We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
74
161
66
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
161
66
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business hotel nearby university clean and modern hotel lake mountain view good sized rooms comfortable beds convenient hotel perfect stay bluetooth speaker business trip free pass metro station reception staff easy access breakfast was included public transportation yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

NIcely located near Ecole Polytechnic Federal de Lausanne, though far from Lausanne's center, it's a convenient hotel to stay for business and leisure as well. Given room was spacious and modern. Not 100% clean, noticed dark spots on the carpet, dark spots around the shower room and metal handle - need a thorough cleaning. One lacking item is a luggage rack, so improvised by using a chair. A/C unit is quiet which was a big plus. Service is good, friendly and obliging staff. Hotel's restaurant serves delicious food and dessert too! Overall, it was a great stay!!

Room Tip: High floors!d
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aida656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

I can recommend this hotel to people who like quiet place.
The service is really OK.
Very close to the Leman Lake, 10 minutes to the metro station,(free ticket valid for you stay), good cousin,
Very friendly staff.
Very good place to organize conference or congress.

Room Tip: I was there 3 times and every time had the same type of room so I cannot advise any other. The only problem for me was a pillow, too soft
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrzej Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricGerard, Responsable réception at Starling Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Andrzej,,

MAny thanks for taking the time to rate our property and share your experience with other travellers.

It is always a pleasure for us to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and would recommend our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Two night stay at this hotel for conference at nearby University. Standard was everything you would expect from a Swiss hotel. Super clean rooms, everything you need and everything works well! Very comfy bed. Positive experience in the restaurant for an evening meal. Only slight disappointment was breakfast, the food was good, but the buffet seemed to get overwhelmed and there was little welcome or help from staff, who seemed likewise over burdened by the whole thing.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricGerard, Responsable réception at Starling Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Diana,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to rate our property and share your experience with other travellers.

We acknowledge receipt of your constructive comments which helped us improve our service.
Indeed, we have had a few days lately with all guests coming to the restaurant for breakfast at the same time.
Our staff is well trained, however, at certain times, it may not be sufficient to avoid to have the fresh products prepared by our Chef, replenished in time.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The hotel is located 5km outside of Lausanne but is nearby the train station.
The best attraction of the hotel is the amazing views from the bedroom windows! Snow-kissed mountains with green grass - it's the picture-perfect postcard one envisions before coming to Switzerland!
The room is spacious and modern. The service is excellent. Overall, an excellent stay!

Room Tip: Check on hotel's website for deals. I booked on booking.com and paid more for the room than had I booked directly from the website!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricGerard, Front Office Manager at Starling Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Adil,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and share your experience with others.

It is always a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed so much your stay.

We'll let our teams know that you appreciated the service they provided.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your future trip to Lausanne.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

I stay here quite often as the hotel is very convenient for visiting friends, family and local sight seeing. Close to Lausanne, Morges but without the noise. Good sized rooms and some have great views of the lake and mountains. Breakfast is worth getting up for. Birchermuesli, cold meats, a variety of different breads and best of all....baked beans! These are no ordinary beans as they’ve been cooked with fresh tomatoes, carrots and smoked ham....absolutely yummy. Very friendly staff, underground parking and very often some great deals to be had. I should have given a 4.5 score but it wasn’t possible.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricGerard, Front Office Manager at Starling Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to rate our property and share your experience with other travellers.

It is always a pleasure for us to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and such nice comments about our staff and services.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews