We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop-over for Zurich Airport”
Review of Hotel Welcome Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Welcome Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The big thing is that this hotel is minutes from Zurich Airport with a shuttle bus every 20 minutes. The staff are helpful and friendly and everything went with great efficiency. Nice and clean too, with largish room. Big minus: we had little time before our flight and there were no facilities to make tea and coffee in the room. This is well out of order in 2013.

Room Tip: They will be helpful. All rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. Please let me inform you that there are no kettles in every room as a standard, BUT you can borrow one for free at the reception and there is a complimentary coffee and tea station in the lobby, where you can help yourself all day long.
See you soon again it's our pleasure,
Your Welcome Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Welcome Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hotel Welcome Inn was the perfect location for convenience to airport and train services. Shuttle service was prompt for transit from and to the airport. Our 4 rooms were ready when we arrived early (around 9 am). The reception staff helped us with train services and ticket purchases, and answered email questions well in advance of arrival date. The patisserie within walking distance was apparently a local favorite, although Switzerland's restaurants seemed expensive. The train to/from Zurich was easy to negotiate. We had no difficulty switching to the #6 tram for the Zoo. Overall, it was a good layover day in Zurich. By staying in Kloten, we had an easy return to the airport in the early morning. They even had a senior rate for the room! Nice choice. Even if we were staying longer in Zurich, I might consider staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We appreciate it and we are delighted to hear that you liked your stay with us and maybe you visit us soon again, when you drop by Switzerland? it would be our pleasure! Thanks for your descripition and you tipps it's pretty helpful for future guests.
See you and kind regards,
Your Welcome Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel lived up to the reviews. It is a simple no frills hotel in a fantastic location that allows you to conduct business or experience Zurich and save a ton of money on your hotel bill.

Getting There

Getting there is easy. When you depart the airport look for the hotel bus sign which is a three minute walk. The bus runs every thirty minutes and a nice courteous driver will pick you up for the three minute drive to the hotel.

The Positives

The positives start with Manuela who checked me in at the front desk. She is amazing. She is friendly, full of energy and a wealth of information. If you want to know what to see, where to eat, when the train runs, where the supermarket is or when the next train leaves the station, ask Manuela. She is absolutely terrific.

First, it was terrific that I received a room at nine in the morning. The rooms are larger than I expected, have beautiful floors, two beds and a Murphy bed, mini bar, safe large windows, a flat screen, work desk, and large windows that open. The toilet room is separate from the shower which is a plus if you have a traveling companion. There is ample closet space and drawers with extra bed linen. The water pressure was excellent and if you like scalding hot showers this is the place for you. The hotel beds are firm and just what the doctor ordered for my back.

The hotel's location is terrific. It is a three minute walk to the train station, five minutes from the airport and a five minute walk to a supermarket. If you are a walker or jogger you will be in paradise as Kloten is jogger, walker and skateboarder friendly. The television has over one hundred and sixty channels and you can buy a rail pass at the front desk.

The Negatives are few. There is one short-haired blond employee who is a little stuck on herself and is the opposite of Manuela. If she helps you once she acts as if that is your limit. There are no ice machines so you have to go downstairs to the restaurant to get a glass and the doors lock inside and out with a key. You have to actually lock yourself in the room with a key and I found myself constantly checking the handles.

Suggestions:

1. A supermarket is nearby. Walk out the front door, turn right and go to the roundabout and turn left. Walk about two blocks until you get to the ESSO station and the supermarket is on the right side of the street next to the UBS bank;
2. No need to make a hair appointment anywhere in the area as there are more coiffures than you can shake a stick at;
3. In addition to Zurich's usual attractions take the UBS Polybahn cable car up to the University of Zurich and ETH University for a panoramic view of the city;
4. Buy a day or three day train pass;
5. If you use a phone for pictures bring a separate phone charger because you will take tons of photographs;
6. Moisturizer and lip balm are musts;
7. Zurich is as expensive as you heard;
8. I would avoid the Chinese restaurant across the street;
9. The supermarkets in Kloten close early on Saturday and all day Sunday and I recommend Migros;
10. The walk to Kolping Arena is nice if you are a walker;
11. The One World airport lounge is excellent and if you are flying American Airlines the counters open at 6:30;
12. Fleischli Bakery across the street is excellent but expensive;
13. Jelmoli is one great department store; and
1. Take your platinum card when you walk along the Bahnhofstrasse

Room Tip: Get room 128, 129 or 130 for the little view that the hotel provides
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! Nice to hear that you enjoyed your last night at our place, hopefully you had a good way back. See you soon when you visit Switzerland!
Kind regards,
Your Fly away Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this great hotel near Zurich airport for one night as we had an early flight the next morning. We had a hire car and were able to park it there for the company to pick it up instead of making our way to the airport for the pickup. The hotel has a shuttle bus service to the airport as well.

The check in was fast and efficient and exactly as we had booked it on the internet directly with the hotel. The room was very spacious with a desk, TV, separate toilet and shower room. Wifi was included and there were two types of breakfast available also. Around the area are several supermarkets, shops, restaurants, bars, cafes but we chose to eat in the hotel in one of their two restaurants. The food was good homecooking and plentiful and service was with a smile. Complimentary coffee and tea was available in the lobby.

We would recommend this hotel near the airport and it is close to the station and all manners of transport to move around the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely feedback and your excellent rating! We are happy to hear that you and your husband had an enjoyable stay with us and had an uncomplicated finish of your stay in Switzerland. Thanks for the recommendation and we would love to welcoming you again when you drop by the Zurich Airport.
See you and kind regards,
Your Welcome Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Welcome Inn is clean, comfortable and convenient to the Zurich Airport. I arrived in the late afternoon, before my flight back to the States the next day. After a busy 3 weeks, I was ready to relax and decompress. The large room, with a good internet connections and ample seating provided the perfect place to unwind and repack for the trip home. Since I was only passing through and was tired of changing money I decided to eat dinner in the restaurant cafe so I could simply charge it. The meal was simple but good. Next morning I caught the very punctual airport shuttle after a speedy checkout. The price seemed reasonable (for Switzerland, which is the filter you have to run everything through.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_S_Dunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your last stay with us! We appreciate it and we are happy you could enjoy your last night before flying back in a cozy and relaxing atmosphere.
Hopefully you had a good flight back and see you soon again when you visit the Zurich area.
Kind regards,
Your Welcome Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Welcome Inn on our way to Zermatt and again on our way back to the United States. On both occasions the hotel was spotless, the front desk staff more than accomodating and the location to the airport coupled with a very effiicient shuttle service rounds out a great lodging experience.A very comfortable and convenient stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent review! We are pleased to hear that your journey was comfortable and you had twice a pleasant stay with us. I hope you enjoyed Switzerland and come for a visit soon again, it would be our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Your Welcome Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good hotel to stay, very helpful and courteous staff, Shuttle service available after every half hour till airport. Free internet, clean hotel. Airport has well connectivity with city with train,tram,buses.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you fro your nice review on T/A. We are delighted that you had a good time with us and see you soon again when you visit the Zurich area.
Kind regards,
Your Welcome Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloten
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 3 in Kloten
720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fly Away
Hotel Fly Away
#1 of 3 in Kloten
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welcome Inn

Address: Holbergstrasse 1, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range: £78 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welcome Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welcome Inn enjoys a central location in Kloten, half a mile from Zurich Airport. It offers a free airport shuttle, free wired internet and free parking during the hotel overnight stay. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and the rooms. The rooms feature a desk, a refrigerator, flat-screen-TV and a bathroom with hairdryer and make-up mirror. MEAT's Steak & Wine - Steakhouse, is our restaurant partner and has a stylish interior, in a rustic design and first-class meat, grilled in a Southbend Broiler. Guests of the Welcome Inn enjoy a free entrance to the fitness room at a partner hotel (a 3-minute walk away). Many shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. Kloten Train Station is 300m away. The train ride to Zurich takes 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Welcome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Welcome Kloten
Welcome Hotel Kloten
Welcome Inn Hotel
Hotel Welcome Inn Canton Of Zurich/Kloten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing