We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE LUXURY OF WELLNESS SUITE NBR 903, ON OUR 3RD STAY OCCASION IN HOTEL ERMITAGE.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“THE LUXURY OF WELLNESS SUITE NBR 903, ON OUR 3RD STAY OCCASION IN HOTEL ERMITAGE.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Wellness Suite number 903, from 18-22.04.2014, on my birthday celebration. We knew this hotel very well, as it was already our 3rd stay there. Unfortunately, my birthday felt on Easter period, which is a peak season for this Hotel, therefore it was quite full of guests... We were really impressed by the high quality and luxury of our Wellness Suite number 903, last floor and located just above the pools. This Suite is provided with a private hammam (which is working perfectly !) and a large private jaccuzzi with bubbles, also excellent. You have 2 beds downstairs and 2 more beds upstairs, the place is really big and enjoyable. If you can afford it, do not hesitate, you will for sure not regret it.
We also liked very much the quality of the service provided by the friendly, helpful, dedicated staff working at the restaurant, at reception and inside the hotel generally speaking, really there is nothing to complain about them, they are doing GREAT job ! Special thanks to the excellent and friendly Director, Mr Stefan Walliser and to our favorite staff in the restaurant area, Mr Grässli, whom you will easily hear every morning and evening with his strong voice and his ultimate sense of humour, he really is a personnage of this hotel, I'm looking forward to meet him again with pleasure. Hotel maintenance et renovations are just perfect. All is very clean and there is a general smell which is very nice. Don't hesitate to have a drink to the wonderful Million Stars Bar, with its exceptionnal lights effects, changing colors from white to green, to yellow, to red, to blue, etc.
Now about the Spa area : please be aware that most of the sauna/turkish bath area are totally nude area, meaning without bathing costum and without towels, which we find out to be a kind of discrimination ! My wife is beautiful, young and pretty and I certainly don't want other men to watch and to look at her while being nude ! Therefore why guests whom refuse to show themselves totally nude in front of others can not access such nice and coisy sauna and turkish bath places ? If people want to have a towel around their genitals, then it should be no problem and it should not be prohibited as it is the case actually, respect private intimacy and public hygiene. Furthermore, we saw some people inside the outdoor pool, inside the Spa area and in public area around the pool with not very nice intentions in their eyes/attitude/behaviour regarding others, specially when young women were around... We also noticed that people, external from Hotel guests, were also able to come to the pool and Spa area, which is not a good idea !!! It means less privacy for the Hotel guests (specially during a peak season...), less educated people in their attitude/behavior (did not take shower before entering bath area, single old men watching women, etc.).

So, to resume our stay, we will say that :

Positive points :
--------------------
1) Staff attitude and professionalism.
2) Cleanliness of the Hotel and Spa area.
3) Wellness Suite 903 is top luxury and class, with private hammam and jaccuzzi.
4) Food and quality of the service offered inside the restaurant.
5) Complimentary bottles of water, every day inside the Suite and a 0,2dl of sparkling wine once.
6) Automatic light system inside bedroom (if you wake up by night, a small light is coming on).
7) Free newspaper every morning (Le Temps).
8) Live piano and music in the evening next to Million Stars Bar.
9) Excellent cocktails made by the barwoman of Million Stars Bar.

Points to be aware of :
----------------------------
1) Expect to find a lot of dogs inside the Hotel, as it is a dog friendly place ! Well, personnally I did not like to see/hear dogs inside the restaurant while I was eating on my birthday dinner, they were noisy, probably not very clean and I guess dogs should not legally be authorized to stay where there is food for humans...
2) On my birthday, I booked a candle night dinner for two, unfortunately, due to a staff mistake, they completely missed it and we received our normal table (in Laurenz Stube), while a table specially prepared for the occasion was waiting for us on another part of the restaurant (in Ermitage Stube) ! A waiter came to inform us about the mistake, so we had to celebrate it the next day... Furthermore, I requested a black forest birthday cake, which actually came as a white forest cake, strange...
3) Coffee at breakfast is given by cup only, so you will have to request another one or to go by yourself if you want one more cup...
4) It was generally speaking quite hot inside our Wellness Suite, as we could not reduce the temperature, we had to open the windows during the night to cool down the Suite...
5) You can eat cakes every day from 15:00-17:00 next to the reception, a lot of choice and very good ones !
6) Inside the Spa area, you can find a special place for women called Lady's Spa (only for women). And what about Men's Spa, it does not exist ???

So, we are really satisfied of our stay and we will definitively come back to this excellent hotel, but in a low season period, with good weather garantee as we did not see much the sun during our stay and hopefully with possibility to use the Spa area with a towel next time...

I'll soon add some photos of our Wellness Suite and of our stay, so that you can see what I'm talking about. Enjoy and see you there once maybe.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to ask for Wellness Suite nbr 903 or 902 if you can afford it, it's the BEST cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sir
We thank you very much for your kind and detailed review on your stay at the Ermitage. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us so much and thank you for your many compliments, which we will be happy to pass on to our staff. Concerning your input about the spa, we presume there must have been a misunderstanding, for which we sincerely apologize. The use of a towel to cover yourself is in fact allowed in all our dry saunas, it is only prohibited in the steam baths due to hygienic reasons. Outside of the saunas and steam baths, our guests can of course carry their bathrobes. We are also very sorry about the mistake for your birthday dinner, this should not have happened. We will address the matter of the dogs with the responsible manager, as they are actually only allowed in one of the dining rooms, to respect the privacy of our guests who do not wish to dine near dogs. We thank you once again for your kind compliments and valuable input and look forward to welcoming you to the Ermitage for another visit soon.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    45
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
153
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed 8 nights in this excellent hotel. The food was fabulous and the service could not have been any better not only in the restaurant but throughout the whole hotel. The restaurant manager was so friendly and gave us wonderful service. The salt water pool was the best as it was half inside and half outside and beautifully warm with massage jets all round the edges. We stayed in it for hours on end. There was a very high standard in the rooms and the whole place was spotless. We also made good use of the fruit and vegetable juicers at breakfast. I will certainly take our wee Scottish clan back again!

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful and the kids were sad to leave they were treated so well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir
Many thanks for your kind review on your holiday at the Ermitage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you were able to especially benefit from our spa facilities. We thank you for your many compliments and will be thrilled to welcome your family and you to Schönried again for another stay.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel and the restaurant were awesome. My son had his birthday and they gave him a nice birthday card. On friday evening, the menu was a fix menu but really an outstanding one, we didn't have to order a special one as it was really a birthday one. The spa is really one of the biggest in switzerland. We will surely return to this place again. Although the rooms were overheated it is really a nice place to go. In the village there is not a lot of shops but you can easily reach Gstaad by train or bus or car for that. We used the shuttle service to pick up a member of our family and that was really of good help, avoiding us to get out of the spa to pick our son from the station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiFlorent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Ermitage. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us so much and that your son's birthday was a success. We will be happy to pass on your many compliments to our staff and look forward to welcoming your family and you to Schönried again for a future stay.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here just one night while my family was here for a week. It appeared quite expensive to me at first but it's a great hotel. I had a single room with simple furnishing and single bed, but my sister had a very spacious room with steam bath and bathtub. Both rooms had balconies.
Wellness on site. We had half board and lunch menu is only 25chf (for 3 courses) for hotel guests. Very good food with usually 3 choices for each course for dinner, extensive breakfast buffet. They also have a children's menu and are generally very family friendly.
Free WiFi available. Very friendly and personal service. Ski equipment shop/rental in house as well as kiosk, flower shop. And of course you can get ski passes at the reception. Piano player in afternoon and evening in lobby/bar. Would stay again, worth the money! (264chf for one night, single room w half board)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ivobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir
Many thanks for your kind review on your short stay at the Ermitage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us so much and that you were able to benefit from most of our facilities. We thank you for your many compliments and would be thrilled to welcome you to Schönried again for another stay and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I gave the Pamper Day as a Christmas gift to my boyfriend, and decided to join also!
185chf pp for 2 treatments each ( Salt peel and full body massage were both so relaxing), light snacks, a glass of champagne and full use of spa / pool area proved to be fantastic value for money. The view from the lounger is alone worth paying for ! The warm water outdoor pool was wonderful and the various spa facilities well worth taking the time to check out.
Staff were extremely attentive and discrete, Claudia, Maria and Stefanie were the 3 names I remember. And Special Thanks to Elias at Reception who helped with my initial inquiry.

Thanks for a great day.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Madam
We thank you very much for your kind review on your pamper day at the Ermitage. We are thrilled that your boyfriend and you enjoyed your day at our spa so much and trust that you were able to completely unwind and recharge your batteries. We will be happy to pass on your compliments to our staff members, thank you very much!
We wish you a wonderful start into the new year and hope to welcome to Schönried again soon.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bachenbülach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel is very good. Very nice SPA area and outdoor heated swimming pool. Staff is very polite and friendly. We will definitely visit this hotel once again......................................................................................................

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan

Helpful?
Thank 188greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback on your stay at the Hotel Ermitage and your compliments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holidays with us so much and look forward to welcoming you to the Saanenland again soon.
Best regards from Schönried,
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce and Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for 1 night to relax. Reception was very welcoming, car and luggage were immediately taken care of. The sauna area is fantastic with all the different options, it was quiet and not crowded and has a very nice view.
Everything at the dinner with its 5 courses was excellent except the main courses, which were just average. Inspite of all the possibilites to choose, the selection of vegetarian menues was very limited. Breakfast buffet was really nice.
Overall a very relaxing stay and hotel staff is attentive to the details.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback on your stay at the Hotel Ermitage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holidays with us so much. We are sorry to hear you found the selection of vegetarian dishes limited, we will certainly look into this matter. We thank you for your many compliments and hope to welcome you to the Ermitage again for another stay soon.
Best regards from Schönried,
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schonried
1.9 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#18 of 21 in Gstaad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#2 of 3 in Schonried
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golfhotel les Hauts de Gstaad
7.9 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Property: ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 46, Schonried, Saanen 3778, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Schonried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel is a typical Swiss Hotel in chalet style just above Gstaad in Schonried. It was re-opened in december 2011 after 9 months of extensive renovations. It offers several new highlights, such as the new piano-bar "One Million Stars" with one million sparkling Swarovski-stones, the two-storied panorama hall "Bargblick" which offers a grand view of the mountains and invites you to linger. In our new library "Lasi-Stube" you can take your time to browse our books. The hotel also offers 96 non-smoking rooms, accompanied walks and excursions in the mountains (Mountain biking / river rafting / excursions, downhill and cross-country skiing during winter with our sports staff), and In- and out¬door salt water pool (35°C), outdoor-sportpool 17x10m (28-32°C), a Sauna centre (Finnish sauna "Schnapsbrennerei", precious stone grotto "Amethyst", Turkish steam bath "Tropicana", herbal sauna and “Solegrotte”, tepidarium, biosauna) and a Ladies spa and whirlpool. Please note, the saunas (except Ladies spa) are a mixed naked area. “Vitalita" with hayseed bath, Cleopatra bath, herbal bathes, oriental Rasul, "Golden Nostalgica". Beauty salon. Cardio-controlled running / fitness training. Own fully equipped sports shop for ski rental and ski service. The nearest ski lift is the Rellerli lift, which is just opposite the hotel about 150 m away, the second nearest is the Horneggli only a three minute walk away. Both lifts belong to the Gstaad Mountain Rides area with a total of 62 lifts and 250 km of skiing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness- And Spa-Hotel Ermitage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing