We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Hotel du Glacier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Glacier
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

just spent a week at one of the nicest hotels i have been, the area is beautiful and all the staff are just brilliant from the porter who collects you at the bus station to the reception staff,waiting staff,housekeeping etc etc.the food was excellent 4 courses of perfectly cooked and presented food.the rooms are excellent we had a glacier view well worth the extra,the bath and shower are so invigorating.this place is a must do sometime in your life or else you will be missing out

Room Tip: get a glacier room you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeble954031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    76
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
54
89
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I was very impressed with the Hotel du Glacier, and indeed with Saas Fee. The hotel is situated pretty much in the middle of the town, which in a sense is ideal as it’s not too far from anywhere. Unfortunately the two main lifts are on the edge of the town, which is a good 10 minute trek carrying skis. Even longer if you’re carrying two pairs of skis and have a wife dragging her heels behind you. There are some funny little buses and an even more peculiar little train that stop about 50 metres from the hotel and deposit you at the slopes, but they’re not regular enough, or at least they weren’t in January 2012, when a strong Swiss Franc resulted in a ghostly quiet resort.

The rooms at du Glacier are spacious with excellent bathrooms, and in my case a balcony with an outstanding view of one of the most picturesque parts of the alps. A DVD player is a welcome addition (there are a decent selection of DVDs available to loan from reception), as was the inclusion of a fridge. In fact the only problem with the room was the pillow. The first time I put my head on it I had to check it was still there. It simply disappeared. Squished to nothing! I rang reception and had an extra one sent up, but even with one on top of the other they still vanished under the weight of my noggin. Eventually I bound the two pillows together using the waist ties from our dressing gowns and produced an object that looked rather like a boiled sweet. Impressed with my engineering prowess I fell soundly asleep.

The spa area is especially good. Obviously a pool would have been nice, but the three little Jacuzzis, two saunas and a steam room create a pleasant and relaxing environment, just what you need after a day on the slopes. I never did work out why there were two saunas. I suspected that guests may be permitted to wear swimwear in one of them but wasn’t sure. To be on the safe side I remained in the buff (which as well as being more hygienic is indisputably more fun).

The food is as good as you get from a skiing hotel. I was delighted to find a large bowl of Bircher Muesli at the breakfast buffet, and I thoroughly recommend that future guests seek it out. It was delicious. Dinner was a fairly formal affair, with a choice being given at breakfast and then served at a time of your choosing. The choice was fairly limited, but I was never disappointed when it arrived. In fact, other than the ridiculous pillows I was not disappointed at all with the Hotel du Glacier and would be surprised if you are either.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeePhilipCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Wow! We absolutely loved staying at this hotel!! We had the most amazing 2-bedroomed suite which was perfect for a family and a real luxury in skiing terms. The staff were great, the restaurant in particular was very accommodating and brilliant with our kids. The spa facilities sadly didn't include a pool, and you had to pay to use one at the hotel over the road.
The childcare however, was amazing. Again at the hotel over the road but all free of charge and the kids had a great time.
The resort of Saas-Fee is also beautiful. I would highly recommend both the hotel and the resort. We loved it so much we considered going back during the Easter break, but the costs were prohibitive. Never mind, maybe next time... :)

Room Tip: If you can get a 2-room suite, it is really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCweary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My Partner and I stayed at the hotel du Glacier for 1 week back in late February 2012 early March (sorry for the late report, been a bit busy). The hotel was very pleasant and clean. The room we were allocated was both clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable, although if you are tall like me, the bed has a footer. TV mostly did don’t speak English (3 channels, sky news, CNN and a further BBC entertainment channel; however you could borrow DVD’s etc from reception. We further had a fridge in the room to keep the beer cold.

We stayed on a half board basis; breakfast was normal western affair, eggs, bacon, cereal, fruit, fresh bread etc. All done very well. The bar areas were both relaxing and comfortable. A smoking room was also offered for those of us that still smoke.

The hotel also had a second restaurant, below, a steak house. One of the best burgers I have ever eaten was to be found in that restaurant.

We only had one complaint, (the hotel staff, had no control over this) and that is the children seemed to be allowed to run riot throughout the hotel, the parents seem to have no control or chose to allow it (bless their hearts).

The hotel has a ski locker room and apparently a spa (I don’t do spa’s), the hotel also has a ski hire shop opposite, and iv very central for all the shops and stuff. All in all – a recommended hotel.

Room Tip: I got a corner room with two views of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surrey-Paul-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far North Queensland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My two daughters travelled here at the end of November as part of a 2 month European trip. We had been advised that snow was guarenteed all year. Unfortunately for us this was the one year there was no snow. The girls did get to ski on the glacier but not ideal for beginners. This is just bad luck. The hotel itself is really nice. We had like a small apartment with a sitting room. The food was good. The only thing I would say is check the snow situation before you go as was a 3 hour trek from Geneva airport after a long flight and unfortunately most things had limited opening as the season was not really underway . Highly reccomend the hotel

Room Tip: Check the season times and the likelihood of snow or you could find yourself like us with most thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaneko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were a group of people taking up a few twin rooms and a single. All were of a good size. There is a fridge in the room.

Good location in town with the supermarket, rental shops and restaurants near by and not too far to walk to the ski lifts.

We ate in the Feeloch restaurant one evening and had a superb meal. The staff were fun too! Just make sure you don't end up sat right by the oven as I was roasting and only had on a small t-shirt.

Breakfast was one of the best I have come across in this price range hotel in Switzerland.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of an Inghams package holiday - so we don't have a direct opinion of the costs. The hotel tariff through this package included a pass that gave free access to all cable cars, chair lifts etc and the local buses. Reckon this saved us £300.
This is a delightful, traditional hotel. It is near the centre of Saas Fee but not right in it and the rooms were quiet. We paid extra for a small balcony but this wasn't good value as, by the time we got back from our walking each day, it was in shade. We had half (?) board, which included excellent breakfasts, packed lunches and a four course evening meal - all excellent quality. Buying extras at the evening meal was expensive (alcohol, coffee and PLEASE NOTE - water!). Reception and catering staff were all very friendly and helpful. I lost my passport and they were very helpful then. There is an outdoor bar area which is very pleasant to sit in over a beer in the afternoon sunshine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stockfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.0 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#7 of 48 in Saas-Fee
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#26 of 48 in Saas-Fee
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Glacier

Property: Hotel du Glacier
Address: Blomattenstrasse 2, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the car-free village of Saas-Fee, Hotel du Glacier - The Dom Collection offers panoramic views of the Swiss Alps and a spa area with 2 saunas and a steam bath. The rooms at the Hotel du Glacier offer cable TV, a seating area, and a bathroom with hairdryer, bathrobes, and slippers. A minibar can be provided on request. The rich breakfast buffet is available from 07:30 to 10:30 at the Mondial restaurant. At the 4545 Coffee & Lounge or on the terrace you can spend some relaxing time over a cup of aromatic coffee, freshly prepared by the barista. In summer, all cable cars in the Saas Valley, except Metro Alpin and Längfluh, can be used free of charge when staying a minimum of 2 nights. At our KIDS CLUB “Knights Kingdom” we transform kids into knights and princesses for a day. Children from 18 months until 6 years are welcome from 08 am until 6pm. Reservations are obligatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Glacier Hotel
Du Glacier Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing