We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel but it's all a bit inadequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starling Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Sulpice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Someone went to a lot of trouble to make this hotel very....average. Yes, it's hyper modern and uber-designed in look, a bit cubist in an almost lake-side setting, with state-of-the-art plumbing, air con and flat screen tvs in the room, complete with modern art. First impressions are good.

But leave the reception and hunt the elevator (round the corner and a fair way down the corridor) and you realise it's all too much style and not enough substance. The building layout is confusing, why do you need two lifts to get from the car park to room?

Service was not all there. There appeared to be a staff shortage, I rang for help with the aircon to be left ringing and ringing. The integrated shower leaks water, the shampoo/shower gel (White Company) a nice designer touch.

Most irritating for a business traveller? Was wifi free - really? The instructions were not clear and appeared to say not (perhaps it was free downstairs only?)

The aircon also needs a clear instructions leaflet, I found it was impossible to turn off.

Being charged 20chf overnight for parking was arguably the most greedy extra charge I've seen in a while. Fair enough to charge parking in an inner city area but in St Sulplice, in the middle of nowhere? Where is one supposed to park when one has two heavy suitcases to lug - 100m away?

Minibars, long a staple of hotel overcharging - here it was grotesquely over the top. I'm glad I had a spare bottle of water in one of my bags.

The real disappointment, however, was the restaurant. Dinner was very expensive - 50chf for a very ordinary and quite gristly steak. Swiss entrecote, allegedly. And breakfast was much worse. Congealed scrambled egg and stone cold sausages and bacon. I handed my barely touched plate back to the waitress and said (in French): "It's all cold", to be met with an indifferent shrug. There was no suggestion that they'd make me something else that was hot so I had a yoghurt and some cheese with a coffee. Not much for the additional 25chf I was charged for breakfast.

Great view of the lake when you're in the restaurant but, to be frank, I'd rather have had a decent meal.

Service and approach both need improving for a hotel which seems to see itself as catering for the business traveller. Lausanne's EPFL is opposite. Perhaps academics employed there have lower standards? I don't know about them but I wouldn't bother staying again, there are better hotels in nearby Ouchy and in the centre of Lausanne.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaymanisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a business hotel for EPFL visitors, far away from downtown. The rooms are modern and have an unusual designer style. Therefore, inevitably, the rooms have impractical features. The showers tend to flood the bathroom floor and possibly even the room floor. The phone cable is not long enough to put it anywhere convenient. The window is very small even though the view could be nice (Lake Geneva, Alps). Phone calls are very expensive (CHF 5 for a local call). Staff in the restaurants (breakfast, dinner) are inefficient and confused. Expensive parking (CHF 20 / day), even though the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Easy walk to EPFL.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

a bit iffy. The reception desk was not manned so we had to hunt someone down.The layout is very strange and it took us quite awhile to find our room. The room was pleasant and comfortable though as is common with european hotels, 2 small beds pushed together=a king which means someone always falls through the gap.No bedside tables and the phone was in a nook next to the bathroom which was very inconvient. Great wall art though it was a bit strange to have Al Einstein staring at you. Breakfast was lackluster and they ran out of coffee! The location is good for EPFLuite awhilether but nothing else nearby.

Room Tip: try and get a terrace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandi31230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I dropped my daughter off to start an internship at EPFL. The hotel scored well on here and the price was reasonable at 135 Swiss francs/night. Free parking and Wifi. The hotel is nowhere near anything except EPFL. Very useful for us, as we wanted to explore there, but if you wanted to go to the lake or central Lausanne, not very useful at all. The free parking turned out to be a few spaces outside. If you used the underground car park as we had to do, then 20 Francs/day. The breakfast was a not very exciting buffet at 25 Francs/person. The hotel did give us a travel pass that covered central Lausanne and many other zones. We used this a lot as driving is confusing without a GPS and parking expensive. The room was excellent with comfy bed and good facilities and a creepy painting of a staring man and dog. Overall our stay was very good, but we felt that some signage about the parking and breakfast cost would have prevented the shock of 140 francs to pay at the end (approx £100 for 2 breakfasts and parking). Lausanne is expensive, so even going out for breakfast could easily cost you the same. Would I stay again? Only if i was doing the same again. When we go back with rest of family to visit, we will stay somewhere more central.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith4teeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights. I liked the room a lot, modern design, decent space, large bed, sleep quality was good. Most important for me was the proximity to EPFL where I was visiting a group.

The breakfast was not very impressive for this type of hotel. There was not much diversity at all even though it was a buffet. But this is typical for many hotels. It is rare to see one that stands out by the quality of their buffer breakfast.

It also seemed to me that the staff at the reception was moving quite slowly. Twice I had to wait in line more than I would have liked for service. They did not think to ask another staff member to come and help.

Overall, yes, things could be better, but for me the great location meant a lot and the room was very nice.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank hexalite2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The room is nice and clean. Wifi working very well, the shower was a little strange. Indeed in the area not so much to do, reccomend to find good places for dinner. Good option overall, I could return

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank drizz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed for one night and the hotel is modern and the bedrooms very well equipped and laid out. The choices at the Breakfast breakfast were varied and plentiful as well as being well laid out to avoid any queueing issues. All the staff seemed friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Sulpice
2.9 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
2.8 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
859 reviews
3.0 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
3.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
3.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starling Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Hotel Lausanne

Address: route Cantonale 31, Saint Sulpice, Lausanne 1025, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne > Saint Sulpice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Sulpice
Price Range: £102 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starling Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the doors of Lausanne, on the EPFL Campus the Starling Hotel Lausanne welcomes you in a modern and cosy environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Starling Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing