We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

If you're looking for a great vacation with no worries. This is the place to be.
Since the renovation this hotel has gained even more status.
The restaurants are superbly decorated. The personnel is kind and attentive. The cuisine is refined and the rooms are gorgeous.

We have already booked our next vacation here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
We thank you very much for your feedback on your vacation at the Ermitage. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found the renovation so much to your liking. We will be happy to pass on your kind compliments to our staff and very much look forward to welcoming you to the Saanenland again for your next holiday.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have been coming to the region for the last 10 years and during that time I spent the first 5 years at L'Ermitage. After an absence of a several years I returned. The hotel has had major expansion and renovation. I personally do not like the "new" hotel, as I find the decoration chaotic and lacking direction and good taste. There are still many positive elements left over, like the occasional cosy Swiss chalet feeling, however one cannot ignore the very gaudy Saworski crystal bar which is completely out of place in this hotel. The service is also not to up to pare with what I have come to expect from Swiss hotels. The cleaning of the rooms was rudimentary and only the bare necessary was done. Luckily the the food at the restaurant was still good as before...The staff although polite were not exceptional or remarkable. I am not sure if I will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
We thank you for your feedback on your holidays at the Ermitage. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the hotel to your taste after the renovation. We kept strictly to the chalet style and also gave high importance to keeping the familiar cosy ambiance whilst giving it a more modern touch. Unfortunately, we cannot suit the taste of every guest, however we are happy that you still found some elements to your liking. We apologize if you found the standard of the room cleaning and the service of the staff lacking and will of course adress these points with the respective heads of department. We would highly appreciate if you would favour us with another visit to give us the chance to make up for these last two points.
Kind regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The hotel is nice , the rooms are comfortable the restaurant ermitage stube , we tried yesterday night :gorgeous and the SPA: amazing . Even the hairdresser is good ! We are so happy to be' here . We still have two days to stay and we are already sorry to leave

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GaiaPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
We thank you very much for your feedback on your holidays at the Ermitage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, especially the spa facilities and our restaurant. That you were sorry to leave is the greatest compliment for us, thank you so much. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to the Ermitage next year and wish you all the best in the meantime.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Located in an ideal setting for gentle mountain walks and hikes throughout the year. Friendly and courteous staff. Easily accessible by train. Excellent food. Charming ambience. Our only gripe was being charged heavily for tap water!

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy road at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
Many thanks for your feedback on your holidays at the Ermitage! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your relaxing days in our beautiful Saanenland and thank you for your compliments on our staff. The water we serve in the restaurant is spring water from Schönried, which is processed in the hotel itself and can be served still or sparkling. The price is much less than one would pay for water in a bottle and is in a large part for the service (which is the same as if you would order bottled water) and less for the water itself. We thank you once again for your kind words on your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you to Schönried again in the future.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January 2013

We were disappointed with the following:

Room 521 (maybe there are similar rooms on the other floors) was very small and the window was facing the wall of the neighbouring buiding (around one meter apart), which means no view/light at all. Please make sure that your will get what you expect.

We were misinformed twice about the opening hours of the spa (including sauna): first time by e-mail, and then while checking in at the reception desk. If we had known that the sauna opens at 12.00 we would have planned our short stay differently.

Room Tip: Please double check with the hotel the view from your room. Otherwise, you may get a room with no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomasz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir
Tthank you very much for your feedback on your holiday at the Ermitage. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Room 521 indeed has a limited view. As your reservation was made on the day before arrival for a very busy weekend, this room was the only one left in the chosen category. Nonetheless, we should have informed you after receiving your reservation that this room had limited view, we apologize for not having done so. There are various opening hours for the sauna and again for the pools, which can lead to confusion for new staff members, as we have them at the moment. We sincerely regret this misinformation, even more so as it occured twice. We thank you again for giving us your honest feedback, please rest assured that these two points will be addressed internally so that they can be avoided in the future. We would greatly appreciate if you would favour us with another visit in the future in order for us to rectify your first impression of your hotel.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We have come here often as is one place you can really treat your self and feel good in every way. The rooms are comfortable as it can be expected, clean, large, great showers!! In the restaurant and bar are a first class!!! Totally recommend to have a romantic dinner in this place! Excellent food! The service was exceptional they always try to help in any way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. But the best of all the spa center, it is a must!! This is the part where you can relax and just spend many hours of pleasure in the hot swimming pools, saunas and have a massage to finish a great real Holliday!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
We thank you very much for your feedback on your renewed stay at the Ermitage and your great compliment! We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday, especially the spa and the restaurant, so much and will be most happy to pass on your compliments to our staff members. We look forward to welcoming you to Schönried again soon and wish you all the best for the new year.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This hotel should have a million and a half stars, just like the beautiful crystals surrounding the bar! We were greeted with a glass of champagne and a warm towel amidst the lovely reception area. We were the only Americans in the hotel, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and we were most comfortable. In particular, our server interpreted the menu, and she did her utmost to make our meals most enjoyable. All means were superb. The view from our room was spectacular. We enjoyed the thermal pool, massages, relaxation areas, the piano bar, dessert in the afternoon, our comfortable room, excellent service at the bar and cigar area and the library. We were most impressed with the staff, who were friendly, professional and efficient. We hope to make this a yearly trip.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Ermitage and your great compliment! We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us so much that you would like to make it a yearly trip and will be most happy to pass on your compliments to our crew.
We look forward to welcoming you to Schönried again soon and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schonried
2.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#13 of 21 in Gstaad
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#2 of 3 in Schonried
82 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 13 in Lenk im Simmental
756 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golfhotel les Hauts de Gstaad
2.5 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 46, Schonried, Saanen 3778, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Schonried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Price Range: £252 - £603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel is a typical Swiss Hotel in chalet style just above Gstaad in Schonried. It was re-opened in december 2011 after 9 months of extensive renovations. It offers several new highlights, such as the new piano-bar "One Million Stars" with one million sparkling Swarovski-stones, the two-storied panorama hall "Bargblick" which offers a grand view of the mountains and invites you to linger. In our new library "Lasi-Stube" you can take your time to browse our books. The hotel also offers 96 non-smoking rooms, accompanied walks and excursions in the mountains (Mountain biking / river rafting / excursions, downhill and cross-country skiing during winter with our sports staff), and In- and out¬door salt water pool (35°C), outdoor-sportpool 17x10m (28-32°C), a Sauna centre (Finnish sauna "Schnapsbrennerei", precious stone grotto "Amethyst", Turkish steam bath "Tropicana", herbal sauna and “Solegrotte”, tepidarium, biosauna) and a Ladies spa and whirlpool. Please note, the saunas (except Ladies spa) are a mixed naked area. “Vitalita" with hayseed bath, Cleopatra bath, herbal bathes, oriental Rasul, "Golden Nostalgica". Beauty salon. Cardio-controlled running / fitness training. Own fully equipped sports shop for ski rental and ski service. The nearest ski lift is the Rellerli lift, which is just opposite the hotel about 150 m away, the second nearest is the Horneggli only a three minute walk away. Both lifts belong to the Gstaad Mountain Rides area with a total of 62 lifts and 250 km of skiing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness- And Spa-Hotel Ermitage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing