We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on hearth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The hotel is nice , the rooms are comfortable the restaurant ermitage stube , we tried yesterday night :gorgeous and the SPA: amazing . Even the hairdresser is good ! We are so happy to be' here . We still have two days to stay and we are already sorry to leave

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GaiaPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
We thank you very much for your feedback on your holidays at the Ermitage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, especially the spa facilities and our restaurant. That you were sorry to leave is the greatest compliment for us, thank you so much. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to the Ermitage next year and wish you all the best in the meantime.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

Located in an ideal setting for gentle mountain walks and hikes throughout the year. Friendly and courteous staff. Easily accessible by train. Excellent food. Charming ambience. Our only gripe was being charged heavily for tap water!

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy road at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
Many thanks for your feedback on your holidays at the Ermitage! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your relaxing days in our beautiful Saanenland and thank you for your compliments on our staff. The water we serve in the restaurant is spring water from Schönried, which is processed in the hotel itself and can be served still or sparkling. The price is much less than one would pay for water in a bottle and is in a large part for the service (which is the same as if you would order bottled water) and less for the water itself. We thank you once again for your kind words on your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you to Schönried again in the future.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January 2013

We were disappointed with the following:

Room 521 (maybe there are similar rooms on the other floors) was very small and the window was facing the wall of the neighbouring buiding (around one meter apart), which means no view/light at all. Please make sure that your will get what you expect.

We were misinformed twice about the opening hours of the spa (including sauna): first time by e-mail, and then while checking in at the reception desk. If we had known that the sauna opens at 12.00 we would have planned our short stay differently.

Room Tip: Please double check with the hotel the view from your room. Otherwise, you may get a room with no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomasz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir
Tthank you very much for your feedback on your holiday at the Ermitage. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Room 521 indeed has a limited view. As your reservation was made on the day before arrival for a very busy weekend, this room was the only one left in the chosen category. Nonetheless, we should have informed you after receiving your reservation that this room had limited view, we apologize for not having done so. There are various opening hours for the sauna and again for the pools, which can lead to confusion for new staff members, as we have them at the moment. We sincerely regret this misinformation, even more so as it occured twice. We thank you again for giving us your honest feedback, please rest assured that these two points will be addressed internally so that they can be avoided in the future. We would greatly appreciate if you would favour us with another visit in the future in order for us to rectify your first impression of your hotel.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We have come here often as is one place you can really treat your self and feel good in every way. The rooms are comfortable as it can be expected, clean, large, great showers!! In the restaurant and bar are a first class!!! Totally recommend to have a romantic dinner in this place! Excellent food! The service was exceptional they always try to help in any way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. But the best of all the spa center, it is a must!! This is the part where you can relax and just spend many hours of pleasure in the hot swimming pools, saunas and have a massage to finish a great real Holliday!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
We thank you very much for your feedback on your renewed stay at the Ermitage and your great compliment! We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday, especially the spa and the restaurant, so much and will be most happy to pass on your compliments to our staff members. We look forward to welcoming you to Schönried again soon and wish you all the best for the new year.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This hotel should have a million and a half stars, just like the beautiful crystals surrounding the bar! We were greeted with a glass of champagne and a warm towel amidst the lovely reception area. We were the only Americans in the hotel, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and we were most comfortable. In particular, our server interpreted the menu, and she did her utmost to make our meals most enjoyable. All means were superb. The view from our room was spectacular. We enjoyed the thermal pool, massages, relaxation areas, the piano bar, dessert in the afternoon, our comfortable room, excellent service at the bar and cigar area and the library. We were most impressed with the staff, who were friendly, professional and efficient. We hope to make this a yearly trip.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Ermitage and your great compliment! We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us so much that you would like to make it a yearly trip and will be most happy to pass on your compliments to our crew.
We look forward to welcoming you to Schönried again soon and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Swiss luxury hotel at its best. It's not cheap, but the rooms are wonderful and on the park side you have great views of the mountains. However, what impressed me the most was the service. There were continually staff on-hand and more often than not, they seemed to know you were after something before you realized it yourself. Don't get me wrong - it wasn't intrusive at all - more like having a private butler, or a collection of them!
We had a junior suite, which others have said has a long corridor, off which there was a walk-in closet and large bathroom (with steam shower), before you get to the bed and lounge area. It is all beautifully decorated, with best quality materials and great attention to details. The balcony has a great view over the park and mountains.
We were on half-board and were very impressed with the restaurants. You have an assigned table in one of the 8 small "Stübli" which make up the dining area. This is a great innovation as you are seated with only a small number of other tables and don't have the impression of a large dining room. Each of the "Stübli" has its own character and they are all decorated differently. As you would expect, the food was of outstanding quality. A huge breakfast buffet, with juice presses, cook to order and a great selection of breads. The evening meal was presented with great care and staff emphasized we could have as much as we wanted (multiple starters, main courses or whatever we wanted).

Room Tip: The park rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your kind feedback on your stay at the Ermitage. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found our new restaurant dining rooms and the food to your liking. We try our utmost to offer a personal, dedicated and attentive service to our guests wherever possible and are of course delighted that you appreciated this. We thank you for your great compliments and will be happy to pass them on to our members of staff. We hope to welcome you to the Saanenland for another visit soon and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is one of the best hotels that I have used. I last stayed four years ago - t'was brilliant then! However the renovations have only imporved it.
I stayed in a single-room over-looking the road; in theory the worst room. However the new rooms are well air-conditioned, large for single rooms, great shower facilities and very comfortable. The noise reduction in the windows is excellent - no idea that i was facing the road! Equally the balcony was welcome.
The food on the half-board menu is excellent and very reasonable. Five or more courses for CHF20 is a bargain!
The spa is amazing. The range of facilities are to be beholden.
And as for the staff, quite the most welcoming, polite and best that I have ever enjoyed staying with.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those not facing the road; however even the road views are great and the views beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotinLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Sir/Madam
Many thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 2nd holiday at the Ermitage so much and thank you for your many compliments, which are highly appreciated. We are especially happy that you enjoyed your room so much, as the noise reduction in the newly built rooms to the street side was indeed one of our main goals. We would be happy to welcome you to the Ermitage for another visit soon and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schonried
1.9 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
413 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#13 of 21 in Gstaad
23 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
543 reviews
1.2 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
156 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 46, Schonried, Saanen 3778, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Schonried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Price Range: £209 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel is a typical Swiss Hotel in chalet style just above Gstaad in Schonried. It was re-opened in december 2011 after 9 months of extensive renovations. It offers several new highlights, such as the new piano-bar "One Million Stars" with one million sparkling Swarovski-stones, the two-storied panorama hall "Bargblick" which offers a grand view of the mountains and invites you to linger. In our new library "Lasi-Stube" you can take your time to browse our books. The hotel also offers 96 non-smoking rooms, accompanied walks and excursions in the mountains (Mountain biking / river rafting / excursions, downhill and cross-country skiing during winter with our sports staff), and In- and out¬door salt water pool (35°C), outdoor-sportpool 17x10m (28-32°C), a Sauna centre (Finnish sauna "Schnapsbrennerei", precious stone grotto "Amethyst", Turkish steam bath "Tropicana", herbal sauna and “Solegrotte”, tepidarium, biosauna) and a Ladies spa and whirlpool. Please note, the saunas (except Ladies spa) are a mixed naked area. “Vitalita" with hayseed bath, Cleopatra bath, herbal bathes, oriental Rasul, "Golden Nostalgica". Beauty salon. Cardio-controlled running / fitness training. Own fully equipped sports shop for ski rental and ski service. The nearest ski lift is the Rellerli lift, which is just opposite the hotel about 150 m away, the second nearest is the Horneggli only a three minute walk away. Both lifts belong to the Gstaad Mountain Rides area with a total of 62 lifts and 250 km of skiing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness- And Spa-Hotel Ermitage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing