We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Solbad Hotel(Sigriswil)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jagerhof - Hubertus(Faulensee)(Great Value!)
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seegarten Hotel Marina(Spiez)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gloria(Beatenberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
191
71
33
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
71
33
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake thunlake viewbreakfast and dinnergreat viewsalt poolsteamersfive starwonderful hotelwelcome drinkmany timesfree buseach eveningfood was fantasticsun streamingthermal watertwo hoursbreakfast starts
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Went to eat here for lunch on Christmas Day, and the hotel was very busy to say the least. Decor was gorgeous and richly done. We were greeted immediately and assisted with any questions or needs we might have.
We needed to change our baby's diaper but there were no changing tables in the restrooms, so we went into a sort of storage area that held Xmas decorations, and laid him down on a table there. Various staff members approached us and asked us if we wanted to change the baby elsewhere or if the baby was cold. They were trying to be helpful but we waved them off and continued on.
When we were finished, we went to the restaurant area down the hall, and it was bustling with staff and guests. There was a definite feel to the place--old money, blue-haired clientele, and we found the staff to be more friendly than the guests! The restaurant was gorgeously decorated, and we took in the scenery of the lake and mountain view Beatus has to offer. Simply stunning. There are panoramic windows in every part of the hotel that is a public area (library, tea room, restaurants, etc.) so that you can really soak up the beauty that is the true draw of this area. We sat by the fireplace and were promptly waited on by restaurant staff. The food is average in my opinion, but the portions are generous and the prices are comparable for Switzerland in general, regardless of the hotel room prices at the Beatus.

There was a pianist playing beautifully a few feet from us, and a lively energy about the restaurant. Also available is an outside terrace, complete with shearling covered seats if you choose to brave the chilly winter air (a few guests were enjoying wine out there and admiring the view). Everything has an elegant feel to it, and the furnishings and decor are luxuriously appointed, with a European flair.

I recommend going, even if to have a drink or two and enjoy the atmosphere. The public areas are quite beautiful and peaceful and worth seeing. If you do choose to stay at the hotel, book a suite (if you can afford it). The Ermitage Suite is phenomenal, with flat screens, a fireplace, and panoramic views of the mountains and lake from the beautiful spacious bathroom. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your review of your Christmas lunch at the Beatus. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us so much and highly appreciate your many kind compliments, which we will certainly pass on to our staff members. We are sorry to hear that you found the food to be average and will certainly discuss this matter with our head chef, as we prefer to exceed our guests expectations rather than give them the "ordinary". We thank you for your recommendation concerning our suites and hope you will visit as again soon. Until then, we wish you a happy New Year and all the best for 2013!
Kind regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Having stayed here previously some years ago in a great room I was looking forward to a better stay than the 1 night I just experienced. even though the room I booked was not the premium room with lake view,I had not expected such a lousy experience which had me tossing and turning since 4am and left me sleep deprived with a neck and backache in the morning.
1) duvet was more like an oversized pillow;im a mere 184cm, but apparently that is about 25cm too tall as I had to choose between covering my feet or shoulders,so I kept waking up frustratingly looking for more covers. even my girlfriend at 168cm found the beds and duvet too small.
2) mattress way too springy/soft;left me with backaches.
3) no climate control in room-it got hot and sticky so only option was to open the window to get some air, but our room was right next to a church tower and the bells started chiming every 30 min from 6am..so that killed any further attempts at sleep

such a shame as the rest of the hotel-spa and restaurant- are quite good,although overall the place feels a little stuffy and dated.

I recommend avoiding the "cheaper"..rooms with the mountain side view and anyway test the beds before unpacking.
I for one will not be returning as I would have slept better on the floor.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank limitup72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Sir
We thank you very much for taking the time to send us a detailed feedback on your stay with us. We are sincerely sorry that your renewed experience at the Beatus did not meet your expectations. Our duvets are all standard size and measure 160x210cm, we apologize if your girlfriend and you felt them too small. It is correct that most of our rooms do not have air condition as there are strict regulations in the canton of Berne concerning this. If our guests feel the mattresses too hard or too soft, there is of course always the possibility to get them changed. Additionnally, we will put in new ones in all the rooms this winter, so a back or neck ache can be avoided in the future.
We thank you for your compliments on the spa and the restaurant and the recommendation of the rooms to the lake side and apologize once again for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We are off to Switzerland tomorrow -- our 22nd trip. We only discovered the Beatus last September for a quick stop between other destinations. This year we are going to spend a week at this wonderful hotel. We loved our room (the Monk category). The balcony was spacious and private, and overlooked the Beatus' pretty grounds and Lake Thun. The breakfast and dinners are quite delicious. And, of course, since the hotel is a highly rated "Wellness Spa" we had fun exploring and enjoying the indoor pool, outdoor pool, with all manors of jacuzzi jets to massage tired hiking legs. We actually got lost in the maze of interesting saunas, steam rooms, cooling down rooms, etc. Of course, with all these wonderful amenities, the rate is not inexpensive. My husband calls it the "Beastly Bucks Hotel" -- but we think it is worth every franc. We use a Swiss Pass -- the busses to Interlaken and Thun depart from the Hotel frequently, and the Lake Thun boats depart from the Hotel Gardens. This is a very special, extremely well run hotel.

Room Tip: Request a Lake View Room, even if other rooms are less expensive. We loved Room #318.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunValleyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
Many thanks for your kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your previous stay with us so much that you will now be spending a full week at the Beatus. We thank you very much for all your kind compliments and wish you a pleasant journey to Merligen. We look forward to pampering you once again at the lake of Thun very soon!
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I have been going back to the Beatus for many years and the consistency of excellence shines through. The rooms with a lake view are just so nice. The hotel is efficiently run, spotless and welcoming. The breakfast is one of my favourites as the choice is just superb. The espresso coffee is typical for Switzerland and I would prefer it a touch stronger. The dinner in the evening was great and if you don't like the set choices they are quite flexible in finding you something else.
The clientele are quite old but we have three children and fitted in fine. The hotel organises walks and mountain hikes which are well worth doing.
The staff are helpful and friendly.
Finally if you like fresh clear lake water at 21 degrees you will be in heaven! And you can arrange water skiing quite easily. We flew to Bern airport, which is a mere 40 minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vic_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Beatus. We are thrilled to have been able to welcome you to Merligen as regular guests for so many years and hope there will be many more to come. Thank you very much for your nice compliments, these are highly appreciated and will of course be passed on to our staff.
We wish your family and yourself all the best and look forward to welcoming you to the Beatus again soon.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel after a couple days of hiking and camping. We were greeted with smiling faces and a drink. As our room was not ready and we hadn't showered in two days, they immediately gave us much needed access to the wellness center with robes and towels and a bag to put our clean clothes in so we didn't have to carry our luggage. The facilities are top notch. We also enjoyed a massage in a private tent right on the edge of the lake and a pedicure in the wellness center. Both treatments were fantastic. Our room was to be facing the street but since we were on the corner we crisply got a partial lake view as well. The outdoor pool and lounge areas are blissful but one of our regrets is not allowing or more down time to enjoy them. The breakfast was buffet style with a chef to prepare eggs anyway you prefer. There was plenty of outdoor seating for everyone. Although the beds were two twins pushed together, they were quite comfortable. When we checked out in the morning, we were asked if we would still like to enjoy the wellness center for any part of the remaining day. Although the hotel is pricey, you get what you pay for. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Madam
We appreciate your feedback on your stay at the Beatus very much. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short holiday with us so much and thank you for your kind compliments.
We would be delighted to welcome you to Merligen at another occasion and wish your boyfriend and yourself all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews