We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for travelling, not a holiday destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Rothrist Olten
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothrist
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel for travelling, not a holiday destination”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We've used this hotel a few times now when travelling to Italy - location is convenient as it's not far from the motorway, but it's not a tourist area - the hotel is actually next to a car showroom and some industrial units. Rooms are usual Ibis standard - clean, comfortable, quite small but fine for a night or two. Because of the location we've eaten both breakfast and dinner and the hotel and both are ok - reasonable choice and prices. Staff are very pleasant. Great value for Switzerland.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 576Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    85
    47
    7
    3
See reviews for
26
39
29
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The location is terrible if you do not drive - there is practically nothing around the area so you're left with no choice but to stay in the room at night (Thank god for wifi!). The hotel is by the roadside so it gets pretty noisy if vehicles were to drive by. had no choice because it's the cheapest one around (Switzerland is ridiculously expensive). Room is rather small and staff did not really acknowledge your presence unless they are needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hyqel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Geschäftsführer at ibis Rothrist Olten, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Hyqel,

Thank you very much for taking you time to feedback you experience in our hotel!

I do very apologize that you felt kind of lost refering to our location. In fact in our location a car can be very helpful (most frequented highway cross in Switzerland - 35' to Berne, Lucerne, Basel, Zurich...).

Our services, the acknowledgement of the staff when you might have passed by, are making me feeling sorry because you have not been noticed in a cheerful and friendly way. This is what I want my staff to reflect to our guests!

Otherwise I'm very pleased that you mention the Free WIFI and that you categorized our hotel with a nice value for money - refering to our expensive country.

I hope to welcome you soon again - it would be a pleasure to show you that we can be different in terms of serving!

Best regards from Rothrist
Matthias Beyeler, Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Switzerland is hideously expensive, we picked this place because it was cheap. For us the location was good as we had a car and could do day trips from the hotel.
It is clean but the rooms are very small. Fine for somewhere to put your head down and use as a base.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2011

everything is more than perfect in rothrist, it would just be nice to have free internet access everywhere in the hotel...
(ok, maybe it would be useful to reduce the smell of mould in the restrooms... but i know you are working on)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelizer1057, Geschäftsführer at ibis Rothrist Olten, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear accortraveler from Balerna,
We very appreciate your feedback concerning your stay at the ibis hotel in Rothrist - Thank you!
I can assure you that we are working on the free internet access in our rooms. It's only a matter of time that ibis Switzerland is offering this service for free to it's customers. I hope you did at least profit from the free access in our public areas! I totally agree with you that we are working on a daily basis to provide perfect bathrooms. Sorry that you met this problem in yours! Let us know this experience the next time you stay in our hotel to provide you an accurate solution.
I hope that we can serve you a warmly welcome in future!
Have a nice day and kind regards from Rothrist
Matthias Beyeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked the hotel for an overnight stay on our journey to Tuscany. Although rooms are ok, there was a lot off noise due to traffic passing by. We got the room 403 on the 4th floor. Please avoid rooms X01 to X08 they are situated along a very noisy ring road.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubin St.Vaast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Pleasant hotel for short stays, which has the advantage of a good restaurant on site. Would benefit from having tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms as there is no room-service. Very easy access from the motorway if you are transiting Switzerland en-route for, say, Italy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelizer1057, Geschäftsführer at ibis Rothrist Olten, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay. We are very glad to hear that you were satisfied of our services and products. We hope to welcome you soon again - although there are no coffee/tea facilities in the rooms.

We wish you nice holidays and take care

Your team from the ibis hotel Rothrist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothrist
2.4 mi away
Landgasthof Kreuz
Landgasthof Kreuz
#1 of 1 in Kappel
101 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Arte Kongresszentrum
4.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen
Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen
#1 of 2 in Egerkingen
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Olten
Hotel Olten
#1 of 5 in Olten
127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Amaris
Hotel Amaris
#2 of 5 in Olten
93 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Engel Zofingen
Hotel Engel Zofingen
#1 of 3 in Zofingen
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Rothrist Olten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Rothrist Olten

Property: ibis Rothrist Olten
Address: Helblingstrasse 9, Rothrist 4852, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Aargau > Rothrist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothrist
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Rothrist Olten 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Rothrist Olten Hotel is 37.3 miles (60 km) from Zurich and Bern, and 31.1 miles (50 km) from Basel and Lucerne. Our hotel is ideal for holidaymakers and business travelers. Reserve one of our 64 rooms (2 of which are suitable for people with reduced mobility) and enjoy the excellent facilities at our hotel: free WIFI access, cafe restaurant, a bar that is open 24/7, three meeting rooms, private car park and children's play area. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Rothrist Olten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing