We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, owners, workers, and view!!”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What we loved about our stay at the Bristol:

-Owners: Extremely friendly, approachable and helpful

-Food: The four course dinner is always delicious, even the foods I don't usually prefer, I love them here. There are two waitresses, one in the morning and one at dinner, both very friendly and very good at their jobs! The courses are well-paced and far from being rushed.

-Location: There is no better of a location in the entire village! With no buildings between the Bristol and the snow-capped mountains, the view is fantastic from every angle and every floor.

-Rooms: A tiny bit smaller than the averaged sized room, but everything else about the room makes up for it. There is plenty of closet space; shelves, hangers and racks with enough space to hang long pants without them even touching the bottom of the closet! The bathroom and shower room and separate which is wonderful for a double room. The beds are very comfy, the pillows very large and can be stuffed or squished to fit any height wanted. Lots of hooks to hang wet jackets, sweatshirts, etc.. The bathtub/shower is a little high off the ground and a little dangerous getting out of if you have bad balance and wet feet. The television in the room is a nice-sized, flat-screen with channels in many languages and a Saas-Fee channel with webcams and weather reports. Overall very cozy, well equipped rooms for people with lots of clothes and hiking gear.

-Wifi: Super fast wifi with a router on every floor comes free with a stay at the lovely Hotel Bristol. The speed is always quick and with around 10-12 people per router, it never slows down.

-Housekeeping: Daily cleaning from wonderful housekeepers is great when your room is full of dirty hiking boots. They never fail to refresh the soaps or toilet paper, and the linens are changed every few days (very environmentally friendly hotel overall!!!!)

-Balcony: With a perfect location, the balcony view is always breathtaking. The partitions between each rooms' balcony is low and provides no privacy, but I appreciate how it offers a 180 degree view.


What we did not like about our stay at the Bristol:

------- nothing, it was perfect --------

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent a week in this hotel in July 2014. Family and staff members were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. Nothing was too much trouble for them. (I had a wonderful conversation with a cleaner. She did not speak any English and I did not speak any German but she smiled throughout and managed to solve my problem!) The food was outstanding; we thoroughly enjoyed every meal during our stay. All rooms were spotlessly clean and our bathroom was wonderful with a large comfy bath. The Bristol's location is wxcellent - at the edge of the village, with superb views but not too far to walk to reach the amenities of Saas Fee. We visited the resort because of its traffic free status and staying at the Bristol was the ' icing on the cake'.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have visited Sass Fee several times but this was our 1st time stay at the Bristol Hotel.
When we got there we were told that we had been upgraded to a family room as we were staying for longer than a week and what a lovely room it was with superb views over looking the glacier and mountains.

We stayed full board and the evening menu was pinned up every morning and if you there was something on the menu you wanted to chance they were more than happy to change it for you the manager even went to the trouble of ordering in our favourite cider! there was even a children's play area so the little ones don't get bored.

If you went into the ladies toilet downstairs, it had all the necessaties you could need, like deodrant, hairspray, face cleaner etc all for free usage. ( You don't get that in many hotels!)

When we left we were delighted to be given a going away present too as a reminder of our stay at the Bristol which I thought was a very nice gesture.

All the staff are warm and friendly and it must be difficult for them to remember which guest speaks which language!but nothing was any trouble for them.

If you are looking to stay in Sass Fee then not only is the Bristol a great hotel but it is perfectly situated with in easy distance of most of the ski lifts/cable car stations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SueFB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently spent four nights in the Bristol Hotel. It is a family run hotel and we were pleased to meet many members of the family including the Baumanns two children and dog Nora and two cats.

Herr Baumann could not have been more helpful. The menu for dinner was displayed in the morning and if you wanted to change it for something else there was no problem. He advised us regarding walks and even lent me his lap top!

All the staff are exceptionally friendly and most helpful.

We had planned to go when the meadow flowers were out and were fortunate enough to see them in all their glory.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We've stayed at the Bristol at least a half dozen times - after each stay thinking about our next trip. The hotel is located near the ski lifts, cows outside your window and snow covered peaks all around. The rooms are comfortable with great balconies overlooking the mountains. We always get half board - a breakfast that can fill my 19 year old son and an excellent four course dinner. Each morning on the way to breakfast, we get to look at the coming evening's menu and think about it while hiking the day away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was our first time in Saas Fee, but we will return next year and will stay at the Hotel Bristol. It is a very well run family hotel, with a strong focus on service. The owners really make you feel at home, and nothing is too much trouble. We took the half board option, and the food was excellent. They even baked a cake and decorated the table for my daughters birthday, which really summed up the whole feel of the hotel. We look forward to our return visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andy_R_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a wonderful family run hotel by people at the top of their game and with a wonderful team of people who just seem to want to deliver great service. From an efficient booking process to the warm welcome, the cheerful breakfast every morning or booking restaurants they never stop! We needed to leave at 6.30am to get back to Geneva so they put on breakfast at 6am for us and the owner ran us in the electric car up to the taxi/parking area (Sass Fee is car free) - just brilliant! Likewise, when you arrive if you phone ahead they will come an collect you for the 5 min transfer to the hotel.

The hotel location is perfect - right near the main ski lifts, apres ski bars (which really do quieten down/close by 7pm) and numerous great restaurants. There is an amazing view of the pistes/mountains and a lovely bubbling stream below. It's about as close to ski-in/out as you could wish for with just one flight of stairs and a terrace from the slopes to the boot room. There are numbered spaces for your skis and boots (which also have driers).

We stayed in room 101 - the newly created 'Panorama Suite' which has two bedrooms (1 double, 1 twin bunks), a modern family bathroom and a large living area. There are two TV's and a large balcony. It was superb and also very quiet. The beds were super comfortable too.

Wifi coverage is excellent throughout. We ate breakfast each day which offers lovely fruit salad, cereals, bread/toast etc and great tea/coffee. There is no hot food or porridge however. Lunch was also great - lots of good ski food and also amazingly fresh salads.

A great week at a wonderful family run hotel - thank you.

Room Tip: Panorama Suite is great for families. All rooms overlooking the ski area have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#3 of 47 in Saas-Fee
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 47 in Saas-Fee
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#13 of 47 in Saas-Fee
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#6 of 47 in Saas-Fee
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 47 in Saas-Fee
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Dorfstrasse 60, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range: £92 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski in & Ski out hotel only 1 minute away from the lifts and 2 minutes from the cable cars. All double rooms and family suites face south, feature a balcony and offer superb free mountain views. Well known for excellent cuisine and a good selected wine-list in a pleasant atmosphere. Wireless Wi-Fi is available and free of charge in all the rooms. In summer including all the cable cars and buses in the Saas Valley (except summer skiing). It is situated opposite the golf course, a football field and the tennis, volleyball and basketball courts. We please you with a wonderful view, in a very prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing