We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Excellent location within walking distance from the cable car, very friendly and diligent staff, nice and well equipped accomodation, quiet, off the main street but still very central. Best value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toufic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

We loved both the accommodation and the ski resort. The position was excellent- very scenic and close to the ski lift. The accommodation was very cosy and comfortable. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. We would love to return one day. Thanks for a wonderful week.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

For Saas Fee this hotel is very reasonable. Located near to the Alpine Express lift with easy access to the ski slopes the hotel is great for a ski trip. The rooms are well furnished, with comfortable beds and have a small kitchen. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Everything we needed for a long weekend break. Recommended and I will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

First of all, I made a mistake and booked (and paid for) the apartment through a third party site with the wrong arrival date and arrived a week later than the actual arrival date. Without going into much detail, the owners TOTALLY took care of us. I have never seen such hospitable hotel operators in my life, and I travel quite a bit. Maggie, the woman who owns the place with her husband went out of her way to be helpful and was a gem. She is also an amazing mountain climber (she has climbed all of the 4000+ meter peaks in Switzerland). On the walls of the lobby there are many pictures of her and her family at the summits of many of these mountains. Pretty impressive.

Now for the apartment. The apartment was very spacious and had all of the convenience of home. The view of the gorge from the deck was spectacular. The building does not have a lift, but a gentleman carried our luggage to our room in a flash (the same gentleman who took us and our luggage to and from the bus station). The location of the hotel was very convenient for skiing -- only a two minute walk to the Alpen Express gondola. It is also very close to town, with a Migros and a Coop also only a two minute walk away. During our brief stay we did not have an opportunity to have dinner at their restaurant, but we enjoyed breakfast and a beer after skiing in the restaurant. In previous years I had walked past this hotel while walking to the Alpen Express lift and thought that it looked like an amazing hotel, but that it was probably very expensive. As it turned out, it was a very reasonably priced hotel and I would (and will) recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Our family (7 & 5y children) booked at last minute having had another hotel cancel our reservation, but this turned out to be much, much better and cheaper. Perfect location - quiet, dramatic with incredible views yet just minutes walk from village centre, cable cars and bus station / car park. We had a suite on the top floor - well equiped kitchen in spacious living area with double bed, and another double bedroom (though this room had shower only; others have baths).

In the end never used the room's kitchen as the restaurant was so good; children ate free yet nothing was too much trouble (they got addicted to steak fillets and chicken nuggets!) and excellent four course meal for adults on half-board.

The owners were always there and very friendly and attentive - though twice they'd been out in the daytime and climbed a 4000m peak before supper, and the mountain photos everywhere are inspirational. One of the most child-friendly resorts we've been to (playground at every cafe) - despite plans for exploring we never left the Saas valley. Plenty of gentle walks for youngsters, some more ambitious helped by the tame marmots, but masses more for the future when they're older.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Stayed in this hotel by chance, arriving in Saas Fee to visit my son who is working the summer ski season - there is summer skiing on the 4000 metre peaks and glaciers! Excellent location near the Alpine Express cable car and the Feeblitz (like a roller coaster with independent cars!) and mountain adventure (zip wire across the gorge, ropes etc.).
Lovely geranium bedecked wooden balconies, fantastic suite with bedroom and separate living/dining/kitchen room with extra bed for 12 year old, balcony with the best view in Switzerland (gorge, rushing water, huge towering mountains, glacier), and old stone towers. Everything clean, pretty, comfortable. Pretty breakfast room, helpful and friendly husband and wife owners (who gave me first aid for a deep cut) keen to point out places of interest and proud of their own mountaineering exploits, celebrated in the large photos on all the walls. Good restaurant, but portions are small and prices very expensive (compared to London) but everything in Switzerland is pretty pricy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riricroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jjeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#5 of 47 in Saas-Fee
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 47 in Saas-Fee
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#3 of 47 in Saas-Fee
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marmotte
Hotel Marmotte
#10 of 47 in Saas-Fee
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#2 of 47 in Saas-Fee
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge

Address: Blomattenweg 2, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range: £94 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic 3 *** Hotel-Apart & Restaurant "La Gorge" is in the middle of the holiday paradise SAAS-FEE in Switzerland.***!!! PERFECT LOCATION !!!***:We are directly next to the cable car "Alpin Express". The "La Gorge" is situated next to the massive canyon "Feschlucht" at the quiet border of the forest. Walking distances to the center, the bus terminal and the shopping centers are each only 2 minutes.Come to us and never forget: "Heaven is a place on earth!"Looking forward meeting you soon.Maggi & Léonce Voide-Bumann ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing