We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the offered service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starling Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Sulpice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

New and clean for sure.
Price of the room is extremely high!
Price of the breakfast is extremely high as well while the choice is very limited. Worst was not having a table and a seat as too much guest on the same time!
Personal is not friendly and quite arrogant.
Avoid if possible!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MhLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is inviting, very clean, efficiently decorated to the degree of being somewhat minimalistic. You find almost all what you need, and all of that in good order. Internet (WiFi) is privided free of charge (I received 2 access codes). There is a coffee/tea making facilities. The open bathroom concept is fine if you are alone or is traveling with your partner but certainly not suitable if you are sharing the room. Now about the costs. It is relatively expensive with over 200 CHF, what is a bit disturbing is that you have to pay extra for almost everything. The simple continental breakfast is 25 CHF,arking would add an other 20. When I wanted to use the MAC+printer in the lobby, to print my boarding pass, I was told that that costs extra too.
Overall, a conveniently located business hotel if you are visiting the EPFL campus.

Room Tip: At a walking distance from the impressive EPFL campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khoen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights for a congress taking place in the Beaulieu (city centre). During this time, it was very hard to get a room at all in Lausanne, and unless you were willing to pay very high prices you had to do with a room on the outskirts of Lausanne. So the Starling it was! Although the hotel is perfectly situated for those visiting the EPFL (which is right across the road) my trip to the Beaulieu took me on average 40 minutes, which is quite long, despite the fact that the metro and bus connections that I had to take were quite frequent. The hotel has very modern rooms with comfortable beds. The staff in the hotel is business-like friendly, but they are not overly active in helping you out with problems. For instance, when I wanted to check my email and found that there was a very slow internet connection inside the hotel room, the person behind the counter in the lobby kindly but courtly said there there was nothing he could do about it, after informing if perhaps I was busy downloading large amounts of data, which struck me if he was believing this was all my own fault. Staff in the hotel restaurant was very friendly however, and the food was good, as was the view across the lake. All in all it was not a bad hotel, which I can recommend.

Room Tip: As the hotel is located outside the city centre, I don't think there is much difference between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM_Botter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

As most people commented the hotel is a business hotel near the EPFL campus. Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Clean medium-size rooms, average breakfast. No drinks after 11 PM (?!). Five minutes walk to the lake. Excellent jogging (and walking) path at the lake.
Commuting to downtown (actually up the hill) is easy from EPFL station, the hotel provides free pass for the duration of the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a conference. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. However the first room they gave me had someone in it necessitating a long return trip to the desk with luggage after a long and tiring journey.
The breakfast is v poor and certainly not worth the high price - go to the student outlet up the hill...
The lake is a must - a short walk to a deserted promenade with waves lapping, boats sailing, sun shimmering on water...

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room in building 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Comfortable, modern and with excellent rooms, I used this when visiting EPFL. It is an easy walk through the campus (there are plenty of campus maps about) from the train stop. When next there, I will stay again.

Room Tip: I think they are all good, given my experience and what my colleagues said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Pete_Chipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a conference for 3 nights and I cannot say the hotel contributed anything to making it a pleasant stay. Even though the rooms are nicely decorated and the location of the hotel is with sight of the lake, the hotel lacks everything: there is a "old" smell in the rooms (the carpet in the room looks and feels old which is weird as it is a newish hotel?), the bathroom seemed somewhat unclean, the service at checkin, in the conference room and the restaurant/bar is simply non-existent. If you want anything to drink after 23h you are out of luck.

Also, the metro station is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, so it takes quite some time to get into town by public transport. Taxi is around 25/30 CHF into town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barca02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Sulpice
2.9 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
2.8 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
879 reviews
3 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
3 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 45 in Lausanne
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starling Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Hotel Lausanne

Address: route Cantonale 31, Saint Sulpice, Lausanne 1025, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne > Saint Sulpice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint Sulpice
Price Range: £100 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starling Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the doors of Lausanne, on the EPFL Campus the Starling Hotel Lausanne welcomes you in a modern and cosy environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Starling Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing