We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent raclette, good service”

Hotel Restaurant Tenne
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Tenne
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent raclette, good service”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Over the Easter weekend, we dined at the Restaurant Tenne. We called ahead for reservations which was imperative as they were busy. All of the staff spoke english. The service was very friendly and the restaurant was decorated in a typical Swiss manner. The hotel is located right across from Hotel Artemis.

We had a portion (100g) of the raclette, which is melted cheese with pickles, pickled onions and baby corn. It was very good.

We also had a portion of roesti (with ham and cheese), and found it to be very oily. I'm not sure if this is the typical way of making roesti but it was very heavy and really too oily to be very enjoyable.

We also had the schweizenschnitzel, which was similarly oily. Just a few weeks ago, we had wienerschnitzel at a restaurant in Vienna (which was great) and this schnitzel unfortunately did not fare well in comparison.

Despite this, we had a lovely evening and the service was good. While we felt the raclette was very good at this restaurant, the rest of our meal was fairly average. The pricing, however, was reasonable compared to the rest of Saas-Fee.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    15
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Although received not so good comments in advance, we tried it and we are happy we did. Great raclette (8.80 fr 130g) and even better fondue with herbs (29.90 fr) and another one with tomatos. We recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank basa-ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Our Swiss friends booked us into this hotel. We had our children (teen and early 20s) with us. The room, number 37, had a loft in it so they "kids" could stay in the room too. We much preferred this instead of renting two rooms. The room was 320 Swiss Francs per night which was though was reasonable given the accomodations. The hotel is very centrally located in Saas Fee. The room had a balcony and faced the mountains and glaciers and was on the 4th floor (Europeans start with 0 as the first floor - different for us Americans). A typical European breakfast was included - all you can eat - eggs, meats, cheeses. All very good. The owners of the restaurant were very helpful. The first night here they picked our luggage up at the bus terminal and took it to the hotel so we could go to dinner (it was late) at a restaurant. They checked us in the next morning with the typical Swiss, pleasant and helpful attitude. We highly recommend the hotel!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I really recommend this small hotel. We were so happy. The room was very clean and confortable. It had a beautiful view to the montains. The staff in the hotel was friendly. For a two stars it was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivkachaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

When I should pay the bill in the restaurant did I only get the choice of pay in NOK. I refused and let my buddy pay, with his Swiss visa card. When I arrived back home they had still charged my credit card. Be aware of this restaurant/hotel.

The food all tasted the same, at least the two different we tried. Be smart to choose something else, at least I'd do the next time I am in Saas-Fee.

More about paying in local currency:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_currency_conversion

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank svas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

i stayed with my wife for 3 days sep. 2010
the hotel is modern , clean and is situated in the center
sass fee is a good starting point for hiking
the hotel gives you a voucher for which you travel free on any bus or cable lift in the area
you can not enter with your car to the town, so riding free with the bs helps
the hotel has a very good restaurant (don't go elsewhere)
we recived guidance to where to go each day from the reception (always with a smile)
recomend this hotel highly.
breakfest continental but more the stasfactory

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeevIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2008

The Hotel Tenne is a perfect option to spend your holidays in Saas-Fee, first of all it´s owners are realy kind and helpful, the breakfast, meal and dinner (four courses) are quality prepared and quantity plenty. We always choose this hotel for our holidays and have stayed there three or four times and always glad to come back. It´s location is in the center, at main street, five minutes walking to the ski area in wich the hotel gives you a place for the skis. It´s also realy close to the parking and bus station. Thinking about location, meals, comfort, attention and price, we realy recomend this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanishtraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Artemis
Hotel Artemis
#14 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popcorn Hotel
Popcorn Hotel
#18 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walser
Hotel Walser
#32 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#24 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Tenne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Tenne

Property: Hotel Restaurant Tenne
Address: Saas-Fee CH-3906, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Tenne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Tenne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing