We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Saas Fee”
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We are coming to Saas Fee for more than 30 years now, and we stayed in a lot of hotels there. Hotel Christiana surely is a good place to stay. Very friendly and helpful managers, very nice and comfortable rooms, the price is OK as well. The location is very central. I can recommend Hotel Christiana.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Saas Fee - close to the pistes and ski lifts, shops and restaurants within walking distance. Clean modern room, good breakfasts, free wi-fi. There are ski room and wellness area in the hotel. Friendly staff and owners.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga_27Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our room on the third floor was very spacious, the location of the hotel in the middle of the main drag and within walking distance of ski lifts is excellent.
However, the most significant plus for this hotel is the attentive and friendly Burgener family who own and run it.
Only criticism would be that the beds are a little on the hard side, for me.
The breakfast was fresh and all the food on offer of good quality.

Room Tip: Pay for a room that is one a above the minimum price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 8 nights at this hotel. It is really very close to the slopes and the center of Saas Fee. It is quite comfortable, not noisy. They serve a continental breakfast, which is quite common for this region. The owners are very hospital and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A lovely, typically Swiss hotel in a perfect position, right in the centre of Saas Fee. Owned and efficiently run by the very welcoming Burgener family. The family presence was felt from the first moment when the son arrived very promptly to pick us up from the car park and the daughter welcomed us in to the hotel.
The rooms are well sized with fantastic views from the balcony and very comfy beds. The showers are excellent, hot and powerful - exactly what you need after a long day's skiing!
The ski room is very tidy, well organised and has boot heaters, meaning that boots are dry and warm every morning.
Breakfast is plentiful, hearty and healthy, evening 3 course meals in the hotel are well organised and good value for money. Frau Burgener runs a tight ship in the dining room and ensures that everyone is happy.
We spent New Year's Eve with the family, having celebrated New Year's Eve in a range of other ski resorts and countries around the world we can say with great confidence that this was the best New Year's Eve celebration we have ever had!!! A very unique experience - one which we hope continues for many decades to come.....Papa Burgener this is down to you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoebe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is perfect, situated in the middle of the village. We had the superior room on the third floor to the backside. It was quiet, clean and very comfortable and quite large. We appreciated the heated floor in the bathroom. The staff is friendly and the breakfast was varying with several alternatives. Especially the "healthy corner" and different kind of bread which we think was baked in the morning.
The hotel is close to the Alpin-express and 2 other lifts, about 6 min to walk. You have several nice restaurants close to the hotel, if you don't prefer dinner at the hotel which they offer about every second day. We chose to have dinner 2 times and it was very good, tasty and also the service was, as always, very good.

The facility for the ski equipment and ski boots was perfect. We had warm ski boots every morning, wonderful.
The hotel has a wellness area with 2 sauna and a relax room. We missed warm floor in this area otherwise it was ok.
We strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at backside are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl_Maria2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Clean room and comfortable places. Viewing from the balcony was excellent. The hotel is located in the middle of Saas-fee, so it is easy to catch the cable way. The owner of this hotel is very kind, I really enjoyed to talk with them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maano05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#1 of 47 in Saas-Fee
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
0.3 mi away
Popcorn Hotel
Popcorn Hotel
#20 of 47 in Saas-Fee
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#2 of 47 in Saas-Fee
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feehof Garni
Feehof Garni
#16 of 47 in Saas-Fee
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#13 of 47 in Saas-Fee
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Address: Dorfstrasse 19, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
#8 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range: £123 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christiania 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* hotel Christiania and Saas-Fee offer you perfect conditions for a recreative and active holiday in our beautiful Valais Alps. You can expect a unique mountain and glacier world with a stunning panorama in the car-free and pleasant village Saas-Fee. In our hotel Christiania you can relax and feel good in a family atmosphere. Our attractive offers make it easy for you to choose your holiday in Saas-Fee and to fulfill your holiday dreams. Our hotel offers 27 non-smoking rooms* with bathtub and showerhead or shower, toilet, hairdryer, safe, mini-fridge, cable-tv with radio (all with flat screen), alarm clock and info channel, direct dial telephone and free Wi-Fi internet access. 98% Of our rooms have a balcony with magnificent view to the mountain world of the Saas Valley The hotel has a elevator and is partly wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiania Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing