We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very satisfying stay”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. We took half-pension and were bowled over every night with one amazing dinner after another. We had a group with us, all sophisticated travelers, and they demanded to see the chef to thank him personally.

Frau Hess, the owner, was on hand with advise. She made our hiking experience the best it could be.

If there is a down-side, I'd say that the dining room staff may be a bit sparse, and some are inexperienced.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floors facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GentleWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel many years ago and would avoid it like the plague. The lady owner who takes no crap from guests lays down the law. Even more frosty and formal than the St Moritz hotels. Bedrooms are small and dated. I had a small single next to the elevator and you heard it all night long. Spa facilities were the best part of the hotel but quite small with an odour, lukewarm jacuzzi & small pool. Poor WIFI reception with no reception in room just lobby downstairs. Enough said.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a perfect stay in your hotel, wonderful view on the mountains, service excellent, staff friendly, good food included in half board and very enjoyable SPA. As it was rainy, the even opened the spa earlier for us. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel. We ski every year and stay in 4 star hotels, this has been the best by far! We will definitely stay again. The owners are hands on and ensure everything is to their very high standard. The staff are incredibly helpful, nothing is too much trouble. From the moment we arrived it was clear they wanted our stay to be perfect.The restaurant service and food was first class. Silver, linen service with on the night choice of the most wonderfully prepared food and yet they catered for my teenage son who wanted chips or pasta. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were together, good size and not busy, even in high season. The spa for over 16 year olds was tranquil with excellent facilities and everything you would expect of a true spa experience. Sass Fee is a picturesque, traditional village with atmosphere. All the shops had very helpful staff, they were actually pleased you were there! The skiing was really good, lots of excellent reds, ski school for beginners really good, a couple of very long flowing blues, and a few scary blacks! There are also sledge and toboggan runs, we did an awsome 6km sledge run, fantastic fun, a must do. If you want nice people, with lots to do, in a great hotel, book this one!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieL186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The fact that this is family run made all the difference here. There was a lovely welcome drink prepared for us on arrival and staff willing to answer as to the best areas for us (as less confident intermediates) to ski. You can also buy a ski pass at the hotel reception. The room was not particularly large, but was extremely clean with very comfortable beds. The room (and the hotel overall) was very quiet. The mountain view was stunning. However, the star turn of this hotel was the food. The package we booked included a 6-course evening meal. The hotel has a fabulous chef and the meals were outstanding - far better than I have had in any other 4-star hotel. In fact it became an enjoyable part of the day for us to look at the menu choices in the morning and look forward to the dinners all day while out skiing! The family that owned the hotel also ate in the restaurant each day. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed 1 week for skiing in this hotel. Although part of the Best Western Chain, it is a family run hotel, with a very personel touch. The staff was very friendly and very helpfull with all enquiries. We got originally a room next to the lift, but my husband felt disturbed by the lift and asked for a room change, which was done without any problems. The room was good size, spotless clean, with an in room safe. The food breakfast and dinner were excellent, good choice and portion sizes for the dinner as well. There was one evening a week where the managers greated the guests with wine at the bar and a chat, a very personal touch, though the managers were around most times as well. Also as very positive was noted that the managers were eating in the hotel restaurant as well every day in the evening. The wellness area was very quiet and relaxing with 4 different saunas (one of which one could request for private use - we did not do that though), a large relaxation room with lovely beds and earphones to shut out the surrounding, seperate from that, so not to be disturbed were also a large swimming pool and a whirl pool.
The view from both rooms was great.
The hotel is in the centre of Saas Fee and offers its own free shuttle to the cable car or the parking area outside Saas Fee if wanted, though the Alpine Express cable car is a short walk - max 5 minutes - away from the hotel. We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kast1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

What a great family run hotel. The staff were always professional, helpful and friendly and the manager often around supervising and finding time to talk to and advise guests. The hotel was cleaned to a high standard and the facilities 5 star. Good rooms with stunning views of the mountains. The hotel boasts a nice pool and jacuzzi and a particular favourite was the 'Wellness Centre' ( A calm, quiet area with sauna and steam, scents and music), which was the perfect finish to a day spent on the slopes. This centre is quite large and child free so a perfect chill out zone. Half board was well worth doing as the breakfast and 6 course evening meal was fantastic. The only complaint was too much choice and not enough time to try everything on offer!! Great ambience, tasteful and elegant. I would like to return: )

Room Tip: Select a room with a view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#6 of 47 in Saas-Fee
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#5 of 47 in Saas-Fee
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 47 in Saas-Fee
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#14 of 47 in Saas-Fee
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#2 of 47 in Saas-Fee
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: Untere Dorfstrasse 35 | 3906 Saas-Fee, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Metropol Grand Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range: £139 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropol 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome in our Hotel Metropol Saas-Fee Arriving and feeling directly at home. Spread yourself out in our cosy and comfortable rooms. Find everything you need and even something more. The personal led 4-star hotel in the carfree village center of Saas-Fee offers you a perfect view to our majestic Glacier and Mountains. Get new energy in our holiday hotel with personal ambiance. Start your day with a big and well balanced breakfast buffet. After varied and active hours, relax in our Best Wellness or with a Massage. The Metropol also provide the only indoorski slope in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing