We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Allegra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Allegra
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The location is great because it is close to the TXL bus stop from Tegel airport. The staff are helpful and the place is very clean. We visited 9 days in early August when it was hot (80s) and humid (60s dewpoint). Our room was on the 4th floor and faced the street - quiet at night but loud from 5am onward due to garbage/recycling trucks (most days it seemed). Two windows open out but the breeze is minimal. The rooms don't include AC or a fan. We begged the staff for a fan and got one, which was a lifesaver (tipped 5 euros). The room was sticky humid most nights but very tolerable with the fan on high. There was no obvious place in town to purchase a fan, without which, we would not have stayed. I'd bet the rooms are much less humid in early summer and late fall. As stated in other posts, few wall outlets are present and the TV is tiny (but that wasn't a problem since we never watched it). The bathroom is very hot and humid after a shower (and at other times for some unknown reason), but it was not too uncomfortable despite no overhead bathroom fan to suck up humid air or unpleasant air. The Queen bed is two combined doubles - no sheets, merely two thick comforters, which was not great on hot and sticky nights. Easy walking distance to major attractions, ATMs, the river, and great food all around. I'd stay again, but perhaps check the weather for hot and humid conditions first. Good for the price.

Room Tip: I've heard rooms that don't face the street are the quietist, but while our room faced the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to say thank you for the time you have taken writing down your impressions of the Hotel Allegra. We apologize for the mentioned trouble regarding the air conditioning, we are glad to hear that the fans helped during your stay. In Switzerland we have only a few days with very high temperatures, so that air conditioning normally is not required. If our guests require, there are additional fans available.

Thank you again for your honest feedback, we really appreciate it. It's really important for us to clarify this situation so do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Your Hotel Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    341
    86
    13
    7
See reviews for
215
142
69
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Second time here and still good as before. Great breakfast and welcome drinks are always so refreshing:) thank you

Second time here and still good as before. Great breakfast and welcome drinks are always so refreshing:) thank you

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen80811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel Allegra. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and the facilities of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you a third time when you are back in Kloten.

Best wishes,

Your Hotel Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The shuttle pick up point outside Zurich airport was harder to spot given the construction work that was going on and it was late at night when we arrived. When we did find the van further down from the signage than expected, it seemed like we waited inside for a good 20min or so before leaving.

Check in was easy and the room was great. It was accessed using a card. The TV channel selection was superb- we took it for granted that there would be English channels, but found out how rare this was during our travel through Switzerland and Italy. Ours was a triple room, with the third bed being a sofa bed.. blankets were warm. There was free carbonated water, a kettle and coffee and tea. Wifi was fast and free. The bathroom was very modern- everything worked great. There was a handy makeup mirror and good amenities. Only thing was there was no good place to hang our clothes. There was no sliding door for the shower cubicle itself- but there was one (no locks) to separate the entire bathroom from the bedroom area.

We did hear some train noises at certain times during the night and was surprised since we had read that the hotel had sound-proofing. Sure enough, when we checked in the morning, we realized the window was left slightly open.

There was no problem taking the shuttle back to Zurich Airport in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woozie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with other guests who are looking for a nice hotel close to Zurich Airport. By telling us what you liked about your sta and how we can improve you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again.

Best regards,

Your Hotel Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We needed a hotel close to the airport for an early morning flight. This hotel was clean and convenient and fit the bill quite well. No complaints. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were comfy. Our room was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBlueJackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We'd like to say thank you for your honest feedback and your nice rating as well - we really appreciate it!
Of course our waitress just had a bad day. Every guest should be treated equal independent of the origin.
You should definitely visit us again so we're able to give you as many smiles as possible.
Sunny regards from Kloten,
Your Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing place close to airport and very well connected to Zurich by Train. Very easy approach to Train station and airport shuttle make it all the more better. Reception staff is very good and helping and so was the shuttle guy. I also received an upgrade. It will be better if the lady at restaurant smiled a little more and service during breakfast is improved( specially at clearing plates etc) but then I saw her doing it to others and thus feel it must be her perception of my origin or country that influenced her service levels for me.
Overall a very nice place to stay and will stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sacmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you good rating and your kind comment - we really appreciate it!
We recognize your feedbak regarding the service lady and we'll check it with the team.
However it would be great to see you again!
We're looking forward to welcoming you!
Kind regards from Kloten,
Your Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Part of the Welcome Hotel group, including Allegra, Fly Away and Welcome Inn. Shuttle pick up at ZRH was prompt. This was classified as a 4* hotel but had NO air conditioning.Maybe they don't need it that often, but with down comforters on the beds, it got pretty toasty. There was a large fan on a stand in the room. Only a few electrical outlets in the room, thereby limiting where the fan could be plugged in. Front desk suggested that we open window for additional cooling, but then you are subject to traffic noise. Got vouchers for a 50% discount on the breakfast buffet. This brought the cost down to 10 FR per person. Great selection on the buffet, including pancakes [more like crepes] with real maple syrup. Mere steps from the train station. Can buy day passes on the train from the front desk for going into downtown Zurich. Fly Away and Welcome Inn are also only a few blocks from station. If you go straight across from the station and down a few blocks, there is a Migros supermarket with a good lunch room. Had a U S size medium pizza, 2 small salads and 2 Cokes at the pizza restaurant at the Welcome Inn. Set us back about $57 USD. Switzerland is VERY expensive. Took the airport shuttle to ZRH airport and caught a train for a day trip to Lucerne. Took a boat trip around Lake Lucerne. Even 2 orders of french fries and 2 Cokes ran about $18 USD at a McDonalds. Room was large and well stocked. Room was quiet. 2 computers for guest use, but they were either slow or all in German. Might try either the Fly Away or Welcome Inn next time. No sense paying 4* prices for no a/c.

Room Tip: We were in 301. Some noise from the outdoor bar at night, but quiet after 10 PM. Most room are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyplayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We'd like to say thank you for your rating and your detailed feedback - we really appreciate it! Welcome hotels is a group of 9 hotels in Zurich, the region Zurich Airport, Bern, Basel and Baden. If you book due our website you'll get a thank you gift.
We recognize your feedback regarding the missing air conditioning and we'll forward it.
However it would be a pleasure to welcoming you soon again!
Kind regards,
Your Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel was a stop over for us in Zurich and fit the bill nicely. It was a quick shuttle to and from airport and the train station into town was just a quick walk from the hotel. The quality of service from the front desk was great

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BigMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Lovely - thank you very much for your perfect rating and of course for your wonderful feedback.
It's our passion to be a good host.
We're looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Kind regards from Kloten,
Your Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloten
0.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#1 of 3 in Kloten
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fly Away
Hotel Fly Away
#2 of 3 in Kloten
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegra

Property: Hotel Allegra
Address: Hamelirainstrasse 3, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegra 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegra hotel is situated in a central yet quiet location, close to the Zurich airport, next to the Kloten train station. It offers you a free airport shuttle and free internet in all rooms. You will find a complimentary bottle of water on your room upon arrival. You can park your car for free on site during your stay. Only 5 minutes away from Zurich Airport and 15 minutes from the center of Zurich, the Allegra hotel is a convenient place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Allegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra Hotel Kloten
Hotel Allegra Canton Of Zurich/Kloten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing