We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“europa2”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have SKIED MOST of the top resorts in Europe, whilst not the most extensive ski area this area is one of t h e the prettiest and most dependable at areas. Europa hotel is clean, well run, breakfast is good an substantial, evening meal is high standard, staff are polite and very attentive. Confident to highly recommend this hotel and resort.Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Europa Garni over New Year 2013/4 for our first family hotel holiday. Our experience was extremely positive from start to finish. On arrival we were quickly picked up from the bus station and welcomed at check in with a glass of orange juice. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Our family room was very spacious and well equipped, only criticism would be poor wifi coverage in the rooms however, in the lobby a good free connection was available. The food was extremely good and excellent value for money, breakfast was a good continental selection whilst the 5 course dinner menu was just the job after a day on the slopes. On New Year's Eve this increased to a 7 course dinner of superb quality all at the same price. As a Swiss resident I can only say that the cost of the food and the wines from a good wine list was below what I would normally expect to pay in Switzerland. Finally, the wellness centre was a welcome refuge after the days exertions, a good size sauna and steam room with jacuzzi and foot spa was great. We would certainly plan to visit again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jpt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Overall, this hotel is a little bit tired but was great value for money (we paid only £800 for the week by going on the Friday to Friday) and the staff are really fantastic. Peter, the Dutch head and waiter, and Thea from Romania are quite superb and made the whole stay good fun. Moreover, the five course meal in the evening was quite superb - we didn't notice any difference between the upstairs or downstairs restaurants. Michael on the front desk was very helpful and when we noticed a nicer room than the one we were allocated on the first night, was completely helpful in moving us, including getting our bags moved whilst we went off skiing - the rooms in the annexe on the corners are quite a bit more roomy than the ones in the middle!!! The sauna facilities include a nude area which is essential to get away from the children and are pretty good.

So, a good hotel for a not too expensive skiing week - until you get to buying the ski pass (extortionate at 350 euros) and the ski hire. Well, actually everything else as well!!!!

Ultimately I can't recommend Switzerland for the British because it is too expensive and Saas Fee has old and slow lifts which have not been invested in very much by the private company which bought the lift business and is clearly only interested in making money from a tired old system. Compared to somewhere like Obergurgl in Austria where the lifts are fantastic and the prices not too bad, it's a no brainer - don't go to Switzerland and don't go to Saas Fee.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Michaelbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was very clean & balconies are child friendly for an action holiday hotel and the food was 5 courses every night & lovely! Although the waiter there could not speak English and the only decent girl (dark hair) waiting staff who spoke english kept getting put into the 2* restaurant!!! We paid for 3* to get better service, but this guy was like basil faulty or more Manuel!! Everything was a drama and he rolled his eyes and spoke about us to the other blonde girl (off reception) in front of us in German then visibly laughed at my sister in law to her face because she wanted fresh water in the kettle for her baby!!! ???

Also this is one of THE most expensive resorts in the world!!! (Compared to Italy/France & USA) even though we had paid for half board & expected a drinks bill each night... We did NOT expect to be charged 4 chf for EACH jug of tap water, with a table of 11 this added up to quite a few jugs each night to counteract the altitude/alcohol, so by the end of the week we had spent 114 chf (approx £74) on TAP water!!!

There were 6 staff we met & only two of them (male waiter & blonde ditzy waitress) who REALLY should consider changing jobs from a service industry front of house job to something away from the public eye!

our cleaner was lovely & in the end she was the only one we left a tip to at the end of our stay!

Rant over... Overall a good stay but I just hate bad service/manners as Iv worked in a customer facing role myself for decades so I realise how challenging / demanding some people can be, but if you don't like working with the general public then GET ANOTHER JOB!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CloudAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Excellent stay throughout, staff were always friendly & very helpful at all times. Location was good with stunning views of the mountains. The spa facilities were excellent & so welcome at the end of a day skiing. Just need to be cautious of floor as got dangerously slippy! The rooms were basic but warm & comfortable with TV & private bathroom. The food was absolutely top class...5 courses every day...beautifully presented & so tasty, good choice each meal & superb breakfast, our waiter was great...big thanks to him for making our stay so much fun! Taxi service to ski lift was also very welcome. Faultless stay all round !

Room Tip: Rooms all basic but adequate for a ski holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katy1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have just returned from my week stay in the, clean and friendly hotel Europa. I was amazed by the wonderful standard of food and great service it provided. Free ski bus , maid service daily, use of ski and boot room ,not only in the hotel but also at a hotel closer to the slopes. Saved carting your gear around. Defo going again

Room Tip: All rooms are very good ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

An horrible experience in that hotel. Everything went wrong. From the first minute when we checked-in (no explanation where the rooms were (some people were in the second building), where the ski room was) until we left were they didn't want to refund the deposit for the ski passes that we paid them.
Staff are always grumpy, not helpful, needed hours to order some drink on the terrace.
Never go there !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kromega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#13 of 47 in Saas-Fee
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
0.1 mi away
Popcorn Hotel
Popcorn Hotel
#21 of 47 in Saas-Fee
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#7 of 47 in Saas-Fee
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 47 in Saas-Fee
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Artemis
Hotel Artemis
#15 of 47 in Saas-Fee
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Hannigstrasse 41, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range: £93 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Europa in Saas-Fee, the Pearl of the Swiss Alps, offers a friendly, relaxed atmosphere and a wonderfull view over the Saas Mountains and the fascinating world of mountains and glaciers.Our hotel is located a bit higher up from Saas Fee centre, making it an ideal home and base for wintersport or enjoying the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Garni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing