We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Astras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Astras
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Scuol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Excellent charming small hotel. Great food and strategic location - 1 minute from the thermal baths. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biljana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Astras
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2011

The hotel really offers great value for your money, the skiing tickets & bath entry being included in the price. The food was excellent (and a lot) and most of the staff were friendly and service efficient. The owner is of the grumpy sort who spends his mornings smoking (!!!) at the hotel reception. The rest of the house is of course smoke-free, as per newly passed laws in Switzerland. The location of the hotel is great, with easy access to the spa (Bogn Engiadina) and walking distance to the mountain lifts (10 min. uphill). Bus station only a couple steps from the hotel entrance.

My (single) room no. 22 was one of the older and not yet renovated rooms, smallish, on the back of the house, with balcony. Pity that the predominant view was that of the parking lot... The bathroom was a desaster, it being so small, awkwardly installed and dark that using the toilet became a dangerous maneouvre at any time. Room and bathroom were clean, but very dated. I believe all the older rooms will be re-furbished this summer, but ask for a newly renovated room just to be on the safe side, at least stay away from no. 22 until it's been given a thorough renovation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zurich67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed at Hotel Astras on a long weekend holiday. Not only were the staff super friendly (and pretty versed in English), the hotel was located right next to the Bad Engadin (AMAZING spa!), the food was excellent, and the rooms were large and comfortable. Our room came with a balcony and a breathtaking view of the Alps. A wonderfully relaxing trip for us!
If I did have any complaints, I would say the beds were a bit stiff and the room smelled of pine (all the rooms are made of heavy Alpen pine wood). But for Scoul, this is definitely the best deal and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie71716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We just came back from 5 days at Hotel Astras and had a wonderful time. We loved:
- the location of Hotel Astras, on the main street, right in the middle of town
- the fabulous food at Hotel Astras. We chose the half board option and boy, what a great quality and incredible value! The breakfast buffet was varied and absolutely delicious, from the different kinds of breads, juices and cereals to the perfectly cooked eggs, tasty bacon and great cheeses. Dinner every night was a 5-course meal served by beautifully dressed waitresses in their very Swiss outfits (different every night). Our last night was a nice buffet with live and excellent music. Each evening was a real treat!
- the hotel is connected to the thermal baths via an elevator...a wonderful plus because we could just go from our room to the baths in our bath robes and sleepers when the temperature was -12° C outside!
- there's an underground covered parking: although we never used our car during our entire stay in Scuol, it came in very handy on the last day when it snowed non-stop for the last 24hrs!
- the hotel has a wonderful atmostphere in the public areas: it's a hang-out place for locals and it's always busy. The generous owner is always around to greet people.
- our room was very convenient. It had bunk beds for our boys, enough closets and room to sit (nice window corner with a cute wooden table). The hotel looks like it's been recently renovated. It's cosy with lots of wood. We all had a bath robe and towel for the baths.
- there's a regular shuttle that brings skiers to the lifts (5mn ride). The shuttle stop is only a few steps away and it circles town continuously during the day...sooo practical!
We loved Hotel Astras and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brigitte k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donnalJ7967TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Südseite zu bevorzugen und mit Balkon!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermannniklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scuol hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 16 in Scuol
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#4 of 16 in Scuol
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conrad Scuol
Hotel Conrad Scuol
#5 of 16 in Scuol
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Altana
Hotel Altana
#7 of 16 in Scuol
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Engiadina
Hotel Engiadina
#9 of 16 in Scuol
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astras

Address: Stradun 325, Scuol 7550, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Scuol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Scuol
Price Range: £198 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astras 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family, quietly situated three-star hotel with direct-entrance to the big spa "Bogn Engiadina Scuol" (that means from the hotel to the spa in 1 minute by lift). All non-smoking-Swiss stone pine-rooms with bath/wc or shower/wc, nearly all rooms with large south-facing balcony and magnificent views of the Engadine Dolomites, wonderfully quiet, completely refurbished in solid pine, with satellite TV, radio-CD-player, safe, telephone, soap dispenser, sitting area. Our lounge, the bar and the served sun-terrace ask to stay, 6 different equipped snuggeries, all very homelike with a lot of wood and ambience. Lounge with tiled stove, reception and bar in massive Swiss stone pine and parking place for free, non-smoking dining areas and lift. Central situated and very calm. For each overnight stay 1 ENTRANCE unlimited to the spa FOR FREE! Several times a day, without limit = open end ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing