We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay at the Schweizerhof, Saas Fee, difficult to fault the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Gourmet & Spa
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

As noted by a previous contributor the Schweizerhof is a four star hotel and so carries with it a level of expectation regarding quality and service, which, during our stay, it matched and surpassed.

The hotel is located on a small side street running off Saas Fee’s main street, pretty much in the centre of the village.

Although the village is typically promoted as ‘traffic free’ it would be truer to say that it is free of the internal combustion engine as there are numerous electric carts, run by the hotels and shops, which run around the place.

For skiers the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the nursery slopes and the Plattjen/Spielboden gondola station, a few minutes further to the Alpin Express station. The hotel runs a shuttle bus to and from the slopes for several hours in the morning and afternoon – for those that like an early start the first trip of the morning is 08:30.

Our trip was booked as a package through a UK tour operator; however, before our visit I contacted the hotel on several occasions with questions about ski hire and lift passes, when using the hotel’s contact email address emails were replied to very promptly (however, using the hotel’s website ‘contact us’ page didn’t produce replies).

When we arrived we were picked up from Saas Fee’s bus terminal by the hotel’s shuttle bus and greeted at the hotel by one of the reception staff, who offered us a drink, went through the paper work, arranged our lift passes (the hotel prints these itself) and provided us with loads of information about the resort, the hotel and its facilities.

We had booked a standard room which was spacious, well-furnished and well presented. The room was at the back of the hotel and so only had a view of the apartment building opposite; as we were visiting Saas-Fee to ski this wasn’t a problem, but something to bear in mind if you do want a room with a view.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a wide variety of hot and cold choices. As we were on a half-board package we had a fixed evening menu, however, as this offered both full vegetarian and ‘meat/fish eater’ menu options we had a wide range of dishes to choose from each day. Service in the restaurant was generally very good, with the staff covering an impressive range of languages, although the speed of service did falter a little when the restaurant was very busy. My one moan about the hotel was the price of mineral water – CHF9.50 for a litre of sparkling/with gas mineral water served in an open carafe.

The hotel lays on an afternoon après ski snack, which is well worth getting back for; bread, cheese, ham and a good range of cakes.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much and if you are looking for this type of hotel in Saas Fee the Schweizerhof is definitely one to consider.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ToddMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

All the staff were excellent, efficient, friendly and very helpful. We had a excellent room with a balcony. The hotel is 22 years old and everything feels new and clean. Food was excellent. Snow was very good all week, the one downside of the resort is the skiing is limited for good skiing but the altitude means the snow is sure. the wi-fi was good and fast whenever I used it. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

After weeks with hard work we arriived Saas Fee for skiing and relaxing. The staff at Schweizerhof took care of my wife, me and the dog with extremly friendlieness. The food Was excellent and you always find show in this area.

Room Tip: Take a rom with mountainviuw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A wonderful, friendly welcome after a long journey and a complimentary drink was most appreciated. Our 1st visit to this beautiful resort. We could see why people return - so friendly that we almost do not want to tell the world about such a special place.
The hotel was generally perfect, superb food, service and the Spa far nicer than the 5* hotel in the village. A couple of suggestions... Comfortable seating (sofas) in the lounge area off reception with more subtle lighting would be preferable. The bar, glass & high stools not relaxing or comfortable. I understand there are some refurbished rooms but generally the bedrooms were functional and basic In design. Tired looking for a 4* hotel. Paying for tap water was disappointing as was tea when food in the afternoon complimentary. Approx equivalent to £4.50 a litre! Outrageous! The Swiss wine excellent although very expensive. Spa treatments wonderful. I would not hesitate to return, however, please do not charge for your lovely Swiss mountain water or for afternoon tea. Please upgrade some of your bedrooms and make the seating area more relaxing and cosy. Then, a perfect hotel...

Room Tip: I believe our rooms were upgraded from 2 single rooms with a shower. Ask for a renovated,suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Excellent both food and service in the restaurant, excellent spa facilities, excellent swiss service, excellent, friendly staff. Just everything in this hotel deserves excellent rate. Wish only wi-fi be better during peak times and rooms more stylish/modern. Will definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were made very welcome at this lovely standard classy hotel. A little surprising was the quality cuisine and pool sauna amenities on offer, but nevertheless much appreciated. As was the exceptional pianist to accompany dinner every night. Would. Come back most definitely, would I recommend it? Most highly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lastboyscout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We went to schweizerhof Saas fee last year and we found it lovely. We went back this year and it is still a fantastic place. Nice rooms, spacious and designed to house all the skiing gear, warm welcome from staff and owners, delicious food, excellent spa and - last but not least - fantastic weather. To be tried!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Some have a carpeted floor, while others have a parquet floor. Just in case you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 262Laura60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#3 of 47 in Saas-Fee
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#13 of 47 in Saas-Fee
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 47 in Saas-Fee
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 47 in Saas-Fee
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#6 of 47 in Saas-Fee
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Gourmet & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Gourmet & Spa

Address: Haltenstrasse 10, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#11 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
#12 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range: £186 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Gourmet & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classified as a superior hotel, the Schweizerhof is one of the top addresses in Saas Fee, and is considered to be the most sensuous of hotels in the Valais for bons vivants. Wellness and treatments in one of the spa suites, above average know-how when it comes to wine, and exquisite cuisine, honoured with 14 points GaultMillau, all add up to making the Schweizerhof a first-class holiday hotel at 1800 metres. Discover "the wave" - 1000 m2 spa experience with outdoor jacuzzi and sauna. Our top-hit for summer: Using of all the cable cars and postcars in the Saas Valley included in the indicated hotel price (without metro and summer skiing). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Gourmet & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Saas-Fee Hotel Saas-Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing