We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Ermitage in Schoenried is a superb hotel offering a great slice of that germanic luxury that the Germans, Austrians and Swiss do so well. The location of the hotel is very good with good views from the terrace and pool (though also backing onto the infrequently run train line) up to the mountains in the distance. However the hotel is on the main road which runs through the region so the front of the property is exposed to a lot of traffic - or room was on the front and as the room has no aircon we had quite a lot of traffic noise coming through our open windows. The room itself was pleasant and clean but on the small side especially as we had a baby in a cot - though the hotel happily provided the cot for us. The hotel was very good in general when it came to our baby - they happliy provided high chair for breakfast, heated up baby food, and (for CHF35/hr) babysat so we could enjoy dinner downstairs. However this is not a hotel best enjoyed with a small child - the common areas, though very nice, are quiet and so we ended up spending quite a lot of time in our room. The wellness area is new, large and extremely pleasant. The restaurant is very good too - fantastic plentiful breakfasts and superb dinners. The 18 cheese buffet course (every night) was a bit of a highlight for me. However don't be fooled into thinking there is more than one restaurant here, there is not, rather the restaurant has several rooms which differ in style but not food, you can try different ones if you like but we didn't see the point. Finally the staff are very nice. Both of the ladies we had look after our daughter were extremely pleasant, and the bell boys were courteous and helpful. The waiting staff were great and generally very eager to practice their English as most guests are Swiss, and the Maitre'd is a welcoming ebullient character despite his sometimes grumpy demeanour.

Overall this is a great choice in the area, and with some judicious room selection would guarantee a superb holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_UKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam

Thank you very much for your detailed and great review regarding your stay at the Hotel Ermitage. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the Hotel, especially the Wellness area, the Restaurant and the friendliness of our staff. We assure you that children are always welcome to the Hotel, although you are correct in saying that our Hotel focusses mainly on Wellness. Should you have any questions or wishes, please don't hesitate contacting us. Kind regards, Constanze Zietz, Head of Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was a really relaxing and beautiful experience in the SPA Hotel Ermitage. Right from the beginning I felt at home and welcomed. The rooms to the garden where perfect with a nice balcony and view to the mountains. The SPA is great, clean and there are enough choices for everyone. Also the restaurant served really good food with an outstanding variety of different cheese for dessert. I just felt a bit older then usual in the bar, not because of all young guests around us but the music was really a bit old style.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hansjoerg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Hansjoerg

We thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the time you have spent with us! We will share your comment with our staff as they will be motivated and happy! We hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards,
Jasmin Helwig
Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

One of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in while vacationing in the Alps. All the services are excellent, the staff is superb, the restaurant wonderful. We stayed twice, and in two different suites. We have greatly enjoyed both of them. The swimming heated pools in the park are extremely relaxing. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AugustoPellegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Mr. Pellegrini,

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your last stay at the Hotel Ermitage in Schönried. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, especially our Services and the Restaurant. We hope to be welcoming you again in the future and stay at your disposal for any questions.

Kind regards
Constanze Zietz
Head of Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Wellness Suite number 903, from 18-22.04.2014, on my birthday celebration. We knew this hotel very well, as it was already our 3rd stay there. Unfortunately, my birthday felt on Easter period, which is a peak season for this Hotel, therefore it was quite full of guests... We were really impressed by the high quality and luxury of our Wellness Suite number 903, last floor and located just above the pools. This Suite is provided with a private hammam (which is working perfectly !) and a large private jaccuzzi with bubbles, also excellent. You have 2 beds downstairs and 2 more beds upstairs, the place is really big and enjoyable. If you can afford it, do not hesitate, you will for sure not regret it.
We also liked very much the quality of the service provided by the friendly, helpful, dedicated staff working at the restaurant, at reception and inside the hotel generally speaking, really there is nothing to complain about them, they are doing GREAT job ! Special thanks to the excellent and friendly Director, Mr Stefan Walliser and to our favorite staff in the restaurant area, Mr Grässli, whom you will easily hear every morning and evening with his strong voice and his ultimate sense of humour, he really is a personnage of this hotel, I'm looking forward to meet him again with pleasure. Hotel maintenance et renovations are just perfect. All is very clean and there is a general smell which is very nice. Don't hesitate to have a drink to the wonderful Million Stars Bar, with its exceptionnal lights effects, changing colors from white to green, to yellow, to red, to blue, etc.
Now about the Spa area : please be aware that most of the sauna/turkish bath area are totally nude area, meaning without bathing costum and without towels, which we find out to be a kind of discrimination ! My wife is beautiful, young and pretty and I certainly don't want other men to watch and to look at her while being nude ! Therefore why guests whom refuse to show themselves totally nude in front of others can not access such nice and coisy sauna and turkish bath places ? If people want to have a towel around their genitals, then it should be no problem and it should not be prohibited as it is the case actually, respect private intimacy and public hygiene. Furthermore, we saw some people inside the outdoor pool, inside the Spa area and in public area around the pool with not very nice intentions in their eyes/attitude/behaviour regarding others, specially when young women were around... We also noticed that people, external from Hotel guests, were also able to come to the pool and Spa area, which is not a good idea !!! It means less privacy for the Hotel guests (specially during a peak season...), less educated people in their attitude/behavior (did not take shower before entering bath area, single old men watching women, etc.).

So, to resume our stay, we will say that :

Positive points :
--------------------
1) Staff attitude and professionalism.
2) Cleanliness of the Hotel and Spa area.
3) Wellness Suite 903 is top luxury and class, with private hammam and jaccuzzi.
4) Food and quality of the service offered inside the restaurant.
5) Complimentary bottles of water, every day inside the Suite and a 0,2dl of sparkling wine once.
6) Automatic light system inside bedroom (if you wake up by night, a small light is coming on).
7) Free newspaper every morning (Le Temps).
8) Live piano and music in the evening next to Million Stars Bar.
9) Excellent cocktails made by the barwoman of Million Stars Bar.

Points to be aware of :
----------------------------
1) Expect to find a lot of dogs inside the Hotel, as it is a dog friendly place ! Well, personnally I did not like to see/hear dogs inside the restaurant while I was eating on my birthday dinner, they were noisy, probably not very clean and I guess dogs should not legally be authorized to stay where there is food for humans...
2) On my birthday, I booked a candle night dinner for two, unfortunately, due to a staff mistake, they completely missed it and we received our normal table (in Laurenz Stube), while a table specially prepared for the occasion was waiting for us on another part of the restaurant (in Ermitage Stube) ! A waiter came to inform us about the mistake, so we had to celebrate it the next day... Furthermore, I requested a black forest birthday cake, which actually came as a white forest cake, strange...
3) Coffee at breakfast is given by cup only, so you will have to request another one or to go by yourself if you want one more cup...
4) It was generally speaking quite hot inside our Wellness Suite, as we could not reduce the temperature, we had to open the windows during the night to cool down the Suite...
5) You can eat cakes every day from 15:00-17:00 next to the reception, a lot of choice and very good ones !
6) Inside the Spa area, you can find a special place for women called Lady's Spa (only for women). And what about Men's Spa, it does not exist ???

So, we are really satisfied of our stay and we will definitively come back to this excellent hotel, but in a low season period, with good weather garantee as we did not see much the sun during our stay and hopefully with possibility to use the Spa area with a towel next time...

I'll soon add some photos of our Wellness Suite and of our stay, so that you can see what I'm talking about. Enjoy and see you there once maybe.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to ask for Wellness Suite nbr 903 or 902 if you can afford it, it's the BEST cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Sir
We thank you very much for your kind and detailed review on your stay at the Ermitage. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us so much and thank you for your many compliments, which we will be happy to pass on to our staff. Concerning your input about the spa, we presume there must have been a misunderstanding, for which we sincerely apologize. The use of a towel to cover yourself is in fact allowed in all our dry saunas, it is only prohibited in the steam baths due to hygienic reasons. Outside of the saunas and steam baths, our guests can of course carry their bathrobes. We are also very sorry about the mistake for your birthday dinner, this should not have happened. We will address the matter of the dogs with the responsible manager, as they are actually only allowed in one of the dining rooms, to respect the privacy of our guests who do not wish to dine near dogs. We thank you once again for your kind compliments and valuable input and look forward to welcoming you to the Ermitage for another visit soon.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed 8 nights in this excellent hotel. The food was fabulous and the service could not have been any better not only in the restaurant but throughout the whole hotel. The restaurant manager was so friendly and gave us wonderful service. The salt water pool was the best as it was half inside and half outside and beautifully warm with massage jets all round the edges. We stayed in it for hours on end. There was a very high standard in the rooms and the whole place was spotless. We also made good use of the fruit and vegetable juicers at breakfast. I will certainly take our wee Scottish clan back again!

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful and the kids were sad to leave they were treated so well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir
Many thanks for your kind review on your holiday at the Ermitage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you were able to especially benefit from our spa facilities. We thank you for your many compliments and will be thrilled to welcome your family and you to Schönried again for another stay.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel and the restaurant were awesome. My son had his birthday and they gave him a nice birthday card. On friday evening, the menu was a fix menu but really an outstanding one, we didn't have to order a special one as it was really a birthday one. The spa is really one of the biggest in switzerland. We will surely return to this place again. Although the rooms were overheated it is really a nice place to go. In the village there is not a lot of shops but you can easily reach Gstaad by train or bus or car for that. We used the shuttle service to pick up a member of our family and that was really of good help, avoiding us to get out of the spa to pick our son from the station.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiFlorent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Ermitage. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us so much and that your son's birthday was a success. We will be happy to pass on your many compliments to our staff and look forward to welcoming your family and you to Schönried again for a future stay.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here just one night while my family was here for a week. It appeared quite expensive to me at first but it's a great hotel. I had a single room with simple furnishing and single bed, but my sister had a very spacious room with steam bath and bathtub. Both rooms had balconies.
Wellness on site. We had half board and lunch menu is only 25chf (for 3 courses) for hotel guests. Very good food with usually 3 choices for each course for dinner, extensive breakfast buffet. They also have a children's menu and are generally very family friendly.
Free WiFi available. Very friendly and personal service. Ski equipment shop/rental in house as well as kiosk, flower shop. And of course you can get ski passes at the reception. Piano player in afternoon and evening in lobby/bar. Would stay again, worth the money! (264chf for one night, single room w half board)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank ivobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir
Many thanks for your kind review on your short stay at the Ermitage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us so much and that you were able to benefit from most of our facilities. We thank you for your many compliments and would be thrilled to welcome you to Schönried again for another stay and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schonried
2.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#13 of 21 in Gstaad
23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
171 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golfhotel les Hauts de Gstaad
2.1 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 46, Schonried, Saanen 3778, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Schonried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Price Range: £246 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel is a typical Swiss Hotel in chalet style just above Gstaad in Schonried. It was re-opened in december 2011 after 9 months of extensive renovations. It offers several new highlights, such as the new piano-bar "One Million Stars" with one million sparkling Swarovski-stones, the two-storied panorama hall "Bargblick" which offers a grand view of the mountains and invites you to linger. In our new library "Lasi-Stube" you can take your time to browse our books. The hotel also offers 96 non-smoking rooms, accompanied walks and excursions in the mountains (Mountain biking / river rafting / excursions, downhill and cross-country skiing during winter with our sports staff), and In- and out¬door salt water pool (35°C), outdoor-sportpool 17x10m (28-32°C), a Sauna centre (Finnish sauna "Schnapsbrennerei", precious stone grotto "Amethyst", Turkish steam bath "Tropicana", herbal sauna and “Solegrotte”, tepidarium, biosauna) and a Ladies spa and whirlpool. Please note, the saunas (except Ladies spa) are a mixed naked area. “Vitalita" with hayseed bath, Cleopatra bath, herbal bathes, oriental Rasul, "Golden Nostalgica". Beauty salon. Cardio-controlled running / fitness training. Own fully equipped sports shop for ski rental and ski service. The nearest ski lift is the Rellerli lift, which is just opposite the hotel about 150 m away, the second nearest is the Horneggli only a three minute walk away. Both lifts belong to the Gstaad Mountain Rides area with a total of 62 lifts and 250 km of skiing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness- And Spa-Hotel Ermitage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing