great entry hall where afternoon tea is served and concerts are held at night is great.
Service is spectacular (at least in off-season times).
The spa is not the greatest in Engadin, but it's private and has it all.
The cultural offers (concerts, readings) are classy.
When we where there the room offered at first did not fit our preferred style (it was great however), and staff offered us two completely different rooms (most rooms are unique, there are not fixed, similar room classes), both of which were great.
Our kid (2) was treated great - hotel owners love children themselves, they say.

Room Tip: Tell staff your preferences and and ask
Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank fredreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Waldhaus is the luxury hotel for those who HATE conspicuous wealth. The hotel is family-owned and run since it was founded over 100 years ago, it is the old building with no "new" additions (but carefully modernized). At least some of the rooms and the interior is in the original art deco. The restaurant is a five stars-affair, the wine-cellar is legendary. You get everything you want and more - except flashing "we're in the money".

Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
4  Thank Giskejente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

If you have ever wanted to stay at a great Swiss hotel in the Alps, and had the classic Swiss hotel management by the sixth generation of the original owner, this is the place. Swiss hotel management is like French cusine, when it is great, there is none like it in the modern world. This is not like most great hotels in the world, an investment property run by a chain. This is skilled family, where the family members have trained all over the world and returned here to take care of their clients.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marc1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sils im Engadin
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cervo Sils
Hotel Cervo Sils
#7 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 1 in Sils-Segl Maria
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
4.8 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Margna
Parkhotel Margna
#6 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhaus

Address: Via da Fex 3, Sils im Engadin 7514, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Sils im Engadin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sils im Engadin
#1 Family Hotel in Sils im Engadin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sils im Engadin
Price Range: £276 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Waldhaus 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Waldhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhaus Hotel Sils Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing