We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”
Review of The Dom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dom Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Well, I don’t know where to start writing this review.
Just because everything was perfect: the warm welcome, the room, the position, the restaurant, the bar/club in the sous-sol (great music!!) the decoration, the staff, the concept, the food, the little attentions (like water ready in the room) (and free).
I think this is one of my favourite hotels ever.

Just go there and you will absolutely adore every minute.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBackpackGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon at The Dom Hotel Saas-Fee.

Kind regards,
Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    64
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
148
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great hotel, beautifully remodeled. It's full of modern design furniture, however, they managed to maintain the romantic Swiss charm in its details. Staff very friendly and very nice rooms with iPads, wifi, and great showers.
Two drawbacks: we were there during carnival season. While the location is normally great, right on the center square, the noise from the partying locals was simply unbearable. Couldn't sleep for several nights. While this has little to do with the hotel itself, it was very annoying.
Also, the food was generally great in the restaurant, but the fries all come with truffle seasoning, which is, even as a truffle lover, a bit overwhelming.
But generally a great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdenheijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We spent three nights at The Dom to celebrate my husband's birthday. The hotel is beautiful and the staff friendly and helpful, the views wonderful.We were met at the bus station by the shuttle bus, which also took us back there at the end of our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable with a huge double bed, TV and electrics were operated with an ipod! Breakfast was a very well-stocked buffet and we ordered freshly cooked ommelettes which were delicious. The evening restaurant was delightful and they even prepared a special birthday desert for my husband. Unfortunately we were unable to ski because it snowed so heavily that every cable car was closed, however, the resulting winter wonderland was truly beautiful. A lovely stay at a fabulous hotel , we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Geschäftsführer at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear judy1066,

thank you very much for your great commenst. We hope to see you again at The Dom Hotel. best regards the Team of the Hotel The Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Dom Hotel for a couple of nights with our two Labs. The hotel is very nice, stylish but not too stylish. The staff is exceptionally friendly. The only reason for not giving an 'excellent' rating, were some minor hick-ups like no shampoo/shower gel refill for 3 days.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tdalhoefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Geschäftsführer at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you very much for rating the Hotel so well.
Since the new General Manager is starting her work Monday, hick ups like the missing items in the room will be part of the past. I hope to welcome you back soon at The Dom Hotel.
Best regards, Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have visited this Hotel with friends in a long ski weekend last months. I was quite impressed when we arrive, they picked us up from the bus terminal with the lovely shuttle and I was also suprised by its facilities.
The Hotel is located in the middle of town, the views from the rooms are absolutely astonishing and the deco and the facilities are awesome.
The hotel is located just in front of the church so every day really early you will hear the bells, I didnt mind, however for some light sleepers it may be recommendable to pick the rooms located in the back.
The restaurant and the Bar are awesome, food is good, service little slow taking into account they dont have room for large number of people. At night you have a Pub in the same building, which is the best known bar in the town, so ambiance is perfect for dancing and having drinks.

In town there are plenty of good places to have the typical dinner, fondue and raclette

If you are begginers dont go in early october as I did, I couldnt do snowboard as the sloopers were only for highly skilled people, however I enjoyed the trip anyway, we went up and there is a magnificent cafeteria in the top of the mountain, with the best views ever,

The trip was quite expensive taking into consideration that after the plain to geneva, we needed to go from airport to saas fee either by train 60 € each per way or hire a van with driver as we couldnt catch the latest train that day ( 400 €for 4 people)

I highly recommend to visit this town, for me it is a town like the ones we see in the cinderella´s stories

I hope I have helped you to decide! :) enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back to avoid the church bells during the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaQueirolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Geschäftsführer at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Mariana,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Saas-Fee and we hope to show our picture perfect village to man more visitors in the future.Regarding the early wake up from the church bell, I can tell you that we are in contact with the church counsel to tone it down to a more vacation appropriate time.
Hope to see you soon again in Cinderella central.
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budoia, Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at The Dom during their off season. We were picked up at the parking garage by their shuttle. The check in process was painless and a great start to our stay. Every employee was kind and helpful. The rooms are beautiful! We enjoyed the easy to use iPad functions for radio, lights and TV. The bed was comfortable compared to other European hotels. We enjoyed the towel warmers, mini fridge and cozy tub in the room. After a long day of skiing it was nice to have a glass of wine on the balcony but we would have preferred a fire pit or hot tub and getting to know other guests. The breakfast room is nice and service was wonderful! We would have like a little more variety throughout the week. Their eggs to order were delicious! The ski room with lockers and drying racks for boots and gloves were a great amenity! Each locker is numbered and are locked and unlocked with your room key. On the same floor of the ski room is a bar. It would be nice to drop off your gear and walk down a hall to grab a drink before preparing for dinner During the off season apparently the bar doesn't open until Thursday night. We do plan to stay at The Dom again! We would choose a room not on the church side since the bells are a bit loud starting at 7am.

Room Tip: Request a room on the non church side unless you are an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I"m going to buck the trend here and say I think this place is over rated. I really don"t think it works. There is no bar, all the high tech stuff in the rooms is a bit hit and miss?

All in all I found it rather soulless. I must be getting old!

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back away from the church. A lot of the rooms only have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel W, Manager at The Dom Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Mr. Marlow,

thank you for your comments. We can not understand, why our Hotel is over rated.
We have a really nice bar at the Hotel The Dom, the high tech staff in the room is really usefull for our customers.i.e. with our APP Dom Collection.

By your next booking at the Hotel The Dom, I would like to please you to contact myself (Daniel Werner).

I remain with best regards Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#10 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dom Hotel

Property: The Dom Hotel
Address: Dorfplatz 2, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#9 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dom Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Dom - Where tradition and today meet Our hotel is situated in the center of Saas-Fee, a location with the best-possible guarantee of snow in Europe, and embedded in the typical architecture of the 19th century, when tourism was dominated by the English. In 2011 we restored this historical building, the oldest hotel in the village, at great effort and, at the same time, with great care. The interior captivates with its modern elegance paired with antique elements. Our lovingly furnished 28 rooms also offer you technological comfort of the highest standard. Each room comes with an iPad, and thus for the duration of your stay in our hotel you have access to a diverse and individually tailored information and entertainment offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing